We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beers and Great Ambiance”
Review of Alt Heidelberg

Alt Heidelberg
Ranked #3,026 of 9,690 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Richmond Heights, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Beers and Great Ambiance”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Loved the old world German stylings and good selection of sausages. Usually sat at the bar in front and enjoyed good Belgian ales along with some tapas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    72
    38
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Is this the cheapest good lunch in Barcelona?”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I've lived in Barcelona for more than eight years and this is my favourite restaurant next to where I work, right in the heart of the city, two minutes from Plaça Catalunya and one minute from Plaça Universitat. It is used more by local people than by travellers but the travellers who are missing out!

Some of the waiters have been there for a very long time. They are nice people, the service is friendly, and the food is good. In spite of the German name, they serve mostly conventional Catalan food but you can also get hamburgers and hot dogs...

Currently, they are offering a ridiculously low fixed-price lunch for 5 euros - 1 euro more for a dessert or a coffee. You can eat at the bar or in the dining room at the back. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeclanBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bavarian/Catalan Gem”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

An enjoyable meal with traditional Bavarian atmosphere attentive staff. Reasonably priced within easy distance of Catalunya Pza and
University area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor ambience and poor food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Drop in for what I thought would be German food. The ambience was very un-German being very bright and lacking atmosphere. I order a small beer (not German) and a peppered steak. I was expecting to see snitzel and other German fare but no luck unless you like sausages. I was given a roll that must have been days old, my steak arrived but no side salad as in ALL German restaurants. I counted just 5 pepper corns on my steak sauce and the whole dish was very poor. The prices were high (E19.75 for my steak), the staff looked bored and paid little attention to service. Overall very poor food and service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryParrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Restaurant gem!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

German restaurant in the heart of BCN, but serves all the Spanish food and tapas you could want. High quality and good value, very jovial and friendly waiters. Always a pleasure - their Pimientos de Padron never fail to please.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alt Heidelberg also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Alt Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing