We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zenit Imperial
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in a nice part of a beautiful city. The staff are very nice and the general decor is good, if a little dated. My only complaint is that the restaurant served a fairly indifferent evening meal. The breakfast, hower, was excellent. Please note, you can't get a car to the hotel so you'll have to find somewhere else to park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed two nights here. Terrific location in old city and easy walk to all places of interest. Room was on the smaller side but quite adequate and room and hotel was spotless and of high quality and the rate was excellent. Manager is only person that speaks English but he is a gem in terms of courtesy and helpfulness and will happily provide directions and offer suggestions on sights to see. Valladolid is a most attractive city and unlike Madrid or Barcelona it is off the standard tourist beat so you won’t encounter bus loads of visitors. One consequence though is that hardly anyone speaks English so have your translations figured out in advance although everyone we met was friendly, helpful and patient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful, quaint hotel in central old town, just steps from the Plaza Mayor and all the great bars and restaurants. A bit noisy on weekends in a front facing room, but otherwise comfortable air conditioned and well appointed. Very friendly and informative reception staff. Only complaint would be the breakfast which was sparse but adequate for Continental style. Breakfast staff not very friendly and up to the chore of keeping the the vittles available. Would definitely recommend the hotel, but skip the breakfast which is an additional charge and get it at one of the numerous bars and restaurant within a short stroll.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernestl985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were a large wine group (48) and we wanted to explore the Ribera del Duero wine area, and then move on to Rueda and the Toro D.O. and combine some sightseeing in this underrated area of Spain.
Because we had a day “at leisure” in the middle of our holiday, I wanted a hotel right in the middle of attractive Valladolid. There is a lot to do and see in this city. The hotel Imperial is just 30 yards from the main square (Plaza Mayor) and situated in the centre of a very authentic tapas bar area. Our group loved it!. They could take the evening air before dinner and walk off the meal after dinner! (We dined in the Hotel dining room, and ate very well!)
Roberto, the English speaking manager, could not have been more helpful. Some of the rooms are a little on the small side but the bathrooms are modern and well fitted. The city centre position more than made up for this.
We stayed for 4 nights, and because we were a sizeable group, Roberto made special arrangements for us to have dinner at an “English” hour, 8.00pm!
All of the main chain hotels in Valladolid are well out of the city and would have involved a bus ride in or a long walk. This was the deciding factor for us choosing the Zenit Imperial!
The group visit involved a lot of planning, and once again, Roberto was pleased to give me advice.
Day visits to the east of Valladolid, in our Spanish coach, were to Aranda del Duero, Penafiel and its amazing castle, the San Domingo de Silos monastery, the forgotten Roman town of Clunia and Penaranda. Most people from Britain will never have heard of these places let alone have visited them!
To the west and south, we had day visits to Salamanca, Segovia, Tordesillas and Toro.
To the north, we had a special day in Burgos and the new Museum of Human Evolution is a must see! Also of course, the wonderful Cathedral.
Some of the wineries in the area are new, very imposing and spectacular. Bodegas Legaris (see separate review under Penafiel) and Faustino’s Bodegas Portia were the ones we chose to visit in Ribera del Duero. In the Toro D.O. we were well received at Estancia Piedra, just to the south of Toro itself.
Ribera wine is excellent and, I think, will shortly match Rioja - some will say it already does! Rueda whites are from the Verdejo grape and equally as exciting!
But remember Valladolid, because this city is a hidden treasure, and you can easily walk it from this very central hotel. The Trip Advisor “Things to do” section gave me lots of help in deciding what to do and where to go!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Yes, The rain in Spain does fall sometimes on the plain! (at least - in March)
But we had the ideal position in Valladolid to get out and see the city! (with the Hotel's borrowed umbrella!). You see, the Imperial is so central! Step outside and you are in TAPAS land and Roberto kindly gave us a tapas map and his recommendations. The tostadas de gambas were the ultimate! Or, step outside and you are in the middle of a very impressive Plaza Mayor.
But we were here to recce the area and the Hotel for a group wine trip in June, so we also had to taste the Imperial restaurant food. And that went down very well too! A special menu @ 18 euros was on offer during the week before Easter - excellent value. The rooms are not big but there is everything you need, And their rates are very competitive! You will feel "gracious" as you walk up the curved marble staircase, well, it was formerly a palace, we were told! The house wine, served with the meal, was of a very acceptable standard, both the Toro red and the Rueda white.
The staff were all very accommodatng, and Roberto speaks excellent English and is so helpful to his clients! You can relax and enjoy the Imperial!

Room Tip: No tips here - you have to accept that you are right in the centre of a large city, and at weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Not quite sure how it got four stars, but it's conveniently located with good restaurants on the doorstep. The décor is reminiscent of a retirement home and it did smell a bit like grannies! The shower wasn't great, a bit awkwardly positioned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel is situated 25 meters from the main square and there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance, Could not be better situated for the sights and nightlife of Valladolid yet its not noisy at all ! Rooms are cleaned daily and are reasonable size and comfortable. Only ate breakfast once in the hotel and it was standard continental fare but adequate enough. The Manager is the only person who speaks English but is more than helpful with his maps and recommendations. All in all great value for money and would happily stay again if visiting Valladolid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Recoletos Hotel
Melia Recoletos Hotel
#2 of 39 in Valladolid
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Hotel Boutique Gareus
#1 of 39 in Valladolid
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Valladolid Balago
NH Valladolid Balago
#4 of 39 in Valladolid
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Atrio 4
Hotel Boutique Atrio 4
#6 of 39 in Valladolid
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silken Juan de Austria
Silken Juan de Austria
#5 of 39 in Valladolid
484 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Valladolid
Ibis Valladolid
#13 of 39 in Valladolid
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zenit Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenit Imperial

Address: Calle Peso 4, 47001 Valladolid, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Valladolid
Price Range: $69 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zenit Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zenit Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenit Imperial Hotel
Zenit Imperial Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing