We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #286 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is not a luxury 5 star hotel but you get what you pay for. Check in staff a bit unfriendly but other reception staff (Jordi?) made up for it. Free wifi for loyalty card holders. Worth joining just for free internet. We were also allowed late check out at 2pm - really useful. Breakfast was included in the price and was standard self service continental breakfast. Vending machines in the lobby rather than minibar in the room.
The hotel is not in the heart of the city but is well connected in terms of the metro. Not a really touristy area and the local restaurants were full of locals rather than tourists. Easy walking distance to the beach. 40 Euros by taxi to the airport.
If you want to spend a weekend in a luxury hotel and use all the hotel facilities like gym, spa, restaurants...etc This is not the place for you. If you want a good value, clean, functional, efficient hotel as a base to sleep so that you can visit the city then this will suit you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NigelCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    673
    376
    67
    41
See reviews for
654
350
47
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Barcelona in the Rambla Poblenou neighborhood twice. The property gives good value for the euro, with a nice continental breakfast in a sunfilled room. The hotel rooms are a little small but adequate and nice for the price. The hotel is located adjacent to the Rambla Poblenou which has a variety of good local restuarants and cafes, and a decent supermercado.

This hotel is no frills, no pool and not much else to do, but in addition to walking to the Poblenou, it is easy access by metro or taxi to the Plaza Catelunya and other city center sites. The Hoho bus red line stops within walking distance-about 6 blocks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The poor hotel is more tired than I was.
All public areas and my room are worn, broken or tired. The receptionist was friendly on check in and helpful which was the saving grace. Time for a refurb I think

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear PWG63,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. It is disappointing our hotel did not live up to your expectations. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is one hotel where you get a blend of Big and small brand. Rooms are big enough to stay along with children, Reception service is great and help staff members, little far from center but easily accessible through Metro, 10 minutes walk to great beaches, 10 minutes walk to an excellent shopping mall. Breakfast is cold continental, you can have good juices and milk to start the day. All in all good value for money hotel not so far from centre.

Room Tip: Try taking rooms in higher floors to have better view from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RishabhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Staff were nice, and allowed us to check in early. Clean and quite room with all the necessary facilities. A bit far from the city center, but easy enough to find, about 5 minutes walk from the Metro as advertised in their website.

Breakfast was standard and sufficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lord_cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Remembered why I hate Holiday Inn Express hotels when staying here...every one I've ever stayed in has hot water in the bathroom sink but try and get better than lukewarm for a bath or shower and you're wasting your time. Hotel was ok other than that although some of the hall carpets were badly stained. Continental buffet breakfast was good. Location is fine too with plenty cafes and restaurants nearby in Rambla del Poblenou. Good value stay - bar the hot water!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hot water in the bathroom. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, located at 8 metro station from Barcelona Center (Plaza Cataluña). The room are nice, tidy and clean. The offered continental breakfast is excellent with a great variety of aliments to choose from. Reception desk personnel are very kind and give you all the information for a great Barcelona visit (places to visit, recomendation of restaurants, tips for navigating in the metro and avoiding pickpocketers).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sa...
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#85 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#307 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#114 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing