We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #285 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, modern hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and had booked a cruise that departed from Barcelona, so we booked a 2 night stay here before the cruise.

As we were jetlagged, we did a lot of sleeping in our room. The room was a good size, bathroom was very big and everything looked clean and modern. No free wifi though. Breakfast was awesome. There was so much to choose from and the coffee was delicious. We were very impressed with the breakfast.

Location wasn't the greatest and it was far from the airport. It looked like a business-y area and seemed a bit dodgey at night, but we never felt it was unsafe. It's a couple blocks from a strip of restaurants/shops. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and McDonalds, which we went to use their wifi.

Staff was very friendly and happy to help with showing us directions. They also told us which trains to take to get to the harbour.

Hotel itself was very nice, so if you are looking for a good hotel in this neighbourhood, I'd highly recommend it. However, if you're looking for lots to do within walking distance, then this might not be the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smileyphace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    678
    379
    67
    41
See reviews for
657
355
47
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

a little pricey, but cheapest we found in the area with such amenities.. we found hotel prices in barcelona generally more expensive than other cities we visited.. nice hotel nonetheless, modern, clean, great shower and bathroom setup. the area is a little deserted and not very tourist-oriented.. about a half hour walk from La Sagrada, and 15 minute walk to beach.. nice restaurants nearby though with different choices of food

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Diana_8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Berks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked three double non smoking rooms with early check inn and check out but on arrival were given three twins one of which smelt of smoke. After complaining we were allocated doubles on the 6th floor which were fine for our stay of three nights, although there are no good views from the hotel and lots of little things need attention. I agree with previous reviews that the hotel would benefit from an up-date and the carpets definately are in need of a clean! However, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast has a good selection. There is graffiti outside but that seems the case with most of Barcelona from what we could see.

There is a nice beach about 10 minutes walk away and the metro stop Llancuna is just around the corner from where its only a short trip to Las Rables and all the attractions. There is a supermarket and plenty of little restaurants close by if you want to use them in the evenings. In general we enjoyed our trip but probably wouldn't use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windsorci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed as one of their platinum members...nice room with a double and a ready-made-up sofa bed double. Free wifi for platinums, otherwise they charge. The bathroom was better than average...had a bath rather than just a shower. The brekky was a standard HIX spread...very acceptable.

I noticed that the 3 PCs in the lobby were all broken...I reckon that should be addressed as a priority given that people need it for checking-in for flights etc...

Would stay again when on a budget...a great 'local high-street' for eating out is around the corner as is a supermercado...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdanielmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were in trouble in Barcelona after a scare getting locked into our apartment building in habitat apartments in eixample. We fled to the holiday inn at poblenou where we were able to stay safely for 4 nights. They even moved us to a better room when there was a bathroom problem. Modern hotel and clean - looks quite new. Only a short walk to lacuna metro stop and then 3 stops to old town. Lots of good restaurants nearby on poblenous own ram las. Try Mascalzone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie135sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine/Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice and new hotel, good placed. Near metro, far from touris confusion. Good service and good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#192 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sa...
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#303 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#113 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing