We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cosy Tourist Hotel”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #78 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice cosy Tourist Hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved the nice and warm atmosphere which made us feel not living in a hotel but with a katalan family...
Rooms are small and basic but very acceptable regarding the location you are staying. You are just in the middle of Barcelona!!! Thank you for the hospitality and nice jokes every time we passed the reception.
Breakfast is nice as well!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reise1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read you felt like "living with a catalan family" - according to your words on the review. Our main goal is making you feel you are at home, and you can ask us anything as we are here 24h exclusivily for you!

Best regards from the Curious team and we look forward to welcoming you very soon again!

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    520
    99
    11
    6
See reviews for
239
732
154
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great value, great location, really great service.
Definitely worth a visit. Good access to most locations, either walking, or by metro. Got really good ‘lay of the land’ from the reception on our arrival, making it even easier to find our way about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing some lovely words about Hotel Curious with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you soon again!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from a three (3) night stay at this hotel. Location is outstanding, convenient to the Metro Subway Station "Liceiu" and only about one (1) block off La Rambla. The street it is on is well lighted and safe. A good location to start any day's activities or to come back to for a break. Lot of good restaurants, shopping & attractions within close walking distance.
The hotel does not represent itself as more than a one (1) star facility, but it is more than that. It is very secure, clean, modern and is very quiet. The single room I had on the fourth floor (403) was very small, but it suited me OK. The staff was very courteous, spoke good English and was very helpful in directions, especially recommendations. Mr. Mateo Martinez Pastor stood out with his assistance. The breakfast buffet was good with baked goods, yogurts, meats & cheese, eggs, juice, fruit & coffee. I would stay there again, but request a larger room if I were to be there for a longer time.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room you will be given before you accept it, some are very small and may not meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrcerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you had a great experience with us! The satsfaction of our guests is a main priority for us, and we are very grateful for your words, as they make us improve our daily work.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room was small. Bathroom was even smaller. So small I barely had room to move around and I'm a small person. The shower curtain in the bathroom was plastic, which is fine, but the fact that it was yellowed was not fine. In addition, the overall design of the shower is flawed as the shower head points directly at the shower curtain creating an inevitable lake every time I showered.
The breakfast was nice. Staff was mostly friendly. Location convenient. But honestly, I could have, should have, paid 50 pounds more to stay at resort-style hotel in Barceloneta. All you're paying for with this hotel is the location. And metro stops are a dime a dozen in Barcelona, so pay a little extra and stay somewhere nicer if less convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathery27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. Our guests' opinions let us all improve in our daily work at Hotel Curious.

Regarding the shower curtains, which are only in some single rooms (the rest have a frosted glass), they will be checked and if we detect any of them yellowed, it will immediately be renewed.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Best regards from all the staff at Hotel Curious,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location, just a minute or so off La Rambla and not much further to the nearest metro station. Loads of restaurants within easy walking distance, and you get discounts at some of them as a hotel guest.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful, and speak good English. They produce their own guide to Barcelona, which has a few suggestions not covered by the guide books, and also email you before your stay with events and weather info for when you are there. They were also happy for me to leave my luggage on check-out day and come back and use their computer later in the day.
Good buffet breakfast included in the price - cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast/rolls, cheese & meat etc. It's available 8-11, so breakfast room was never that crowded either.
Price for the location was fantastic, but my room was very small - basic living space in single room was only about 10' x 8' (3m x 2.5m). Room was pretty basic too, but comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AScotsmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review on Hotel Curious!
We're so glad to read that you are very happy with our little hotel and also that you enjoyed our situation and our service. That was our goal: mak you feel at home in our lovely city.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

excellent location,I stayed at this hotel after returning from Mallorca from 21-24 April 2013,after paying for 3 days I went to my room 103 and was not very happy to see 8X8 feet room and hardly any place to move,i guess this was the smallest room I have seen in last 20 years and no natural light
anyway staff was very helpful and eager to help and then next day I moved to 405 and it was one feet better may be and the balcony with sun light was great relief
overall the experience was very good except the room size,the staff was listening and very helpful to guide regarding site seeing etc
on last day while going to airport,I was waiting for the lift for 3 minutes and then I realised that lift is not working,but the person at reception was quick to respond and he came to fourth floor to help me with my luggage ,when you meet good people at hotel, the size of the room becomes immaterial sometimes and I would definitely like to come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank param247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to write some likes about us. All our guests suggestions let us improve in our daily work, so we really appreciate them.

Thank you for your nice words. I am very glad to read that your stay was excellent despite your single room is one of the smallest ones we've got. However, they are very comfortable - as you pointed out. They have plenty of amenities, a new rainshower, WIFI, breakfast...

We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Curious, your home in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Curious is a neat little hotel just off La Rambla, and in short walking distance to many restaurants of all kinds, La Boqueria (an amazing covered market), and a convenient metro stop. A generous breakfast is included: baked goods, yogurts, meats & cheeses, boiled eggs, fruits, juice, coffee and hot chocolate. The rooms are small but comfortable and very clean, and each had a little balcony. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and as we were there for Sant Jordi, we received the traditional bouquet of roses and wheat, as well as a little typed history of the holiday, which we very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a much nicer view of the street and beautiful surrounding architecture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're so happy that you enjoyed Sant Jordi, which is a very nice tradition in Catalonia. Of course, all our guests had to have a red rose!

We are happy too to read that you had a wonderful Curious-experience, and we hope to welcome you soon in the city center.

Thank you for trusting us for your stay in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#148 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Property: Hotel Curious
Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing