We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Tapas are Tops!”
Review of Mayura

Mayura
Ranked #761 of 9,933 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $56
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: In the heart of Barcelona you will find Mayura, serving a fusion of Indian & Mediterranean food and exquisite cocktails in a tranquil and intimate space. Decorated with natural elements like silk, water, bamboo, slate & wood, the serene setting is colourfully furnished in a contemporary colonial style, making one feel like they are sitting in the Indian sub-continent. Funky music, Indian & international cocktails and old black & white Bollywood movies make it an ideal place to lunch, dine or have a drink at any hour of the day. On weekdays Mayura serves a fixed price lunch. Healthy, fresh & delicious, Mayura's chefs create a daily menu consisting of Catalan, Mediterranean & Indian dishes. During the evenings Mayura features an 'a la carte' menu. Choose from a variety of tapas, vegetarian, main courses & tasting platters.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

As much as I enjoy the local food, it is nice to mix it up on the last night in town. Mayura always does a great job. The mixed grill appetizer platter was wonderful, and the main course reminded my colleagues of their mother's kitchen in India.

TIP: Try the pistachio ice cream - they pour a little warm rum on top!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Mayura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 750 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

LOVED THIS PLACE! Went in a Sunday for lunch, had the menu and it was perfect. Food was amazing, service was good and the place is to die for. Little details that make this place unforgettable, the plates, the doors, even the decoration at the loo was nice!! Would so go back!!

1  Thank wanderlustJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayuraRestaurant, Manager at Mayura, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We put a lot of effort into making the restaurant special and a review like yours makes it all worthwhile. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The food is good and the restaurant is located in the city centre and walkable distance from Sagrada Familia. The only problem is that the restaurant closes at 8 pm and the last order has to be placed by 7 pm. Ridiculous timings.

1  Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayuraRestaurant, Manager at Mayura, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the food. There might have been some confusion in the timings; Mayura is open daily until 11.30pm for dinner and delivery. I hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Loved the atmosphere and the food. However have a lousy employee (strong guy, do not know the name). We went on Valentine's Day, we pay 49 € per person only with the basics and ask that offered us a shot and we toast to had refused, said they'd have to pay, got them really bad! Certainly not visit them when to Barcelona!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdnaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayuraRestaurant, Manager at Mayura, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hello and thanks for your review.
I apologize for the rudeness of our waiter and anything that may have occurred to spoil your special day.
Our Valentine's dinner this year included a glass of cava as a welcome drink , a complete set menu with dessert, accompanied by any wine of your choice from our wine list for 49€. A complete offering.
Unfortunately, it is our custom to charge for extras that are not included in the set menu.
I hope you understand and I apologize again for the way in which this may have been communicated to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Food is great and great value too. Ambience is nice and the interior design is cool! Would recommend for the food and price alone but the service could be worked on, a smile doesn't cost anything!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayuraRestaurant, Manager at Mayura, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and I apologize for the quality of service and lack of politeness during your visit to Mayura. It is something that needs improving, and you are spot on when you say that "a smile doesn't cost anything". We are working on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayura also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mayura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing