We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABaC lunch”
Review of ABaC Restaurant

ABaC Restaurant
Ranked #268 of 9,690 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $167 - $193
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 p.m. and where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“ABaC lunch”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to this restaurant for lunch. You enter through a beautiful serene courtyard garden and into a minimalist modern dining room. Having chosen the tasting menu we enjoyed a superb journey through chef, Jordi Cruz's talents, served up with style and professional flair by a team of waiters who can describe every dish in many languages. One of life's most indulgent pleasures and highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    249
    100
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice experiance lovely food ideas”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant is inside the hotel with minimalistic design
The dinining ecperiance was fantastic. Jordi the name of the chef was with feran adrian at el bulli had fantastic food ideas.
We had the tasting menu with 14 dishes. After we finished our meal i was able to join the kitchen and to meet all the staff.
Perfect and freindly service

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Three Stars Deserved”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We're a bit tardy with this review as we ate there twice last October (2012) but wanted to ensure we shared what a wonderful experience it is to eat at ABaC.
To give a bit of context, during a visit to Spain last year we were lucky to eat at a number of three Michelin starred restaurants, but easily rate this is our best gastronomic experience of the trip.
The service was exceptional: welcoming and personalised without being familiar or intrusive. The team are extremely knowledgeable & have a great pride in all aspects of ABaC. They're a delight to watch in action.
The food itself was sublime. Jordi Cruz allows the produce to star without too much gimmickry but still delivers wit, surprise and great technique in every dish.
The dining room itself and setting is serene and sophisticated (we also very much enjoyed staying at the indulgent ABaC hotel too).
We felt very spoiled to eat here twice and hope to have the chance to return again one day.
If you're in Barcelona and looking for a special evening out, do make the trip to the hills!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A mesmerizing culinary experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

ABAC Restaurant is a jewel of the Spanish culinary arts. After eating at this restaurant one is fascinated on how a young chef such as Jordi Cruz can master so many fields of gastronomy.

My wife and I stayed at the also-amazing ABAC hotel and decided to treat ourselves to this two-star Michelin restaurant. Being guests of the hotel, we had the privilege of walking through the kitchen to get to the restaurant (the hotel is connected to the restaurant through the kitchen). The staff were busy preparing the skillful menu and the restaurant staff welcomed us with their best smiles.

We opted for the tasting menu with the pairings: I purposely leave out the word "wine" in pairings because they also bring out other kinds of wonderful beverages (such as an old ale) that complemented the food in the greatest of ways.

I have been to many Michelin star restaurants: ABAC restaurant proved a perfect execution throughout the menu: a masterful display of equilibrium of flavors and textures.

It would have been even better if we could have had a word of appreciation with Chef Jordi Cruz but, unfortunately, he was busy with another guests. However, ABAC will have a special place in my culinary heart and I am certain I will return in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very very very good”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The restaurant is located 10 minutes taxiride from Passeig de Gràcia, up the hills.
The hotell and restaurant ABaC delivers architecture, design, a ZENgarden and truly amazing restaurant. Professional service in a calm, sophisticated, friendly and relaxed environment.
On a warm day; sit in the garden and enjoy your dinner.
Just make sure to reserve a table in time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loppan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABaC Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to ABaC Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing