We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room design not well thought out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars BCN Design
Ranked #342 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here in February. The reception was friendly and helpful, the room was large and the bed comfortable. However: the sinks in the room were ridiculous with nowhere to put soap or towels. There were no shelves for clothes. Only one chair in the room. Shower was large but lacked ventilation - smelt musty. The lift near the room made a noise going up and down. We did not take any meals at the hotel so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comments-JBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 686 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I travelled with my husband for a long weekend at the end of January 2013. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the Passeig de Gracia train stop from the airport. It is definitely in a 5* location in terms of getting around central Barcelona and only 5 minutes walk from Gadi's Casa Batllo and La Pedrera in one direction and La Plaza Cataluna and Las Rambles in the other direction. The metro is also on your doorstep. There are wonderful places to eat close by in all directions and great shopping including designer shops and El Corte Ingles. The reception staff were also 5* in terms of their excellent, helpful service, they were a great source of advice for non-tourist places to eat/socialise. The decor inside the entrance of the building and leading to the lifts is awful. The red and black "theme" is, in my opinion, reminiscent of a "bordello" and verging on the tacky. The rooms are not in our opinion 5*. They are quite small (think Paris-small) though well decorated. Word of warning to those of a shy nature... your "bathroom" is a few feet in front of your bed with your toilet "enclosed" within an opaque glass surround. There is an excellent rain-fall shower inside a spacious cubicle however the shower shelf was hanging off the wall. The lights in the room were on 4 different switches so we seemed to spend our time trying to work out which switch related to which set of lights. The lighting over the bed was horrendous - two halogen lights (which had to be removed every night because they continued to shine weakly even when turned off) on two bendy long arms which hung over one side of the double bed and which you had to negotiate past to get into bed every night, just doesn't work! I was glad I travelled with my Kindle Paperwhite so I could actually see what I was reading. The banging of doors echoed through the corridor constantly all day long from both staff and visitors. I'm not sure whether it's because of what the doors are made of or because the springs are loaded too tightly. Another traveller also commented on this to us in the lift. One good point about the room is that the windows open. as not everyone wants to use aircon all the time. The "business centre" consists of one computer that is accessible but has no printer and the other missing a screen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupofsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

this hotel is wonderful, the location, the staff, the rooms , everything OK. to shopping is ideal; not far to Plaza Cataluña en the ramblas, many choice restaurants to eat.
The rooms are lightful en beautiful , breakfast is ok but i prefer to eat outside. the terras is big and the jacuzzi is great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Algahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend for a romantic weekend away. The hotel is in a prefect location, very friendly helpful staff, breakfast was lovely with a great choice! The room was lovely the only thing I didn't like was it was meant to be a basic double but the bed was two single beds pushed together. My partner and I usually always fall asleep spooning/hugging and we werent able to do this as the beds just moved apart. :(

I was very unwell the day we were leaving but thankfully the hotel was able to let us have the room until we needed to leave for the airport at 5pm for an extra €40 but when you're in that situation you really don't care about paying the extra!! We will definitely be returning in the summer months to make up for the time I missed with me being ill and to get some use out of the lovely hot tub on the roof. But Next time i will also request an actual double bed and not two single ones pushed together.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, well decorated, designed, nice and original room, tasty breakfast. Well situated, on the one of the big streets of Barcelona and calm in the meantime. Close to the shopping centers, close to Gaudi creations. We spent nice time there and enjoyed our long weekend. We would not say that it is real 5 stars because of some details. But it was really good quality vs correct price.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Goulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last weekend for four nights and while the location is great I didn't think it was a five star rating.
The staff were very helpful but the hotel is very anonymous with no real lobby area or bar .
The first room I got was very dark and looked out at a wall directly ahead but as I had requested a quiet room maybe this was my own fault. However when I complained at reception I was immediately moved to a room with a city view which is what I paid for in the first place and it was fine.
There is a outdoor hot tub on the roof but no changing rooms up there and no robes in the bedroom.

Room Tip: 201 very dark with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broug57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for one night before leaving for a cruise in December 2012. The next time we hope to stay longer. The location is great. We received excellent service, especially at the front desk from Ingrid David. Everyone was very, very helpful. Our room was clean and quiet. Great shower. In fact the room darking shades were so good we overslept. But when we called the front desk, Ingrid extended our check-out time. We were able to leave our bags in the room and check out late. They took our luggage from the room and when we were ready to leave, they met us in the lobby for the taxi they had called for us. We would suggest having a 220 - 110 converter for charging your camera, shaver, computer, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8JoanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Eixample
Majestic Residence
Majestic Residence
#348 of 515 in Barcelona
166 reviews
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#193 of 515 in Barcelona
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 515 in Barcelona
1,921 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#375 of 515 in Barcelona
887 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#18 of 515 in Barcelona
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars BCN Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars BCN Design

Address: Paseo de Gracia, 29-31, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $152 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars BCN Design 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars BCN Design Hotel is set in an elegant building on the Paseo de Gracia, next to Rambla Cataluña, dating from the second half of the 19th century when the connecting road was built to join up the two most important cities in the region: Barcelona and Gracia. Our boutique hotel in Barcelona provides free Wi-Fi connection and a gym. The bar-cafeteria offers excellent buffet breakfasts, a fine assortment of tapas, a specially selected range of wines and cavas and two ambiances to choose from with a spacious lounge with vistas of the Paseo de Gracia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eurostars BCN Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars BCN Design Barcelona, Catalonia
Eurostars Bcn Design Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing