We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst restaurant ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chardonnay

Chardonnay
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Chardonnay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,403 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Chardonnay restaurant near Barcelona’s central Post Office in the Gothic Quarter offers tip-top tapas at budget-friendly prices. Once it opens at midday, service never stops, making it an ideal place to snack, dine or simply nibble on something Spanish at any time, non-conventional hours included. On the menu you’ll find the typical spanish tapas, Prawns in garlic, Eggplant rolls with goat cheese, Fried potatoes with sausage paprika sauce..., Salads, pasta, fresh fish, grilled meats, in chardonnay you can test six diferent paellas, with sea food, with octupos, with meat..., and good spanish wine.It is a pleasure serve you, we are waiting to serve you in the best conditions. Chardonnay also stands out for its spaciousness, cosiness, and minimalist décor. "
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst restaurant ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had my worst experience..the restaurant looked very clean, bit if you look more carefull is full of dust.I have been waiting for my paella long time and it comes cold at the table. The staff didn't smile at all! Even if the price of food is average I think to have spend too much money for a cold paella and a poor service.I will defenetly suggest to avoid this place!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francescarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaume C, Gerente at Chardonnay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We appreciated your opinion, though his words are unfavorable for business, but we have to take notice and seek improvement and satisfy our customers as much as possible, although not always easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    24
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“High prices, average food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

You better avoid this place. Only one waiter to serve all the customers, food below expectations for a restaurant with sheets on tables. The only thing on the high level was pricing. Instead, find a small place, like a tapas bar, with local people inside. This is almost always guaranteed that you will get decent food reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good effort, mixed results.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our server was a charming young lady who had too many tables, and who struggled with the language barrier. We asked for bread and sliced tomatoes, and received the Catalan specialty of bread topped with a tomato spread. Of the tapas, the shaved artichocke and the mushrooms were faves. Octopus and cuttlefish paella was good but could have been better. The pasta with tomato sauce ordered by a more timid member of our party came with a thin coating of a creamy tomato sauce--how does one mess up something so simple? The chicken with cheese sauce was fine but nothing special. Service was slow. Our server was very professional and was as attentive as she could be, but she was just overworked. It took so long to be served that the manager offered us complimentary desserts. We declined the offer but appreciated the gesture. They need to smooth the rough edges of what could be an excellent establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldLineStaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked a table for 12 for 8pm. Although only 6 had arrived by 8.30, the staff were very accommodating, serving an excellent set of tapas dishes. By 9.00 there were 16 of us and the staff uncomplainingly added an extra table. I enjoyed a good paella as my main course and my colleagues had other traditional Spanish meat, fish and vegetarian dishes. Service was good and friendly throughout the evening and the restaurant has a good buzz about it

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice tapas at keen price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I had a very good experience here. The staff were friendly and the food was very good. It is very reasonable and the service was excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chardonnay also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Chardonnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing