We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian quality in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Donizetti

Donizetti
Ranked #16 of 9,396 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: The restaurant opens Donizetti in 2005 , from opt for traditional cuisine , with quality products , all our dishes are prepared at the time as it is a restaurant with limited capacity , please book. Our schedule is cooking , 13:00 15: 40 and 20 : 00.22 : 30 . Closed Wednesday and Sunday evenings . In summer , from 15 July to 9 September , the kitchen opens at 19:30 until 22:40 .All holidays closed
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian quality in Barcelona”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This restaurant is a real gourmet embassy of Italy in Barcelona. I didn't have a chance to taste their espresso, but the antipasti, the pasta ripiena and the tiramisu where mind-blowing, more than food, they were experiences. And everything at affordable prices! Will come back there definitely. Grazie mille e ci vediamo!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WatashiMauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello thank you for your recommendation, also for your time I hope to visit us again at other times, will be a pleasure for us to ,best regards

Marcello di Prinzio, Bernadette Gallego Ristorante Donizetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    109
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Some of the best Italian food I've had outside of Italy”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I just got back from dinner at Donizetti, and the food was absolutely delicious. The service was friendly, the restaurant itself is cosy and intimate, and the food was superb. The flavours were everything we expect from Italian food. If you are looking for an Italian restaurant in Barcelona, then you will not be disappointed with Donizetti.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello I read your review, thank you for your recommendation, I hope to see you in our small house.
Best regards Marcello e Bernadette
Ristorante Donizetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bravo Donizetti!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I always try to stop at Donizetti when I am traveling to Barcelona.
It is my favorite intimate restaurant in Barcelona. My companion and I had our Thanksgiving dinner there and it was superb. I am vegetarian and they deftly prepared a
delicious meal for me. Bravo Donizetti!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
hello I read your comments, I appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor
I hope to see you again for our home
Marcello and Bernadette
Donizetti ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb, illinois
Level Contributor
335 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“trying to game the system”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a small restaurant (seats for 22 people) operated by a cook and a server. Service was adequate but would be very slow with a full house. The food we had was good and the price reasonable. My problem with this restaurant has to do with their attempt at free self-promotion. When we received our bill it was accompanied by two business cards. One was a standard card with the restaurant's information. The other one asked for a favorable review on this site. I would have ordinarily rated this place 3 stars. After their crass attempt to manipulate their rating I have given them what I think they deserve. Perhaps their current position among Barcelona restaurants is not an accurate reflection of their customers' opinion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We regret your bad opìnion about our restaurant was influenced by the fact we handed you a card given to us by Trip Advisor only to remind our clients that their opinion would be most welcome,
but not in any way to influence their opinion in any sense. It is no self-promotion at all, and this is the reason Trip Advisor itself gave us these cards for our visitors. Marcello di Prinzio

Ristorante Donizetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must try !”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I booked this resturant from the UK, I sent the owner marcello an email asking could he provide a special service as it was my partners 40 birthday.
It's a small personal resturant with a great intimate feel, the food was outstanding, the service impeccable. They made a special cake for my partner, she was blown away.
and its resonably priced. The waitress didnt speak brilliant english, but this was not an issue.
I cant speak highly enough of this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shystee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Owner at Donizetti, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello this morning I read his comment was a pleasant surprise appreciate the compliments, also know who enjoyed a magical night, us proud. Best regards, Marcello and Bernadette
Ristorante Donizetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donizetti also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Donizetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing