We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Ranked #282 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not the best Holiday Inn Express I've been in but was adequate for our stay. Was a last minute booking and I didn't have time to research but it turned out to be a reasonable location, close to an avenue with restaurants and bars and only a ten minute walk to the beach. Located close to the Metro too with a ten minute travel into the centre of Barcelona.
Room was clean and comfortable but we had a lamp with bare, exposed wires in the room, not very safe. Also our bathroom door wouldn't close. Maintainance was a little lax.
Breakfast was basic but included in the price and, again, was adequate. For a city, the price we paid wasn't too bad but don't expect anything other than the basics.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear andrea062,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed there with family (2 adults + 2 kids). Great value for money. Good location - metro station close, walking distance from the beach, clean, nice staff, breakfast included. what else do you need :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with group of friends and it was very pleasant stay.
People on reception were very friendly. Check in was very smooth.
Room was nice and clean. It is really good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrej Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Two of our hotel rooms got robbed last night. They stole iPads, cash, jewelry and even some of our clothes.

We had a quick dinner and didn't bother taking all our valuables because everyone kept telling us to be careful on the streets and not take any valuables with us. BIG MISTAKE!!!

Once we found out we got robbed the incompetent lady at the front desk showed no compassion. I asked for security and she SLOWLY asked the security guard to check our doors. I asked for police but apparently the police won't come to you and instead you need to go to them for help. She mentioned that there wasn't a translator at night and we needed to go the next day (which was also false because after I spoke to the police today they told me its my right to come in and request a translator at any time of the day)

I also asked the front desk to see the manager or at least call her but said she couldn't and that she would be in the next day at 9am.

I asked to see the log for our room but she again said she couldn't do that. She mentioned that maybe we lost our key cards and someone made a duplicate but that was also impossible because we had all our keys.

I continued asking for information that was clearly our right due to the circumstances but again she was unhelpful and instead acted like I was I was bothering her.

The next day I expected to see the manager since she mentioned she was coming in at 9am. But instead I was greeted by a rude, condescending "acting" manager that mentioned the real manager was coming in on Monday at 9am and the girl the night before told us the wrong information. I asked if they could call the manager but again they said they couldn't. You would think that a known company like Holiday inn could at least call the manager but instead we were treated like nuisances. He continued to mention that they're not liable for items stolen in the room but I believe you're responsible for hiring competent and honest employees.

The whole ordeal feels like an inside job so please be careful if you choose to stay here. They will NOT cater to you and help you through the process.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iesleyannlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Iesleyannlynn,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip for 2 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean bathroom and bed. Some marks on walls but apart from that very clean. Breakfast was a help yourself range of fruit, yoghurt, toast, croissants, etc. It wasn't the Ritz but more than adequate for my needs. No hot food on offer though. I thought it was good value for the money.

Room Tip: My room did not have any view but then I wasn't in it long enough to need one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Booked via Hotwire (blind) for a great price. Stayed one night post-cruise before flying home. 10 euro cab ride from the port. Room was perfectly fine: clean, modern, everything we needed. Excellent desk staff - really enjoyed their restaurant recommendation one block over in the busy pedestrian zone of the district with lots going on. Easy to get cabs and metro. This district is not walkable to the old town. 10 minute walk to the beach. Breakfast was good but just cold food. Only downside was the room never really cooled down, although we left the max cold air running all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_plus_Four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel location is acceptable and Metro station is very close. I think the key to move around Barcelona is the Metro. Also, close to a Rambla zone where you can find places to eat for a reasonable prices and good quality.

Room Tip: Our room had blackout curtain and I guess all have them.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Brave S,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that our location were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Comments as yours motivate us to work much harder in order to deliver the service levels that our guests are looking for when they stay with us.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
876 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#306 of 513 in Barcelona
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,609 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
NH Barcelona Diagonal Center
NH Barcelona Diagonal Center
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22

Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $92 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22 Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing