We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible noise from devices outside”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Somnio Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somnio Barcelona
Ranked #107 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Gerlingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible noise from devices outside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed 7 night in in Somnio hostel, in a single room (Nr.2).
On the wall outside, right near the balcony door there was a big air conditioning device. Considering its size, I think it worked for the whole hotel. Its noise switched between average (like an old refrigerator), loud (like a washing machine) and VERY loud (like a washing machine in spin cycle). After a first night I bought earplugs in a nearest pharmacy so I could sleep normally next nights. Not very comfortably though.

Аir conditioning in my room: it was NOT working. There was an air conditioning device in my room, but it was disabled. And the big noisy device outside worked not for me, it was for someone else. I got only the noise. Additionally, I had to keep the balcony door closed, to lower this noise at least a bit. And that in a small room, in the middle of summer!

Cleanliness: the room was never cleaned, towels or linen never changed (for 7 days) and I had to empty the bin myself.

Location: near the city center, good for short (sightseeing) visits but not good in summer (too far from the beaches)

wifi: not fast but worked

The hotel was not cheap (45-50 EUR/night) but it is still considered as a budget hotel. So although the room was small and the shower/toilet were common I could still rate it with 5 points. However:
- 2 points for the horrible noice
- 1 point for no air conditioning in July
- 1 point for not cleaning the room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomnioHostels, Owner at Somnio Barcelona, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Alexey,

I am really sorry that your stay at Somnio wasn't as pleasant as it could have been. In the future, please talk to our receptionists if you have any concerns during your stay. We want you to have the best possible experience and are here to help.

We have checked the air conditioning unit in your room and it is indeed working. If you had spoken to us about the problem, we would have made sure that it was keeping you cool during your stay. I'm sorry you had to sleep in the heat! We also have fans available if the air conditioning isn't enough.

As for the air conditioning noise, we have since conducted a test with our machines to monitor the noise coming from the compressor on the balcony (in your picture). At no point during our tests did the machine make noises like those that you described. Is it possible the noise was coming from a neighbor's machine? We will continue to test the machines and monitor the noise of the compressor (and that of our neighbors). We will have the machines reviewed because the noise you're describing is certainly not that of a properly functioning machine. I'm sorry you were disturbed.

For ecological as well as privacy reasons, we typically do not enter or clean the guests' rooms during their stay. If you or any guest requests fresh sheets, towels, or that their room be cleaned during their stay, we are very happy to comply. When a guest stays as long as you did, we typically clean the room during the middle of the stay. I'm very sorry that your sheets weren't changed and that your room wasn't cleaned. I have already talked to the housekeeper about the situation.

Alexey, I hope that we may have the opportunity to provide a better experience for you in the future. If you should come back to Barcelona, please contact me directly (Lee@somniohostels.com) and I will do my best to make it up to you.

Safe Travels,
Lee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
74
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.-Peterburgs (Russia)
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was in this Hostel twice already (between 4 JUL 13 and 7 JUL 13) and will come again! Very clean, friendly staff, safe and not expensive! A good mix of quality and price.The hostel is located near the main street, which is very convenient. The historic building with a beautiful interior. Inside the modern decor.

Inna (Russia)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I recently stay at Somino for 4 nights and I can say, by far the best hostel I've stayed at.

Location is stupid awesome, the people are friendly, the place is super clean (coming from one that's OCD clean), the bed was comfy and room 9 is super sunny! As a bonus, the room has external shutters, perfect for the morning after a big night.

I felt I was getting the better end of the stick, given how affordable that place was and what I was getting.

Cannot recommended enough!

Ps, book for room 9!

If you have any further questions, feel free to email me (jimmygatsos@gmail.com).

Jimmy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jbozz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Somnio is a hostel with a a great location and very friendly staff who are travelers on their own. The front desk people were very helpful with tips and advice on my stay in Barcelona and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nemanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place is such good value regarding location and rooms for Barcelona. Showers and mattrasses are outstanding. Most remarkable, though, is the friendly and helpfull staff. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home and keep you informed about the city.

Room Tip: Appearantly all rooms without private bathrooms at least have a sink, just FYI, in case thats one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights in male dorm which was clean and pleasant. Beds are comfy, there are lockers with key provided. Shared bathrooms were cleaned everyday.
It would have been nice that the window had a curtain or some kind of shutter as we get woken up when the sun rises from 6:30 AM !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank sachapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We found hotel prices in Barcelona to be expensive and so were on the lookout for a budget hotel but not a dive, Somnio Hotel fitted the bill.

We paid €78 for a double shared bathroom, the room was very basic but clean, the bathroom shared with about four other rooms on our side was also very clean.

The location is very good, a short walk from the last stop on the bus line from the airport and also only 5-10 minutes from the top of La Rambla. The reception is open 24hours which we needed as our flight got in close to midnight.

For Flamenco dancing we recommend Tarantinos off La Rambla, an intimate venue with a show for €10 for half an hour and for Tapas we recommend Tapeo, they have an English menu, all tapas are cooked fresh to order and were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamtime_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#73 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#153 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#86 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#90 of 759 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#45 of 759 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Absolut Centro
Hostal Absolut Centro
#271 of 759 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somnio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somnio Barcelona

Property: Somnio Barcelona
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 251, Segundo (2), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Somnio Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somnio is a brand new hostel located in the center of Barcelona just steps from Las Ramblas. Somnio offers the service of a five-star hotel at hostel prices. Not only is Somnio the perfect launchpad to the best of Barcelona, it is a comfortable and stylish place to plan your trip, meet new people and recharge for the adventures that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Somnio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somnio Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Somnio Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing