We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spartan Hotel Great Location But Be Careful You May Get Cheated”
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlas Hotel
Ranked #374 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
tel aviv
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spartan Hotel Great Location But Be Careful You May Get Cheated”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I do not recommend this hotel. It is a very, very basic hotel very close to La Ramblas. The rooms were very small with no decorations or any type of atmosphere. Very, very spartan quarters - like a prison cell or dorm room

It is also EXTREMELY NOISY - no attempt was made to have double glass windows or something to block out the noise. Unless you can sleep through very loud noise all night long - I suggest you stay elsewhere

The breakfast was as simple and as frugal as possible. If something was finished it was not replaced until more people arrived for breakfast. Basically cold eggs, bread and some stale pastries. Best thing I ate was a banana

Even though everything was prepaid - the manager insisted that we pay an extra tax and that it was in our contract - which it was not. They did this to all of the customers and we all argued because it was not in any of our contracts. We asked for a receipt for this so called tax and the manager basically created something from scratch. No one likes to be cheated - the money goes straight to his pocket

To be fair - you get free wifi and it is right on La Ramblas - I would stay somewhere else and as a Senior Reviewer who uses trip advisor all the time - I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL and I advise you to stay somewhere else

Room Tip: I do not recommend that you stay here so I cannot provide a tip for choosing a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israelitourist t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    91
    51
    22
    13
See reviews for
31
91
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is small and clean. Nice washrooms. Safe provided. Sercure -- Staff keeps the door locked at night and the front desk is constantly attended to ensure only the hotel tenants enter. There is very good service, including obtaining tickets at a discounted price. Parking is nearby and affordable. Excellent value just steps from La Rambes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel unless every other hotel in Barcelona is fully booked and there aren’t any park benches available. It is simply appalling. One of the men on reception is literally the rudest, most unhelpful person I have ever encountered. He wouldn’t do even the basics to help us. When we did ask for assistance he kept telling us to come back later. I could perhaps understand this if he was really busy but each time we were the only ones at reception.
On the Saturday night we were locked out of our hotel. He had gone upstairs and left reception uncovered, leaving us standing out in the street in the pouring rain. We were knocking on the door and ringing the buzzer for 15 minutes (there is a big clock at reception so we knew how long we were standing there). When he finally did appear he didn’t apologise instead insisting that we had only been there for a few minutes.
Breakfast was well below average standard. When I went back to rude receptionist to advise him that there were no eggs on our second morning, he advised me that they only do eggs every other day. We ate our breakfast and about 10 minutes after we had finished the eggs arrived. The coffee was awful and the pastries stale.
There is a bar near the front of the hotel which appeared to be open through the night. We had people yelling and screaming outside our window all night. The garbage trucks were still collecting around 11:30pm. None of this would have mattered if the double glazing in the hotel was at all sound proof but instead it was as noisy as it would be if we had left our window wide open.
Our shower was broken and only sprayed water at the wall instead of us. We would have asked to change rooms but as it would have required going back to Mr Helpful at reception we didn’t bother!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krustiekiwibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my son for a week in this hotel. The location is great, but slightly noisy. The reception clerk was very frendly and helped us to make some bookings and print e-tickets. I think that this hotel is a good choice for people which like very central locations in the heart of the city

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Slava K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed for just one night on a business trip, but it was very good experience! Location of the hotel is excellent, just on the La Rambla street with fair price. The room was very clean, convinient, and the receptionist was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver8403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The location of the hotel is superb, just of the Rambla, across from the market. Twin room was good with a safebox, Breakfast was ok to start the day. There's no parking near the hotel but they have reserved parking spaces at a location that for us seemed a bit far and since we were returning our rented car the next day we chose to pay for parking near by. Staff is very nice and welcoming, WI FI was good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritashor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

After booking a double room, when checked in we were given a room with 3 single beds of varying nights pushed together. I booked the hotel due to its location, but was not made aware of the downsides to that fact and managed to get an hours sleep due to noose outside of bar emptying their bottle bins and street cleaners - plus screaming drunks. After asking the hotel to move us to a quieter room with a double bed, we where moved next door but this time just the two single beds pushed together. We also had the advantage of a window that didn't lock. We complained again but was told this was the quietest side of the hotel and that tonight would be louder due to it being a Saturday. With regards the window there was nothing they could do as there was no other rooms available. But they did reassure us by saying no one would climb into our room while we slept??
In short,a avoid this hotel if you want to sleep as due to the lack of it seriously dampens the excitement of being in such a beautiful city

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenMLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
May Ramblas Hotel
May Ramblas Hotel
#375 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#317 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#241 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#259 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#229 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Property: Atlas Hotel
Address: Cardenal Casanas 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel has an excellent location in a quiet side street only 20 metres from the famous Las Ramblas. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The Hotel Atlas is set in the historic centre of Barcelona. It is a short walk from the Boquería Market, the Liceu theatre and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing