We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the location...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Europa
Ranked #323 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All about the location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were attracted by the price for a good central location, in the heart and middle of Las Ramblas , near the Liceu metro and in walking distance to many sightseeing spots.

Check in staff were friendly, free Wi-Fi and use of computers in this lobby area, also coffee / tea available if you wanted it. We had a room with bathroom, ok, so it wasn't the most modern of rooms I've ever stayed in, a little tired and bare.. but clean, had fresh comfortable beds so for one night at the price we paid I couldn't have asked for more!.. Not sure i'd fancy more than a couple of days there.. A little noisy down on the street, also people coming and going during the night but that was to be expected given the location.. Still managed to get a decent nights sleep..

Value for money if travelling on a budget..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    102
    101
    43
    32
See reviews for
24
130
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Likes:  Great location just off Las Ramblas. Very clean rooms. Staff very knowledgeable and very helpful.  Common area where there is good wifi and computers.

Dislike:  Could have created a more hostel common area for fellow travellers, it should be made more comfortable for travellers to meet and chat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location just off La Rambla and very near to a metro station! Really friendly staff, spoke good English and were very helpful. The hostel is very clean and safe. Only downsides, wifi is not in rooms but you can sit downstairs and use it. Also, the air con wasn't working so we had to sleep with window open, and the street outside can be quite noisy. However, overall had a great time and would stay again!

Room Tip: Get air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heldamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hostel is just a few steps away from La Boqueria market which one can buy fresh meals. Then, very close the Rambla Boulevard and Liceu Metro Station.
Rooms are not so comfortable, for just to sleep there.
Overall, value for money for tight budget travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlyasMuratAkinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hostel is just minutes away from La Boqueria market and the main shopping areas, so that was very excellent. We walked about 15 minutes from the last stop of the Aerobus service that we took from the airport, so we did not have to spend much on transport to get to our hostel at all. We had a 3 bed private room, and it came with a sink as well. The room was clean and quite spacious. The toilet was a floor down, but it was very spacious and very clean. The hostel is on a street that has shops open till quite late, so you feel safe walking back to the hostel even at night.

Navigating to our room was confusing at first, because we had to take the lift up to the 2nd floor, walk up 2 floors, walk a passageway and then go down 1 floor. But overall, staff was friendly, wifi was available at the basement with couches, and it was an excellent choice of hostel for Barcelona and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very simple room for one person. The location is excellent but it is also very noisy. The room was simple but the mattress was very uncomfortable and the walls would definitely need some paint. The area is full of activities and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianagrechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was theere for 3 nights,the location is excellent ,close to Ramblas and barrio gotico,metro liceu and catedral.
clean,good services,wf dos not work always in all rooms,but in loby is fater,try to get a room with window,cuze some of them they dont have any ventilaltion,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eddymontreal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#264 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#481 of 522 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#324 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Ramos
Hostal Ramos
#129 of 325 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Levante
Hostal Levante
#206 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sun & Moon Hostel
Sun & Moon Hostel
#449 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Europa

Property: Hostal Europa
Address: Carrer Boqueria 18 | Carrer Boqueria 18, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Europa 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Europa Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing