We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have read more reviews and passed.”

Restaurante Salamanca
Reserve with
Restaurante Salamanca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,115 of 9,510 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $34 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Salamanca's Restaurant is one of the most typical and traditional restaurants in Barcelona, where you may have lunch or dinner by celebrities like Julio Iglesias, Pique o Shakira. One of the few authentic restaurants remaining beachfront of Barceloneta.You can not leave Barcelona without your picture by Silvestre, Salamanca's tireless owner for more tan fourty years and also a celebrity in Barcelona. Best: paella, ham, fresh seafood chosen by specialists and good vibes.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We should have read more reviews and passed.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

As written by others this was not a good experience. Expensive and poor quality food. They served us bread when we sat down and charged us for it even though we didn't order or eat it. They got our order wrong and charged us for the more expensive option. Overall we felt ripped off for bad food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANJSFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    996
    498
    280
    395
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
acunaja
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, fresh food, great fast service”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The entries are very big, we shared one plate and there were some leftovers. The service is great , they gave us complimentary dessert liqueur. The service includes fresh, warm toasted bread with tomato sauce on top. You can wander around the restaurant and see pictures of famous people that have eaten in the place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acunaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We came very late and were led there by a cab driver. Risky but turned out to be a great move. Right on the beach, the food was spectacular, except the lobster. We had a delicious shellfish meal made for two- We ended up wishing we would have gone for the one with the fresh monkfish instead of the lobster - It did not taste as fresh as the other shellfish. The staff was extremely attentive and made you feel special! The drinks were good and the overall experience was just what we needed. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrookFeerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fun & Good Food in Barcelona”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were visiting Barcelona for 3 days & wanted a change from tapas. Also wanted to be near the ambience of the beaches. Found Salamanca on TripAdvisor. Our delightful server, Lati, made our evening a memorable one. We ordered paella & a good bottle of Rioja for the 3 of us. While we waited for our meal we were treated by Lati to complementary salami, tomato bread & salted green baby peppers (delicious). The paella was to die for & at the end of the meal we were given complementary almond cake and grappa aperitifs. Great value for money & highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding fresh seafood”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to try the Salamanca as the quality and freshness of the food makes it a popular destination, we were not disappointed. The set menu of starter of squid, octopus, mussels, prawns, fried whitebait, gazpacho local hams and cheese with a free glass of wine was a meal in it self to savour and enjoy. The second course of fresh seafood paella was as good as we have had in a long time which more fresh see food. The lemon sorbet and local glass of digestivo was a very pleasent way to finish a meal.
The team of waiters are very attentive and the service is friendly and efficient with a nice twist as they arrived with our desert to sing happy birthday to my wife.
Looking forward to our next trip to try out more of the amazing menu

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Salamanca also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing