We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of ABaC Restaurant

ABaC Restaurant
Ranked #268 of 9,690 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $167 - $193
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 p.m. and where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant for a birthday treat and we can not speak highly enough of the amazing experience we had there. We opted for the tasting menu with matching wines. The experience starts when you first arrive at the restaurant - no crowded too small tables here. The spaciousness, cleanliness and comfortable seating relaxes you from the moment you arrive. Service was friendly, extremely efficient and professional. I requested a change to two courses on the menu due to a dislike of foie gras and it was immediately accommodated - in fact my husband preferred my final course to his! We really enjoyed the wines, mainly local ones and only one red which was surprisingly for us but still very enjoyable. I even had a candle on my dessert which was a nice birthday touch. We also loved the petit fours - very imaginative! Thank you for an amazing and memorable experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsT2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    249
    100
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gluten free disaster”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I will just say: Do not try this place if you have an allergy or food intolerance. I am gluten free, they were warned - numerous times - and they served me wheat pasta.
They have two Michelin stars. SHAME on them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“constantly spectacular”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This magnificent restaurant is at the very pinnacle of catalan gastronomy. Chef Jordi Cruz is a young master fusing traditional and modernist flavours, and the restaurant itself is 3 michellin star worthy. The staff as its chef is young, educated and professional. The establishment is maintained impeccably clean. I try to frequent this restaurant at least once every 3 to 4 weeks.
The tasting menus are always the best way to actually get a feel for this extraordinary kitchen. My favourites are the steak tartar, the paletilla which is the best I have ever tried, and the crown jewel, liebre a la royale. These are the dishes that I order once and again and they always manage to bring a smile to face. The Wine list is correct and has nice depth. Among my top 3.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Where The Past Resides Kindly with the Future”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

At ABaC Restaurant and Hotel you are transported to the past even as you catch a glimpse of the future. The level of care given upon checking in, having dinner or just ordering breakfast harkens to a gilded age, one unseen in the fast-paced, hurly-burly world we call the 21st century. All the while state-of-the-art, green-wise technological touches embellish this jewel that crowns the city of Barcelona just at the base of Mount Tibidado.

Dinner at the Michelin-starred establishment is an experience not to be missed. There chef turns tried and true traditions upside down and inside out in clever, often amusing ways. Take the deconstructed tapas and the "lipstick" palate cleanser. The baby goat was amazing!

On the slightly disappointing side the sleeping rooms and coed spa are beautiful but a bit overwrought with technological treats. Nothing wrong with having such things. It's just a let down when the complementary espresso machine in your room doesn't work and the steam room doesn't steam.

ABaC is, nevertheless, an extraordinary place to experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Barcelona is an amazing city for "foodies",with a huge range of eating experiences. We chose Abac for its reputation and Michelin 2 star status. The food,from the tasting menu was superb..some of the most memorable dishes were the sea-urchin curry, smoked steak tartar and parmesan gnocchi with black truffle.A professional team of staff complemented the evening..highly recommendable..and probably one of my favourite BCN restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliciousMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABaC Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to ABaC Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing