We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Xaica Restaurant

Xaica Restaurant
Ranked #4,963 of 9,400 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Castellar del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Been here three times over a few years, the food has always been good and the staff helpful and friendly, it has always seemed busy which is a good sign. Its quite compact inside and only one toilet for many people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    94
    32
    17
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Depends on the time of day???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend in the area. He advised to go in the evening and to have the paella and sangria. We dined there twice.

Located on a side street near la Rambla this small eatery does not offer much for the eyes. Decor looks like grandmas living room back in the 80's. Perhaps this place serve 30 at most so be mindful about going with a large group. For mom and me it was cozy.

First time around we ordered from the menu of the day along with paella and a pitcher of sangria. I had the skirt steak which was yummy and cooked well. I enjoyed it with the salad (basic) and the seafood paella (very good) and dessert which was also included. The sangria was also solid. Mom and I were full and content with it and agreed to return because the price was just right at about 40euros for both.

Second time we went a bit earlier in the evening since we had a show to go to. It seemed as if they had just opened. This time around I didn’t close my eyes in delight as a chewed my food. Our bread was stale, the paella was very mushy and my shrimp entree from the menu of the day was over cooked. The sangria was still solid. Perhaps we had a different cook this time around which was busy prepping for the evening to cook our orders to perfection. I didn’t complain... mom was still happy and content...

So we had a hit and a miss. Would I return? Yes, but definitely later in the evening like my friend suggested since I believe that matters. Although I prefer to go to a location with nicer décor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abraham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Local bar - very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bar area very busy - very casual bar, don't expect fancy atmosphere, multiple TVs with Barcelona playing Inter-Milan when we were there. Paella was much better than at a "fancy" restaurant we ate at the previous day, and at a much lower price; it is available as main course or as appetiser. Flan desert and fresh strawberry desert were also very good. 50 Euros for four of us including multiple drinks each. Excellent service, and we closed the bar, and the drink portions were very generous. Don't expect much atmosphere, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our waitress was very friendly but the food was just average. Wasn't that impressed. Went to l'oliva just down the same road the following night and that was miles better and cheaper.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Homemade and decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The first time I went to Xaica was 35 years ago - they´ve been open for 50. I go there quite often. Don´t expect a luxurious place, it is not. But you can eat typical food at a decent price - something difficult to find in BCN, especially in that touristic area. It is a place that lots of locals eat during the week. They have a menu of tapas, costing today 14 € that is great and complete. Today I had melon with cured ham that was divine. Second course, fish. Dessert, drinks, coffee included for 12,95 € ( on Saturdays ). The waiter is really nice too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xaica Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Xaica Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing