We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$145
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$203
Derby Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$142
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$183
$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$414
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercer Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$402
$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $390/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$2,094
$820
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
236
26
8
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
26
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quarterbluetooth speakerbathroom amenities areluxury boutique hoteltiny roomvertical gardenno petssmall shallow poolwindy streetsstrong water pressurecentral courtyardrooms facecomfortable king bedtoiletries includingrecommend roomroof terracegreat rooftop
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 276 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

This hotel is beautifully appointed from the restaurant, to the rooms to the rooftop. The staff are also super helpful and friendly. One of my favourite hotels! I would highly recommend having dinner at the restaurant. The food was really delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wittmore B, Director General at The Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear Mr. Richard R,

First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Wittmore.

We are extremely happy to know that you appreciated everything of our hotel, from the location to our rooms and services.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back really soon.

Warm Regards,

The Wittmore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

From the moment we booked the hotel staff reached out to us with ideas and suggestions to make the most of our stay. We used the services of the concierge to arrange excursions and dinner and all exceeded our expectations.

We felt pampered from the moment we arrived, the service was personal and attentive. The patio area is a quiet haven after a busy day to enjoy a cocktail. The roof was a great to place to have breakfast and plan the day.

Our room overlooked the lovely patio area and was well appointed with every attention to detail that you would expect from a hotel of this quality.

After a guided tour of the gothic quarter organized by the hotel - highly recommend this option if you want to have a personal tour of the less well known highlights of the city - a quiet drink turned into dinner when we realized how beautiful the patio was!

For a romantic getaway it would be difficult to beat this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SimonC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wittmore B, General Manager at The Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear SimonC01,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Wittmore with the TA community.
It's great to know you got to enjoy a dinner with us since our restaurant, The Witty, it's actually a very popular spot for locals who come here to enjoy our delicious menu created by Albert Ventura. The patio really is a special place and it happens often that once clients step in they end up hanging up there for ages.
Thank you so much once again for trusting us as your home away from home, we really hope you had a pleasant trip back home and wish to be able to weolcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
The Wittmore team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We live in magical times indeed. If I have 4 hours to travel door to door, I can go to North Yorkshire, North Wales, The Kyle of Lochalsh or Barcelona.....stupid question really. This was the best type of break. A Wednesday adult escape that morphed into a long weekend. We travelled light, with small rucksacks, and by mid-morning we were strolling from Placa Catalunya down past the cathedral to find The Wittmore in Gothica. The cheap and quick airport bus is the best way to get into the city. Barcelona being the favourite bolt hole at the moment, we kind of new where we were going, but its still not that easy to find. Secluded and understated up a side street.

First impressions are stunning. Dark wood, dark carpets, immaculate staff and that unmistakable waft of Joe Malone Pomegranate Noir. Our room wasn't enormous but it was perfect. Looking on to the internal courtyard, the dark wood theme continued. The en-suite bathroom was fabulous and festooned with high quality toiletries.

We took an early lunch on the rooftop – beautiful fish tacos and a crisp Verdejo in a gorgeous location – what could be better? - before heading out for some Michelin starred dining – yes we are pigs. This was a pattern we began to follow – rooftop, verdejo, fine food, vermouth. The other surprising gem in the Witty is the cocktail bar and the unlikely named Kevin…..from Argentina. His cocktails were heavenly, but I have now developed an addiction to Old Fashioned and Mint Juleps. He’s also got great chat and its good to get some local recommendations for food and drink.

Any down sides were very minor. There was one English TV channel, also we had asked the hotel to book some restaurants but they did so in their own name. It was quite fun trying to work out what name the booking was under. The biggest down side was leaving. This is surely the definition of the boutique hotel. Bespoke, beautifully considered and designed, impeccable discreet service and effortlessly cool. We shall return!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equality_7-2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wittmore B, General Manager at The Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear guest,

First of all thank you so much for writing this review about your stay at The Wittmore.
We are delighted to know you got to enjoy the full experience in both our very special spaces; the Sundeck and the Witty and we will make sure Kevin gets the proper recognition for his amazing work.
Thank you once more for trusting us as your home away from home in Barcelona, we hope you had an enjoyable trip back home and we look forwards to welcome you again in your next visit.
Warm regards,

The Wittmore team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

Wonderful, romantic hotel with great amenities and top notch service. Breakfast on the roof is an absolute must! Highly recommend. We stayed in one of their "tiny" rooms and it was more then spacious for 2 of us.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wittmore B, General Manager at The Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Dear Kyle N,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad to know you enjoyed breakfast in our rooftop, it really is a very special place with unique 360 views from Barcelona.
Hoping you had a pleasant trip back home we look forwards welcoming you in your next visit to Barcelona.

Warm regards

The Wittmore team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We arrived in Barcelona after 10 days of staying in small B&B's and old hotels in Ireland. We couldn't have been more delighted with the Whittmore and their outstanding service. We had rooms 104 and 105 which is actually up a level from the lobby. This small hotel (I believe they have 20 rooms total) overflows with its uniqueness and sexy decor. You really feel like you stumbled upon a secret speakeasy. The gothic quarter has a lot of small windy streets that all look the same so google maps (or a street map) was a must. Many taxis have a hard time finding this hotel but the front desk can book one of their regular drivers to transport you from the airport so there isn't any confusion. If you need a taxi during your stay, the doorman will walk you around the corner to the intersection and call a taxi. I recommend snapping a photo of the address to keep on you at all times so you can show a driver if needed. There is an elevator in the hotel to service the 6 floors. Wifi is free and air conditioning in the rooms worked well.

The restaurant downstairs is beautifully decorated in reds and blacks with a view of the inner courtyard. I had breakfast there several times and it was so peaceful. Breakfast is not included with your stay, however. I personally enjoyed the omelettes and the little side salad that is served with it.

We had a two King bed rooms with 104 being a handicapped shower. These rooms were in small category on the room designation with smaller rooms available in the hotel. We were fine with the size and were surprised at how big is was given the description. The bathroom is quite large with an exceptional shower. They had the best toiletries I have ever seen in a hotel. In addition to the regular shampoo, conditioner and lotion, they had a toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, cotton balls, comb, shaving cream, razor, shower cap and loofah. The hair dryer was also a nice surprise (very powerful). The actual bedroom had a door that separated it from the hallway and bathroom which came in handy when my husband had to take a business call and I wanted to take a shower. The best part about the room was the unique blackout louvers that covered the windows at night. For the most part it is a quiet hotel with only one night being noisy from music nearby. The rooms open to the center courtyard that goes all the way up to the rooftop. My only frustration was with the lack of lighting in the room. The closet was in the hallway between the bedroom and bathroom. I had to turn on my phone flashlight to go through my luggage and find things. Mood lighting is great but not if you are trying to locate clothing.

We had snacks at the rooftop several times. There were yellow and white striped lounge chairs around a small shallow pool (probably only 8" deep). Even though the view was average, it was a fantastic place to hang out and enjoy an afternoon drink. I couldn't get enough of the mojitos here and thought it was the best I ever had. I also liked the burrata cheese and tomato salad they offered. Pedro the bartender was outstanding.

I will admit that there were a few times at night where I was on guard in the gothic district but felt safe at the hotel. They post a guard at the street entrance on the weekend nights to ensure safety.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wittmore B, General Manager at The Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Dear Virginia TX,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review giving so much detail of your stay with us.
We are so glad you found our service is outstanding and that you mention our uniqueness and sexy decor. We will make sure Pedro gets it's fantastic work well recognised.
Wishing you had a pleasant trip back home we hope to see you again very soon on your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,
The Wittmore team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews