We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too gloomy and dark”
Review of Pension Francia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Francia
Ranked #237 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I know the price was cheap, I only needed one night but for €55 I think the least I could have expected was a room with some form of daylight. There was none. I felt like I was staying in an inside cabin of a ship.
The towels were clean but so worn down you could not really use them as towels.
The staff was friendly though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank AnetteHallstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very basic, the mattress was awful, we put the blankets provided underneath the sheets to try to make up for it. The balcony goes straight onto a busy pavement with cafes and lots of people going through at night so not good if you are a light sleeper. The decor is shabby and our room was located on the 6th floor.
HOWEVER, the staff are lovely and very friendly and the location is so central that you can pop out without lots of money and stuff if you want to go to the beach or wandering on the Ramblas. Our sheets and towels were changed every single day as or room was cleaned which was great.. This place is also very cheap. We really enjoyed our stay here and you can't expect to have everything, far more enjoyable than staying somewhere posher that would either be much further out or cost a small fortune!

Room Tip: If you don't enjoy climbing lots of stairs then think about asking to be put in a room on a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemmietime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hostel was in a great location which was the only plus point. The bed was uncomfortable and there were no elevators so it was quite a bit of exercise. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Shal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

First issue with this place was finding it. I was expecting an OK hotel but instead found a run-down doorway with a small sign.
Then once i got in, i found out that first of all, it was a hostel instead of a hotel. The pictures and info given were very misleading. The man at the reception was rude, and this wasn't just the language barrier. The rooms were tiny, literally just big enough to fit two beds into and were very dirty. The facilities were dirty and shared by up to 8 other rooms.

All in all, i wouldn't recommend staying in this place ever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

They advertise rooms they don't have and then abuse the situation of tourists that has no alternatives but to accept the last minute offer - the worst room I have slept in -

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Yes there are a hell of a lot of stairs, yes the staff only speak Spanish and yes it's noisy but so what?! Location is beyond amazing 15mins from the beach,5 from las Ramblas! And its clean! What more can you want? I stayed here with 2 friends while the room was small it wasn't a big deal we were barely in it only to sleep, shower and recover from a sangria induced coma. The staff were lovely and willing to put up with my basic Spanish and even helped us to book a taxi back to the airport at stupid o,clock but if all you want is some where to rest your head after a day of sightseeing then this is your place. As for the lack of the lift so what after all the amazing paella you'll be eating you'll need the exercise.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is definitely low budget no frills accommodation. It is very well located and nice and clean. We stayed in room 11 which has its own bathroom which is far nicer than a communal bathroom. Like we mentioned this a for a student or group of back-packers that are looking for cost effective accommodation. No breakfast served but they do have a coffee and vending machines. You are also expected to leave your key at reception when you go out which we found weird, but the room did have a safe in the cupboard. One night cost us 65 Euros. Room was very clean, but bed was very uncomfortable. They could have made an effort when it comes to the towels. They were wafer thin and full of holes! No lift in building so be prepared to carry your luggage 2 storeys. Room 11 also has its own balcony.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ZAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Can Seuba
#169 of 308 in Barcelona
16 reviews
DingDong Putxet
#248 of 308 in Barcelona
140 reviews
Eixample
La Isla Hostal
La Isla Hostal
#140 of 308 in Barcelona
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
#121 of 308 in Barcelona
129 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Pension Ciudadela
Pension Ciudadela
#106 of 308 in Barcelona
196 reviews
Barcelona City Seven
#136 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Francia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Francia

Address: Calle Rera Palau 4, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $42 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Francia 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Francia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Francia Hotel Barcelona
Pension Francia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing