We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for First Visit to Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #73 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for First Visit to Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

While we have visited Spain several times this was the first trip to Barcelona (4 days). Hotel Curious is just 100m off Rambla in the thick of that district of shops and restaurants. I have never found a hotel staff more helpful. They understood our mobility limitations as a senior couple. Restaurant recommendations were right on the mark and obviously not just the popular tourist places. While spartan, the staff and location more than made up for this. Room was large and comfortable. We like the rooms that face Carme, particularly the upper floors. WiFi works well and is free. Security was excellent as no one can enter with out being seen by the front desk and they seem to know all the guests by name after check-in. A small frig would have been a nice addition. Best value we have seen in a long time. Don' miss the lunch counter in the market (entrance from Carme, 50M) or Rambla). It will be the one with a crowd waiting. You have to wait for a stool but the vegetables and sea food are outstanding

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor room facing Carme
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HCStroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Wow, first of all thank you very much for choosing Hotel Curious among so many hotels in Barcelona for your first visit to our beloved city. We are very honoured to have been the ones who introduced you so many things Barcelona can offer.

As you said, WIFI and breakfast are free. When you come to Hotel Curious there are no extra-surprises: your stay is complete and you know the price from the begining. And our staff... is always willing to help you so do not hesitate to ask us anytime you wish. We're here for this!

We hope to welcome you another time soon!

Thank you so much!

Our best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    514
    97
    11
    6
See reviews for
237
725
153
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel was great and situated near the Ramblas so a good for visiting the whole city of Barcelona. Staff was very friendly and service minded.We would go there again and recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! Thank you for trusting Hotel Curious and sharing your experience with other travellers. We are very grateful!

We look forward to welcoming you soon anytime you wish to visit Barcelona.

All the best from BCN city center,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were very impressed with this well-located hotel. The rooms though small,were adequate and very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. I did find our room too noisy as it was next to the street, but after I mentioned it to the hotel we were moved to a quiet room at the back. The breakfast was good value but I would have preferred a healthier cereal such as muesli, bran or oats rather than 2 sugar laden ones and an option of brown bread rather than white - a small point.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Curios in the beautiful city of Barcelona, this was an excellent experience all around. The location of the hotel makes it accessible to the Metro system, the famous Ramblas,and a cab ride to Sagrada Familia (a magnificent church to visit). There are many restaurants and tapas bar at walking distance. Definitely a great place to stay.

Have fun!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidita16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I just completed a 2-night stay at Hotel Curious and I am quite happy with my choice. I booked this hotel because of the excellent reviews, attractive room rates, and for it's location just across the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona. Most first-time travellers to this historic city will most likely appreciate that La Rambla is only a few steps away from the hotel's enrance but since I am a return visitor I liked the hotel more for its proximity to the Gothic Quarter. Upon my arrival, the reception I got from the amiable staff was warm and friendly. Other staff members who were at the reception thereafter were as gracious and helpful so kudos to all of them for being very pleasant.

The bedroom and en suite bathroom is a bit small even for a solo traveller like me but its diminutive size is typical throughout Europe so it seems pointless to complain about this. Despite its size, the room was well-maintained and very clean. The same cleanliness is also noticeable throughout the hotel. I do have to point out that the complimentary wifi was quite weak and unstable during my 3-day stay so it was difficult to access the internet from my room on the first floor. However, the wifi signal was quite strong at the lobby and the use of a desktop computer was also provided by the hotel free of charge.

Lastly, the inclusive breakfast was served buffet style. Assorted breads, fruits, cold meats, and cheese were offered which I thought was more than enough to fill one up during breakfast.

Hotel Curious presents great value for money in a city where accomodations can be quite expensive so this quaint property is therefore highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_D_P_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'd like to thank you personally for trusting Hotel Curious once again. Hearing that you had a great second stay with us really makes me happy. We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service... and recently we have launched a Barcelona Curious Guide app, for free for all our guests, that I hope that you have enjoyed a lot during your stay with us.

We really hope to see you again at Hotel Curious. You know where your home is in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

They helped our tour plan and the staff was considerably good and exceptional. The service at lifts, rooms and other common areas were too good. Ramblas is right off this famous hotel. The hotel is well maintained and very clean and tidy. You need to make a reservation prior to your stay and you can get a good deal. The staff was amazing and the breakfast was too good. An employee named Mateo helped us a lot in luggage transfer and other help. They were perfect in managing the time during check in and check out. All employees were having a sweet smile on their face. They also offered hot water for my kid during night as our child was not feeling well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMollit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks fo rtaking the time to share your opinion about our little hotel with other travel lovers on TripAdvisor. We understand for your words that you had a pleasant stay in our place, and this makes us really happy and proud. As you said, our priorities are cleaning and giving the best guest service to all our guests: helping with the routes, their activities, restaurants... well, trying to make their stay in Barcelona the best ever.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon again in Barcelona!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoLD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Excellent location, just off the Ramblas. Very clean and well decorated. Rooms are a little small but for a few days they are fine. Staff were very good, excellent tips on local restaurants and things to do and how to get there. Would use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEREFORDSTOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our little boutique hotel on TripAdvisor.

We really celebrate that you had such a great stay with us. As you said, our staff is always (24h) willing to help you with anything you may need your stay: transport, restaurants, museums... anything! We provide you with a map and some basic tips to start exploring the city.

We really hope to see you again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Curious!

Best regards from Spain,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#61 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#149 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Property: Hotel Curious
Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing