We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #286 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
reot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

the hotel is 25 minutes drive, by train, from Barcelona center, train station is located not far from the hotel (about 10 minutes walking from lobby), be aware that train frequency at late evening hours is not that good: about every 40 minutes!!,
to a family of 4 people rooms are small but if you spend most of your days in the city, and only sleeps in the hotel, then they are reasonably sized.
basic breakfast, good coffee.
front desk service was very good.
but:
room maintenance was below every standard i saw at the holiday inn express chain, and we have spend some time across the US and Canada in the holiday inn express.
since we had reservations for this hotel twice during our last visit, and we stayed in two different rooms,my impression is based on that experience.
i had the chance to speak with hotel manager on the last day of our stay, he was cooperative, and i hope changes will happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear yoav m,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to know that the service you received upon check-in met your expectations. However, please accept my sincerest apologies if the room maintenance was a disappointment. Your comments shall be considered for upgrades needed to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    673
    376
    67
    41
See reviews for
654
350
47
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay here with my boyfriend from 24th to 27th sept. We booked a bargain package holiday through easyjet so were pleasantly surprised for what we paid. The rooms were clean with freshly made beds and towels every day, breakfast was standard continental- toast, croissants and some very nice mini pain au chocolats. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us directions a couple of times as we had never visited Barcelona before. The metro stop Llacuna was just a short walk around the corner and we got a 3 day pass each for €19 which we explored the whole city with. Overall we had a great trip and would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a basic hotel and ok for an overnight stay - room clean except the bin that was filthy! Breakfast on a tray buffet style was not my thing and the coffe was terrible !! Wouldn't stay again but ok for a budget hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_L_Donno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Paul_L_Donno,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in this property from Sept 9th to Sept 12th and the second stay was for one night from Sept 15th to 16th and this is my experience: We arrived early and we knew that rooms might not be ready, so we went there prepare to leave bags and check back later but the receptionist was very kind and found us a room ( 622) as soon we got into the room, the walls were dirty, the drapes were not clean, the pillows had the sweat stains from the previous guests..it was kind of gross..As we got here the most important was to take a shower, leave bags and go outside to eat something because we were starved. When we tried to take a shower the overhead shower valve was broken,..We were tired..we were traveling from 8hrs and literally we were awake for 24hrs.. I called and asked for help, they sent the maintenance guy and he just pulled out of his pocket a krazy glue tube and attached the part that was loose, after this we took a shower and the valve broke again, we went outside to eat something, when we returned we asked for a room change, the lady at the front desk gave us 535 (handicapped
room with roll in shower) we did not care cause we wanted to go to bed, room was in the same conditions, walls were dirty and this room was kind of small.The next morning when we woke up and we were ready to take a shower the drain was clogged and the bathroom turned into a pool..I was so upset that I told my partner "that's it"..I went down and talk to Carmen ( FD Agent that was on duty) I explained all the situation and she apologized, she handle my complaint very good, if fact, she wanted to give me 300 points voucher which I refused to took it cause all that we want was A ROOM THAT IS IN GOOD CONDITION, after Carmen called the housekeeping she gave us 611 and FINALLY the shower worked properly, but the condition of the room was still the same, dirty curtains and dirty walls..I blame the Management and Housekeeping Supervisors about this because the are the ones that should check that rooms are in really good shape to rent. The second disappointment was the breakfast, our rate included breakfast (95 Euros plus all the taxes), it was POOR and lack of goodies...Only cold cuts, bread, croissants, tiny chocolate croissants, juices, coffee and yogurts, the fruits were not fresh and the oatmeal tasted rancid..We had bee in different Holiday Inn and we had a little issues but not like in this one..For example in Rome rooms were ok but breakfast were Marvelous, in Mexico everything was PERFECT..But in this Holiday Inn EVERYTHING WAS A MESS..That's why I will never stay here or recommend this Hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Mr "Leo K”,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in TripAdvisor and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to your room condition.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.
I would like to assure you that all your points are being investigated in order to avoid any similar situations in the future.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel meets expectations from Holiday Inn chain, nothing exceptional. It is overall satisfactory and good value for the coast. The area around the hotel somehow made us uncomfortable to walk at night. Breakfast was nice, good selection of food. No major complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYMAN_CANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear AYMAN_CANADA,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the breakfast and value of our hotel. However, we are sorry to read that you did not find our hotel in a convenient location for your needs. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We decided to go a Med cruise for 4 days from and to Barcelona. As the cruise was finishing on a Saturday, I decided to book a hotel night in Barcelona and enjoy the city as well.
Booking was quick and efficient via my airline (flight+hotel offer)
We arrived very early back from the cruise and were at the hotel by 10.
I thought we could only let our luggage there and have to wait to get our room but a very nice and efficient gentleman informed us that our room was ready for us. I found it even more surprising that 2 couples were turned down just before me and had to wait until 2pm to get their room. The fact that I'm a IHG Platinum card holder must have played in my favour ...
Anyways, we had a great room, simple but everything we could have needed for just one night.
All in all, a great experience and the area is great as it's quite remote from the centre but still easily reachable by metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julmops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr. "Julmops",

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our house in Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The area at first glance looks a little run down, but just a short walk away is a great street with a multitude of bars and restaurants. Carry on a bit further down and you end up at some excellent beaches. The Metro station is another street away allowing easy access to the city. We walked to the Sagrada from the hotel and although it is managable, it could be tiring for the less fit on a hot day.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, but is a bit worn around the edges. Wardrobe space was limited, but at least there was a kettle with coffee and tea.The staff were courteous and helpful and all spoke English. The complimentary breakfast was pretty good, but the dining room can get a bit chaotic mid morning. If you want to buy groceries and self cater, there's a small supermarket just along the road.

All in all, this is good, clean hotel in good location. The main attractions aren't on your doorstep, but the nearby streets and beach make up for that.

We will use this place again on our next visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sa...
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#85 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#307 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#114 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing