We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - small room, but GREAT location and staff perfection”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #83 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

If your expectation are realistic - this is a one star hotel - you will not expect or need the amenities of a fancy or chain hotel. But you will not have a friendlier staff (Mateo!) or better location at the price. I confess to loving the beer in the vending machine - very inexpensive, way better than a mini bar. Room was tiny, but comfortable and certainly adequate. I loved the city and it is within steps of this perfectly situated gem. Right down the block from Las Rambla about halfway between the marina and Playa Catalunya. Metro is great way to get around and easy to get too, but I mostly walked. The bus to and from airport is so convenient and only 6 euros. Runs constantly between airport and Playa Catalunya, 5-10 minute walk from Hotel Curiousl.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice words about our little boutique hotel in Barcelona!

According to your words, we understand that you had a great stay with us and this makes all us very happy and satisfied with the service we give to all our guests.

We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service... and recently we have launched a Barcelona Curious Guide app, for free for all our guests, that I hope that you have enjoyed a lot during your stay with us.

As you pointed out, Hotel Curious is between two metro stations, and it makes one be in the top tourist places within minutes (although all of them can be reached by foot!).

Once again, thank you very much! It was a pleasure for all of us having you as a guest at Hotel Curious!!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

It is my second time there.Like the first time,pleasant,clean hotel ,,with very helpful staff for anything you might need,such as help,information,good advice and friendly atmosphere.
I strongly recommend it to tourists that appreciate excellent people over luxurious rooms.
Bravo ! Many thanks!

M.E.Riembau

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERiembau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear mr. Riembau,

We are very glad that you had such a great stay with us. That is exactly the most important point: we try to make our guests feel like home. Nice atmosphere, good feelings... our guests satisfaction is the most important!

All our staff live and love Barcelona, so they know very well the city and can suggest hidden gems, those that you know only if a friend tells you.

Thank you for choosing and trusting us again, among so many other hotels in Barcelona. We are so glad you had such a great time that you would like to come back!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just returned from the hotel after staying three nights with family. Hotel was clean, tidy and stylish. Just off the La Ramblas and near Catalunya Plaza which was very convenient for our short stay in Barcelona with kids. Breakfast was simple but fresh. All staff members in general and reception in particular was extremely courteous and helpful. We stayed in triple room which was small but well equipped and having small balcony towards the street. Metro stop was only 4 mins walk away. Overall extremely satisfied with our stay and would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice words about our little boutique hotel in Barcelona!

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms have a right size, we believe. And they are completely equipped with all necessary amenities and any extra can be ordered in the front desk.

Hotel Curious is in Carme Street, a very calm strees that ends in Las Ramblas, so this can give you the best of being at the city center and the best of not being right in the middle.

Moreover, our staff makes always an effort to make your stay in Barcelona as pleasant as possible and they are always taking care of you.

We really hope to see you again at Hotel Curious. You know where your home is in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our stay at the Curious was just right. We arrived early from our cruise ship and were able to check in leave our bags and set out with suggestions from Mateo the desk clerk on duty. We were happy with a very clean sparsely furnished modern room, comfortable bed and very nice expanded continental breakfast in the small dining room. Caryn another excellent desk clerk helped us with a dinner reservation and additional ideas for places to go. We were located a couple of hundred feet off the Rambla ,within easy walking distance to the Gotic Quarter, Plaza Catalunya and the metro. We had a three night stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDS591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear guest,

We run out of words! Thank you very much for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor about the little Curious! We are so glad you had all the information you needed about Barcelona in our front desk, we are here for that!

We understand for your words that you had a pleasant stay in our place, and this makes us really happy and proud. As you said, our priorities are cleaning and giving the best guest service to all our guests: helping with the routes, their activities, restaurants... well, trying to make their stay in Barcelona the best ever.

As you pointed out, Hotel Curious is between two metro stations, and it makes one be in the top tourist places within minutes (although all of them can be reached by foot!).

We'd like to thank you very much for trusting us, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Curious was quite good. Caryn and Albert were quite helpful with recommendations and help with printing from the lobby computer. Room was nice and hotel is conveniently located on a fairly quiet street for being so close to the Rambla.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrlar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our little hotel with other travel lovers on TripAdvisor

According to your words, we understand that you had a great stay with us and this makes all us very happy and satisfied with the service we give to all our guests.

Our little boutique hotel is in Barcelona city center, as you pointed out, and this makes Hotel Curious a great spot to start your day in the city.

As you said, our staff is always (24h) willing to help you with anything you may need your stay: transport, restaurants, museums... anything! We provide you with a map and some basic tips to start exploring the city.

Thank you for choosing and trusting us, among so many other hotels in Barcelona. We are so glad you had such a great time that you would like to come back!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After seeing all the great reviews on TA and getting a good price for 5 nights I couldn't wait to stay here.

A few days before we left Scotland we got a lovely holiday pack via email from the hotel to let us know some of the places the staff recommend visiting and eating at, that was a lovely surprise. I also emailed a few months before our arrival to say we would be getting into Barcelona late so would someone still be there to check us in. I got a lovely email saying that the reception was manned 24/7 and that someone would be there when we arrived. It was very comforting.

When we arrived we were given a handy map which was circled with where the hotel was located.

The staff, all I can say is wow. They were so helpful. They were always smiling, you could tell they really enjoyed their job.

Our bedroom was cleaned every day so it was spotless. The bedroom was bigger than I was expecting it to be too which was a lovely surprise. The bed was one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept on and the bathroom was nice.

We were at the back of the hotel which was so quiet, I was never woken up during the night by any noise and we were right next to the lift too.

The breakfast in the morning was everything that we needed. Toast, croissants, meat, cheese, yoghurts etc. A lovely choice. Something for everyone and filled us up for our day ahead.

The location is superb, just off the Ramblas (I would say the main street in Barcelona), only about a 10 min walk to Barri Gotic (my favourite area), not far from any where. We could walk back to our hotel to get ready for the evening as it was so close to everything.

I already want to come back to Barcelona and if I do I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess_Pretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our little hotel with other travel lovers on TripAdvisor.

We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service... and recently we have launched a Barcelona Curious Guide app, for free for all our guests, that I hope that you have enjoyed a lot during your stay with us.

Hotel Curious is in Carme Street, a very calm strees that ends in Las Ramblas, so this can give you the best of being at the city center and the best of not being right in the middle.

As you said, breakfast time is from 8am until 11am (there's no need to wake up very early while being on holidays!) but we can arrange breakfast for all the guest who need it (egg, flying very early in the morning).

As you pointed out, the rooms in the back are quieter than the rooms up front.

Moreover, our staff makes always an effort to make your stay in Barcelona as pleasant as possible and they are always taking care of you.

We'd like to thank you very much for trusting us, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right off the Ramblas and near Catalunya Plaza. Aerobus to and from airport available at the Plaza and Metro too. Boqueria Market is right by the hotel. The front desk was very helpful. Cera 23 restaurant is a very short walk and is excellent.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sus246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you had such a great stay with us. That is exactly the most important point: we try to make our guests feel like home. Nice atmosphere, good feelings... our guests satisfaction is the most important!

As you said, Hotel Curious is right off Las Ramblas, behind Boqueria's Market (the city center), only 5 minutes walk from Catalonia and Liceu Metro Station.

All our staff live and love Barcelona, so they know very well the city and can suggest hidden gems, those that you know only if a friend tells you.

We'd like to thank you very much for trusting us, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#197 of 517 in Barcelona
1,002 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#77 of 517 in Barcelona
2,150 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#56 of 517 in Barcelona
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#68 of 517 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#93 of 517 in Barcelona
1,745 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $65 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing