We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic.. Dont miss it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciudad Condal

Ciudad Condal
Ranked #173 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic.. Dont miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

You might have to wait a bit for a seat but dont let that discourage you.. its worth every second of waiting. Try to grab a seat at the bar so you can see all the gorgeous tapas layed out in front of you. The service is superb, surpassed only by the quality of the tapas. Everything is delicious, you cant go wrong with anything you choose. The tapas are well priced as well. The sangria is also the best Ive had in BCN. This place is a must during your trip, and its so perfectly located that there is no excuse not to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carinarsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,009
    2,072
    485
    139
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is always jammed with people. When we finally got a seat we decided to spend the evening there. The menu is extensive. We tried 8 dishes; not a loser among them. All were beautifully prepared. Service is good despite the crowds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcsayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Worth the Wait"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The facade of this restaurant is being remodeled, but once inside, paradise awaits. Get there for lunch before 2:00 pm, with everyone in your group present to be seated before the rush starts. The "tapas" are varied and delicious and well worth the wait in case the place is packed when you get there. Try the Jabugo ham first, then follow with "pan tomat" bread and "a la romana" squid. Definetly be adventurous with the special tapas of the day. The spanish cold cuts available such as "chorizo", are simply a treat to your senses. A perennial favorite of local families and business men and women and open until late. Ideal for grabbing a sandwich after a soccer match at "Camp Nou".

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mechudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best tapas bar in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Every night the restaurant is fully packed! you cannot make any reservations, but usually the line moves very fast. You can have a tapa by the bar or move inside for a table. The variety of tapas are excellent and the quality is fantastic! a great place to return to every time you are in town!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Popular, Always Enjoyable Cerveceria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having found cerveceria Ciudad Condal two years ago with more time to explore, our one day cruise ship visit made a return to this popular tapa cerveceria a must. As we had hoped, we were greeted with the rush of a popular tapas bar as we returned. It is always hard to get a seat at the bar, but tables are usually available. The Ciudad Condal is very popular with residents of Barcelona and with visitors and travels as well. This is a "high end" tapas bar, meaning excellent quality of food and drink, but don't expect it to be inexpensive. We enjoyed an excellent plate of Jamon de Serano which we coupled with a plate of queso de Manchego. The traditional small pieces of bread smeared with tomato and butter were served. Excellent.

The waitress gave us excellent help while ordering. The only sad part was the unexpected, poor attempt of the alternate waiter to mis-change me. I pit down 100 euro note to get some change, and he tried to give me change for a 50 euro note. Too bad I had to leave Ciudad Candal with a bad taste in my mouth. The food is still excellent and petty thieves operate the world over.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciudad Condal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Ciudad Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing