We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing interiors but pricey”
Review of El Pi Antic

El Pi Antic
Ranked #7,700 of 9,534 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing interiors but pricey”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Christmas Eve, Dec 24, 2012 in BCN, we wanted to find a place to celebrate Christmas with a special dinner and found this place while wandering about Barrio Gotico. The façade and the interiors really attracted us since it resembles an ancient medieval castle. Well, this is all it is about! Basically the food and servings are overrated I guess! We spent a fortune and didn't eat that much. My daughter opted for croquettas de pollo (Chicken fingers), which proved to be slimy and tasteless. We adults chose paella and fish soup and a selection of tapas and tortillas and, to tell the truth ,the fish paella wasn't that bad even if served on a burnt and overused greasy pan. We washed the food down with sangria, but the price we paid was beyond expectation! Anyways the waiter who served us was very kind but the man I assumed was the owner was kind of careless! Another tourist trap in BCN I will avoid.. But it was Christmas so.. Let's just be good..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LellaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    26
    17
    26
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little spot in the Barri Gotic”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Barcelona for a few days in July. We happened upon this restaurant when we decided to break free of the touristy La Rambla. El Pi Antic is located just east, and it is a neat walk through alleyways and little plazas. We enjoyed the sangria, some delicious tapas, and osso bucca. We were happy with our meal, and it was affordable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripgrl727272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrible place!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were forced into this place as the rain suddenly hit hard but, in retrospect, we would have been better off walking on and getting soaked. We found our own table as noone bothered to show us to one. As to the food....it was truly awful. We ordered some tapas plates...the chicken croquettes proved to be grey slime in breadcrumbs, the squid straight out of the freezer, the spanish omlette was tasteless and the whole appalling meal came to over 40 euros! The waiter slammed the food down and when he collected the plates, his method of asking whether it was ok consisted of barking, "Good, yes!"
The location is good and the building beautiful, old and authentic; it's such a pity everything else is lousy. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie-Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better off finding a Burger King”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

When we walked in to El pi Antic the intial impression was quite good as building and interior were quite grand, however this was as good as it got. We walked past a girl who could have been working there but seemed more interested in her boyfriend, we stood waiting for somebody to seat us, eventually the girl got the hint gestured towards a table. After 5 minutes of watching a waiter wordlessly slam down food for the guests seated outside, 2 menues were thrust at us by the surly owner who took our orders by sarcastically shouting in to his mobile phone. What we got was, at best edible and delivered with no care or finesse whatsoever. The bill came only after waiting for 15 minutes after asking for it, and it was totally overpriced for what it was. A total tourist trap with staff who couldn't care less because they know your never going to go back. Avoid this place at all costs, it does not deserve your custom.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MattEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice little spot in the Plaza.”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I see the reviews that have been mostly negative and I just have to say that my experience here was so much different. We were wandering aimlessly down the sidestreets off Las Ramblas and ran into this place outside the old fortress looking church. The views were great and the plaza was lively so we decided to stop and have a drink and a bite. We really only had tapas so i can't really comment on the food, but the waiter, David, was very nice and talkative. His wife was the cashier and he told us about their child. Initially there were no open seats on the patio, but as soon as someone left he hurried and grabbed the patio table for us and moved our things. The inside is beautiful and has an old Catalan feel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uglychicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pi Antic also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Pi Antic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing