We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff, clean, central, calm (good for sleeping & relaxing), good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Somnio Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somnio Barcelona
Ranked #104 of 757 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff, clean, central, calm (good for sleeping & relaxing), good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Very good hostel in all aspects. Highly recommended.
The only potential drawback is when the hostel is fully booked, access to the toilets becomes crowded because there are only 3 of them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredofbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
74
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

The only thing worse than a bad hotel is a dishonest one. Somnio manages to be both. Yes, there's Habitat-style furniture and the staff serve bubbly in the tiny reception area in the evening, but if sleep and a hot shower are important to you, keep looking until you find something less pretentious. We paid 70 euros for a twin room with neither a bathroom nor double glazing which faced a painfully loud thoroughfare. Our room was sandwiched between two six-bed dorm rooms, and separated by walls thinner than panty liners. At 4:30 a.m., after the repeated slamming of fire doors had kept us up all night, we enjoyed listening to the night desk person party with some 18 year-olds in the lounge. Steadily increasing morning traffic finished us off.
One shower had no hot water at all, another had a bust pipe which shot scalding hot water at your waist, and the third went from hot to icy in under 2 minutes.
Breakfast is served in the reception, which is about 9' X 9' in size and has no tables.
These may be things to expect in hostels; if it's what you're in to, spend less at a place on La Rambla or in Plaza Reial. Budget-conscious grown-ups, however, should abstain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Pros: Clean hostel, knowledgeable staff who speak fluent English, excellent location
Cons: Because my wife was going to be five months pregnant during the tip we reserved one of their rooms with a private bath over the internet and received a confirmation, however, when we arrived we were told that someone "entered the reservation incorrectly in the book" and we were faced with a private room and shared bath. This was ok at the beginning of the trip when there were three bathrooms in use (although there was still sometimes a wait) but for the last three days of the trip one bathroom was unusable which made things difficult. We reminded the staff about my wife's condition and unfortunately nothing was done to try to accommodate us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed at Somnio Hostel Barcelona last April and I was more than happy! The owners, Lauren and Lee, know how to make your trip memorable. All the staff knows the city well and can give you recommendations (food, bars, sightseeing). Don't be afraid to ask! They are also very helpful, they even helped me finding a place to repair my laptop.

I stayed in a 6-bed female dorm, which size was nice, and very clean. Every bed came with a locker, quite big to fit a backpack (+/- gym size lockers). The linens are clean and the towels are even changed every day. The reception is open 24/7 and there is no curfew, but of course people keep it calm at nighttime. The reception is nicely decorated and it makes you feel comfortable right away. Plus, there's a computer available for internet browsing. They also have free wifi if you bring along your laptop.

The beds, as they advertise, are comfortable! Finding sleep has never been an issue. There was a main bathroom associated with each room, but there were 3 total so in my case bathroom/showers has not been a issue. If you carry a lot of luggage there is an elevator available, but you have to play with it as it is not a standart automatic one. Worst of the worst it's only on the 3rd (american-type) floor.

Plus, the location is amazing, just a few seconds off Rambla de Catalunya, very close to 2 central metro stations. There was an amazingly dangerously good bakery on the corner of the street. Just off you can as well find sandwich places, corner stores, tapas and plenty of restaurants. There's even a movie theatre quite near.

If I was to go back to Barcelona I would definitely book there again. Their rooms are bargains compared to what you can find that centrally in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyriyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#74 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#154 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#86 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#91 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#45 of 757 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Absolut Centro
Hostal Absolut Centro
#261 of 757 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somnio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somnio Barcelona

Property: Somnio Barcelona
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 251, Segundo (2), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 757 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Somnio Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somnio is a brand new hostel located in the center of Barcelona just steps from Las Ramblas. Somnio offers the service of a five-star hotel at hostel prices. Not only is Somnio the perfect launchpad to the best of Barcelona, it is a comfortable and stylish place to plan your trip, meet new people and recharge for the adventures that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somnio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somnio Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Somnio Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing