We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very low class hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlas Hotel
Ranked #372 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    90
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
31
90
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nothing was wrong with the Atlas hotel. It was more comfortable and in a better location than any other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Spain. We stayed at three different hotels in Barcelona.

The bad experience we had was with the staff person that checked us out. We had a 7:30am flight to Granada so we checked out at 5:45am. We were going to find a taxi off La Rambla but the guy at the counter said it will be very hard to find a taxi at that time. He said he will call a taxi for us and it'll be here in 2 minutes. After 5 minutes passed, we said we prefer to walk to a taxi station. He said it's very far away. When the taxi driver finally ran up, he said he couldn't drive up to the hotel because the street was blocked. We said we could walk out but before we did, the taxi driver spoke to the reception guy in Spanish and they were exchanging money. We found that odd but just wanted to get to the airport. When we finally got there the taxi guy added $15 euros to the cab fare and said that's the fee when you call for taxi service. We knew that wasn't the case because we did taxi research before getting to Spain. We gave the driver the fair price and ran into the airport. Luckily we had all our bags with us up in front or else he would have had our bags hostage. This really ruined of view of this hotel. The next hotel we stayed at in Barcelona we asked if we to pay taxi call fee if they called a taxi for us and the receptionist said that they did not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Atlas Hotel for 4 days. The hotel is very close to las ramblas which is very convenient. As many of the previous review have noted though, it is very basic and for the price is of questionable value for money.

We initially had problems with our booking, we had booked a double room but mistakenly only indicated "1 adult" (our fault). Because of this however, they downgraded our booking to a single room with a single bed and required us to pay extra to be put back into a double room.

The room we were given was tiny, with scarcely enough room to place our few pieces of luggage. The facilities were clean and in reasonable repair.

Breakfast was very basic and the staff werent overly friendly or helpful.

All in all, for the money it cost and what we received there MUST be better value places to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravellers2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is worth no more than 3 stars; it is simple, our room was very cramped, breakfast is simple and not at all varied. BUT; it is clean, comfortable and I felt perfectly safe there. And the location: couldn't be better: just a stone's throw away from the Ramblas and a 10 minute stroll from the Placa Catalunya from where the Hop on hop off busses depart. an easy way to explore Barcelona. Closeby to the hotel you will also find alleys with surprises (good restaurants and shops). I had a great vacation in Barcelona!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in room 401 and found Hotel Atlas to be a great base in the Gothic Quarter, close to some great bars and restaurants and lots of sights. The in-room safe was very useful and easy to use.

Provided we kept the bathroom door closed the bedroom was well sound-proofed from the outside.
The bathroom was modern and the shower was very adjustable.
The staff cleaned every day and left fresh towells.

The beds were too hard but this helped us wake up early!
Breakfast was good; continental as advertised with good coffee, juice, breads, cereals and the addition of bacon and eggs for those who wanted them.

The reception staff were helpful and we liked that they were concerned about security; they did not let us into the hotel until they had looked at us through the glass doors and recognised us.

It's such a great location that we would certainly consider this hotel again if we stay in Barcelona.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrduttz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Atlas for five nights in July. The hotel was incredibly easy to find as a first time visitor to Barcelona and had an incredible location--right off Les Rambles. We were literally just steps away from La Boqueria, the beach, and right inside el Barrio Gótico. We could even see the Santa Maria del Pi church from our balcony! Also, the Liceu metro station, as others have mentioned, is just a few steps away. Though we could walk to most sights (l'Eixample, el Born, el Raval, Plaça Catalunya, el Barceloneta, etc.), we sometimes used the metro and it was so convenient. Unlike other hotels, we could walk in and out of our hotel during the day to take a quick 30 minute rest before heading out again.

I thought that the breakfast was well-worth it for the price. We were provided with a slew of jam/butter/honey, fresh loaves of bread, pre-packaged crossants, fruit, cereal, cheese/salami/bacon/scrambled eggs, orange juice, and espresso in the morning. This was perfect to fill up on in the morning so we didn't have to eat until 2 or 3 pm like the Spanish.

The staff was also very helpful. My mom was pick-pocketed while we were here and the people at the front desk helped her contact all her credit card companies and banks. Also, since we didn't choose to buy sim cards for our mobile phones in Spain, our family members would just call through the hotel and the staff was always cordial enough to send the call upstairs.

Oh, and our room, while small, was incredibly clean and updated. The air-conditioning worked well, the in-room safe was a godsend, and our street balcony view was such a nice (albeit noisy) bonus.

My only real qualms about the hotel concern the mattresses. They were so hard and uncomfortable, so we didn't really sleep well during our stay. It didn't bother us that much because we didn't really want to sleep anyway--why would you in Barcelona? I could see this being a problem for other travelers, though.

I could even see the centric location as being a turn-off for some travels. If you're in Barcelona to relax, unwind, and enjoy some quiet time, this hotel is not for you. You can expect to enjoy hearing drunken tourists walking back to their hotels all night long. This area never sleeps.

Overall, I probably wouldn't stay at Atlas Hotel again because it's location is too touristic for future visits. But for a first-time traveler, I think it's a great option for the price and location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneswiftmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was not our first choice. We had been booked into H10 Raco del Pi but upon arrival the manager told us his hotel had an electrical fault and that meant there were no lights on one floor. He said we would have to move to another hotel and walked us the short distance to Atlas Hotel. This was cheaper but not as nice as the one we had booked. As we were only in Barcelona for the weekend we really didn't want to spend ages trying to find another hotel so felt we didn't have much of a choice - especially as the manager of H10 Raco del Pi said the only other hotel he could offer us was by the train station. In the end it worked out and we had a pleasant stay (though a pick-pocket attempted to lift my wallet on a walk back to hotel one evening. I managed to block him but be careful - Barcelona has a real pick-pocket problem).

Location: Very good. Just east of La Ramlas in the el Gotic area where most of the good bars and restaurants are. Didn't need a subway pass. Just walked everywhere, including to the beach (25min walk).

Room: Basic looking but a good size and clean - so much so that it smelt of Dettol every time it was cleaned! Though this did fade if you opened the window. Very quiet with windows closed. Aircon in the room which worked very well. Good sized bathroom with large shower (sadly no bath). Beds were comfortable but rather than a double it was two singles pushed together - not ideal. There is also an electronic safe in the bedroom that is free to use.

Staff: Friendly and helpful.

Breakfast: We didn't have this so cannot comment.

Payment: Only real criticism was that when they charged my credit card they chose to convert the Euros into British Pounds for me rather than allowing my card provider to do it. Meant that the conversation rate was 1.21 when it ought to have been 1.27. That was the second time this happened (though didn't realise until afterwards). The Cal Pep restaurant did the same. They really should ask! Meant the hotel cost £10 extra than it should have.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#314 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#209 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#261 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#325 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Property: Atlas Hotel
Address: Cardenal Casanas 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel has an excellent location in a quiet side street only 20 metres from the famous Las Ramblas. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The Hotel Atlas is set in the historic centre of Barcelona. It is a short walk from the Boquería Market, the Liceu theatre and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing