We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel if you want it cheap and don´t stay in it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #287 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel if you want it cheap and don´t stay in it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

It is a basic hotel. Very clean, modern. Breakfast very basic. Service competent and helpful, spoke good English (which doesn´t happen in all of the Spanish hotels). The location is ok, it is about 15 minutes walk from the beach, 5 minutes walk from the metro station. It is the typoe of a hotel to sleep in only, thereæs nothing that you could do while being there. So it is mainly for people that come to visit and will be out all day. Rather expensive as for this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear maggavik,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you liked the service you encountered and the cleanliness of our hotel. We apologize you were not satisfied with the rates. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    673
    377
    67
    41
See reviews for
654
350
47
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel did not have all the bells and whistles of luxury brands, but that should be expected from a Holiday Inn Express. What the hotel does do is fills the niche for clean rooms, responsive service, decent enough location, quiet. As a traveler who only spent time in the room sleeping and showering, this HIE fit the bill perfectly. If you are looking to relax and enjoy a lot of time in the hotel, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for solid basic amenities and service that is a 7 euro cab ride away from 85% of where you want to go in Barcelona, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr Eddie W ,

Thanks for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.
We are glad to know you like our location, service and cleanliness of our rooms.

Again thanks for your review; we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group on a field trip to Barcelona.

Location:
The hotel is located a couple of minutes away from the underground station, bus stops as well as a large Mercadona (supermarket) and several restaurants. The area is a bit run down but we did not feel unsafe when going out after dark.

Staff:
The staff was friendly, helpful and answered all the questions we had, cannot fault the staff!

Breakfast:
The hotel does only offer breakfast, no restaurant. The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast with meats and cheeses, as well as a nice selection of different baked goods and yogurts.

The rooms:
This is where the 'faults' come in, the curtains in our room was so stained it was horrible, and as the curtains were light you could see the stains at all times. My pillow-case and duvet was stained by something green as well, which is directly appaling. The beds are very firm, so for those who love soft beds, you might have to request it or look for a different hotel.

Total:
OK location for getting around, but if you can afford a more central hotel then it would be worth it. The staff is very helpful and polite, the food is good and the general service is great. Only fault was the cleanliness. I am one to really care too much about a little dust or a hair or two, but massive stains is not OK.

I would stay here again if on a tight budget, if I can afford it I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArneKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear ArneKar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortcomings you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milngavie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel, usual good standard of HIE. Staff were all very helpful with any inquires we had. Near Metro station that took you to most major attractions. Close to La Rambla Poblenou ( next block along from hotel) where you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and bars lots of locals eating their which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mrs "Cath048",

I would like to thank you for sharing such a positive feedback regarding our house and our staff. We are really glad to know you enyoyed your stay.
We know how difficult some times it becomes for families to find a hotel where they can stay at the same room. For this reason, we are proud to offer our family rooms for maximum of 2 adults & 2 children (up to 18) always at the same price of a double room (Complimentary Continental Breakfast for the whole family!).

In addition to this, we really appreciate you demonstrate your satisfaction about our location, 3 blocks away from “Llacuna” metro station and 1 block to “La Rambla del Poble Nou” street plenty of restaurants, shops and were you can enjoy a nice walk of 15 minutes to the beach.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked this hotel using priority club points for a pre cruise stay in Barcelona and cannot find a bad word to say about our stay. We arrived mid morning after an early flight expecting to be told it was too early to check in, however the very helpful lady at check in contacted housekeeping and found two rooms that were ready. The rooms were typical express rooms, nothing fancy but clean and a reasonable size. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but again the helpful reception staff were happy to recommend somewhere local which was so good we ate there twice. It was great to avoid the tourist areas and join the locals. The hotel is only a few stops on the metro from the centre, with the station only a 5 minute walk. Would we stay again - absolutely for a short break.

Breakfast was ok, enough to

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

the hotel is not in the center but eccessible fairly by the metro. the price is great compering to other hotels near plaza catalunya. the room was big and nice the staff was proffesional and helpful. will recommend for the travelers that do not want to pay to much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilush111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

After reading other reviews I arrived in trepidation!.... however we had a nice surprise-/....Staff were all lovely. Room clean, daily fresh towels. Go early or after 9 for breakfast as peak time was very busy. The local rambla poblenou is delightful and a pleasant walk down there leads to the beach. Always ask taxi drivers how much before you get in. Did this when we arrived and it was 22 euros where he had actually quoted 30euros. The taxi organiser at airport said all taxis are metered which is true but can take very dodgy long routes!!! On return we got in a taxi outside hotel, forgot to check and he totally scammed us and it cost over40 euros.... I told him what we thought but he knew we were off home so couldn't have cared less!

Room Tip: Room 306 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 386Jennifer_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sa...
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#87 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#302 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#114 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing