We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, gorgeous decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayura

Mayura
Ranked #483 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: In the heart of Barcelona you will find Mayura, serving a fusion of Indian & Mediterranean food and exquisite cocktails in a tranquil and intimate space. Decorated with natural elements like silk, water, bamboo, slate & wood, the serene setting is colourfully furnished in a contemporary colonial style, making one feel like they are sitting in the Indian sub-continent. Funky music, Indian & international cocktails and old black & white Bollywood movies make it an ideal place to lunch, dine or have a drink at any hour of the day. On weekdays Mayura serves a fixed price lunch. Healthy, fresh & delicious, Mayura's chefs create a daily menu consisting of Catalan, Mediterranean & Indian dishes. During the evenings Mayura features an 'a la carte' menu. Choose from a variety of tapas, vegetarian, main courses & tasting platters.
London, GB
Level Contributor
225 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely food, gorgeous decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Vegetable samosas to start (3 ) were delicious and my husband had the cheese and spinach croquettes – really tasty and huge (the dish came with a small portion of rice and a naan bread). Vegetable korma was good and creamy, while the mushroom masala (which I requested medium spicy) was lovely. Any concerns about portion size and service raised by previous reviews proved unfounded.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    252
    75
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Best Indian we have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I went on sunday 9th September and had the best best tasting curry we had ever had (lamb tikka saag and kheema mutter), it was hard to decide which was the best of the two but the kheema mutter just won. Meal was reasonably priced with a good wine selection. Dont worry about ordering it hot because they bring you a bowl of fresh chillis in oil to add to it if you want to really spice it up. We will definately return here on our next Barcelona visit and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daved11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad food with service to match”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Went on a sunday night and wish we hadn't.

Service was terrible waitress didnt smile once while we were there. Poppadoms stale at least a few days old. Tandoori chicken had the appearance of boiled chicken no colour whatsoever and was completely bland. I ordered a spicy chicken tikka masala but there was no spice whatsoever.

The most annoying thing was when i ordered i asked what came with the curry and was misinformed that you only got a naan bread so i ordered rice to go with it but it turns out you did get rice so i completely wasted my money on rice that wasnt even touched .

All in all not a good experience and i would not recommend this place to anyone.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mj1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayuraRestaurant, Manager at Mayura, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of Mayura on Tripadvisor. We do our best to maintain a high standard of service and quality of food and would personally like to apologize for your poor experience.

We pride ourselves on providing home cooked Indian food, therefore using less artificial colour and flavors. The meats and breads from our Tandoor is our specialty, all prepared fresh daily. I apologize for the fact that your meal did not meet our normally high standards.

I also take responsibility that the chicken tikka masala was not up to your expectations; details were overlooked. We would have been happy to have taken back the extra rice and replaced your dish for a spicier one upon your request.

If you visit Barcelona again, please inform us by email so that we can make up for your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

i loved the resturant, the food is very authentic and spicy.
menu filled with many indian food choices.

i love the lamb gost and the yogurt drink ... .amaaaazing..
and dont miss the sambasa..

if you like spicy food keep it at medium... be cause very spicy is HOOOOTTTT and trust me unless you are Indian you wont be able to handle it..
the only thing that make this restraint perfect .... is their service .. slow and a little unfriendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shatha777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is just about the best indian we've ever had, atmosphere really nice, with simple & understated decor. Must have the pistatio & rum desert! Fabulous!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1SRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayura also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mayura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing