We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average indian”
Review of Moti Mahal

Moti Mahal
Ranked #1,643 of 10,008 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Indian Tandoori Restaurant.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The service was ok. The food was ok but nothing special. Wouldn't go again. We vent in because Harrison Ford picture was in the door. Meh... Didn't help.

Thank Anter0K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I consider myself a foodie and I love to explore the local cuisine wherever I travel. But this time in Barcelona, I had to eat Indian food at several places in the city as my fellow travelers were not very experimental.

During this period I ate at various Indian restaurants and found Moti Mahal to be the best one. The host and the hostess are very friendly and will make you feel at home, and food quality was above par for any Indian restaurants I've eaten abroad. The taste of the food was very authentic and fresh.

We ordered, Samosas, Dal, Butter Chicken, Kadhai Chicken, Chicken Tikka, Biryani, Paneer Tikka, Naan and Lachha Paranthas. I can say, the Lachha Paranthas were one of the best I've ever had.

Though the interiors are very average, and pictures of Indian gods add a little flavour to the ambience. But for the food - I can safely say, this is the true Indian restaurant in Barcelona.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shashwat-Nagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motimahalbcn, Gerente at Moti Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your opinion and we are glad to know that you liked the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food variety and taste is really good. But we were really put off by the rude, unwelcoming waiter who served us that day. When we asked him what dish would he recommend for our meal, he responded negatively and told us that we take a look at the menu instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KoregaonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motimahalbcn, Gerente at Moti Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We are glad to know that you liked the food. We had similar complaints and after that we changed the staff, next time you visit you will get excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Nice authentic food at a reasonable price in acceptable surroundings. This restaurant wont win any awards but it is a good option for a quick curry if you are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HolidaymanTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motimahalbcn, Gerente at Moti Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

In barcelona i had gone to four restraunts.
This restaurant had the best Indian food.
The taste was good.
The food was fresh.
The service was excellent.

2  Thank wosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motimahalbcn, Gerente at Moti Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We are glad you liked the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moti Mahal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing