We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal by which all others can be judged”
Review of ABaC Restaurant

ABaC Restaurant
Ranked #266 of 9,765 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $167 - $193
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 p.m. and where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A meal by which all others can be judged”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We decided on a chefs tasting which I believe was 15 courses of small bites that added up to one amazing meal. It was both visually stunning and delicious all the way thru. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our dinind experience. The only negative was that as I meal progressed I found that all those small bites added up (along with the wine) to one seroiusly stuffed stomach, to the point that it became hard to finish. That being said It was the best tasting meal I have ever had. If you are in the area and want a meal of a lifetime, than definitly make the ABaC a top priority.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank as5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    253
    102
    45
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Abac Restaurant in Barcelona I cannot wait to go back”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I cannot wait to go back to this restaurant. their modern Catalan cuisine is delicious, and the restaurant has a very elegant decor in soft colors and relaxing lighting. Not wonder why Michelin is considering Abac as one of the Barcelona finest restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ABaC Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Customer,

We appreciate your confidence in our services and specially for having post your comments after your visit to our Restaurant.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed a relaxing gourmet experience .

Your comments help us to improve every day to continue achieving our customers satisfaction and also to continue creating unforgettable experiences. But the most important for us is to hear that you are willing to come back soon to taste another unique experience.

And when the time comes to your visit to Barcelona, we kindly ask you to let us know in advance, by writing an email to customercare@abacbarcelona.com, in order to guarantee you a nice and enjoyable soirée.

Our warmest regards from all our team.

Jenniffer Morrell
CustomerCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Broome Aust to ABac”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The trip half way round the world for lunch on a sunny May day was worth it. Treat yourself to wonderful food, excellent service & quiet ambience. It costs but "there is no substitute for quality". Do the background work before you go & book well ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David6725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ABaC Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all we appreciate your confidence in our services and specially for having post your comments after your visit to our Restaurant.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed from a great May`s sunny day during your gourmet experience. And knowing that you are coming from beautiful Asutralia, is an honor for us to have been chosen by you.

Your contributions help us to improve every day to continue achieving our customers satisfaction and are also useful to other travellers from all over the world.

Should you decide to come back once again to ABaC Restaurant & Hotel, we kindly ask you to let us know in advance, by writing an email to customercare@abacbarcelona.com, in order to guarantee you a nice and unique atmosphere for your meal.

Please accept our best regards from Barcelone,

Jenniffer Morrell
CustomerCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning in Every Way”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This restaurant will soon get a third Michelin Star, I'm confident of that.

My fiancee and I ate here for new year's eve, and it was quite simply the best restaurant experience I've ever had.

First of all, the service is incredible. I did read a few reviews that the service was a little stuffy. It really isn't - when they collect your plate, they hold one hand over the knife and fork, silently removing it. Don't think for a second that you will get to the bottom of your champagne glass. When you get up for the bathroom, you return to a fresh napkin, neatly folded, and a waiter holding your chair for you. This isn't stuffy, you are simply made to feel special.

The food's not bad either. Intricately crafted dishes, but not the fiddly stuff you associate with today's Blumenthal inspired gastronomic experiences. Each bite was a dream in all but one of our ten dishes, and even the one I wasn't keen on I'd probably still eat again! My favourite was the woodock and black truffle, intense but balanced flavours, wonderfully presented. Simply incredible.

Honestly, if you have a bit of cash to splash, and want to have a meal you will tell your friends about, over and over and over and over again, then go here. It's not cheap, but by God you'll be harping on about it for years!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ABaC Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Customer,

Your confidence in our services is highly appreciated for us, we thank you for having post your positives and very kind comments after your soirée in our Restaurant.

We are pleased to know that we make you feel special during your gourmet experience. And letting us know that each bite was a dream, has done our staff feel proud and encouraged.

Your post help us to improve every day to continue achieving our distinguished clientele`s satisfaction and to continue creating unforgettable moments.

Should you decide to come back to ABaC Restaurant&Hotel, we kindly ask you to let us know in advance, by writing an email to customercare@abacbarcelona.com, in order to guarantee you a nice and enjoyable atmosphere for your meal once again.

Regards from all our team,

Jenniffer Morrell
CustomerCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Michelin starred restaurants”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I had one of our best dinners ever in the charming ABaC restaurant.
The experience was excellent in all parameters:
The food was outstanding: every part of the dinner from the excellent breads, the starts, the main courses and the deserts were creative, interesting, and very tasty, with a beautiful presentation. It is clear that the chef is gifted and talented.
The service was superb. All the team members of the restaurant were gave excellent service.
The restaurant decoration is modern and elegant
And the overall experience is unforgettable.
We will come back for sure to taste and enjoy ore of the creation of Gordi Cruz and his great team.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ABaC Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your confidence in our services and specially for having post your positives comments after your visit to our Restaurant.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our gourmet experience. And of course, we are glad to hear that it was excellent in all parameters, as you mentioned.

Your comments help us to improve every day to continue achieving our customers satisfaction and to continue creating unforgettable experiences.

Should you decide to come back to ABaC Restaurant&Hotel, we kindly ask you to let us know in advance, by writing an email to customercare@abacbarcelona.com, in order to guarantee you a nice and enjoyable atmosphere for your meal once again.

Our best regards,

Jenniffer Morrell
CustomerCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABaC Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to ABaC Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing