We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Hotel but is located in a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olid Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Beit She'an, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“OK Hotel but is located in a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I arrived at the Hotel directly from the Airport (about a 10 minute drive by Taxi).
The Hotel is right in the middle of the Town, and is very convenient for anyone wanting to walk and see the historic sites in the area (and there are lots of them).
The person at the counter in reception spoke passable English and I had the keycard to my room within a couple of minutes of arriving.
The room was small to medium sized. There was a small-ish bathroom with marble flooring, a toilet, bidet and bath/shower. The “freebies” included a small shampoo bottle, a shower gel and a bar of soap. There was also a shaver and toothbrush. Towels were plentiful and of good quality. In the meter on meter corridor between the bathroom and main room, there was a trouser press on the wall.
In the main room there were 2 average sized single beds pushed together, a long desk with a 32” flat screen LCD TV on it and another meter of table space. The TV only had Spanish stuff on it, with NO English language channels. Under the TV was a fully stocked minibar. The weather was such that I did not touch the thermostat for either heating or cooling so I do not know how well the A\C works.
There was free Wifi, but it was lousy, with slow internet and lots of disconnects. I did not have a cable to see if the plug in internet service was any better.
The wardrobe was good sized, had plenty of hangers in and there was a small digital safe for valuables.
The Windows were pretty new and although the road was directly below me (I was on the 4th floor), I did not hear much road noise. The Curtains were quite new and there were good quality nets behind them.
The bed/pillows were average (comfort). Room noise at night (i.e. from the road/other rooms in the hotel) was average.
The Carpet looked a little dated and there were a couple of cracks on the wall
I went into breakfast on the first morning. I only had Black coffee and an apple….but there was plenty to eat for those that wanted to.
Price was pretty cheap, but this is a town pretty much in the middle of nowhere.

¬Summary
A slightly dated, good 3 star/poor 4 star Hotel in a convenient position in the middle of Valladolid. Not bad, but not fantastic. I would possibly stay there again if in Valladolid, or maybe go for something that has received a better review.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJREisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Manager at Olid Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for you review!
Hotel Olid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    144
    119
    20
    8
See reviews for
52
124
7
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for four nights as part of wine tour organized from England. The hotel is in a good central location both for the wine areas around Valladolid and the Plaza Major with all its bars and restaurants. I had no choice in whether I stayed here or not as it was the accommodation allocated to the wine tour and I read trip advisor carefully before I went so it was with some trepidation that I arrived looking for bed bugs, lumpy pillows, falling ceilings, noisy neighbours, etc. There were no bedbugs, one of the pillows was lumpy but they happily changed it, all the walls and ceilings in my room remained intact, the neighbours in the street were exceptionally noisy (until 4:30 am) but we were given an internal room instead (others in our party were not so lucky as they did not have enough rooms to change all of us) so all in all it was not nearly as bad as I was expecting.

It wan't four star luxury but it was perfectly adequate for our needs. It was clean, the rooms were a reasonable size, the breakfast by Spanish standards wasn't bad at all and the staff tried to resolve issues where they could.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room that overlooks the adjoining street - go for an internal room so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggerlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a wine group for four nights. While appreciating this is not a tourist region (although there was a business convention staying at the hotel during our stay, plus the Real Madrid 2nd team for a match), the hotel was lacking in several respects, considering it proclaims 4 star status.

First the good things. Central location, clean, comfortable room and bathroom, breakfasts fine.

However, there were no bathrobes in the bathroom, toiletries were limited to 2 small containers of shower gel, there was only one pillow per person and the information file was in Spanish and French only.

Far worse, hotel bars are meant to be convivial places, particularly for enjoying a drink with friends before and after an evening out. The barman was surly and unwelcoming, so we only went there once and took our considerable custom to the very friendly little tapas bar over the road.

On our last night we dined at the hotel. The restaurant staff were curt and seemed keen on getting service over and done with as soon as possible. The fish soup starter was OK, but the main course was inedible: a leathery escalope (no idea what the meat was) and dried up pasta. Dessert was the same apple flan I'd had for breakfast that morning.

I hate complaining, but this is not a 4 star hotel and customer service was poor. A great shame, as otherwise we all enjoyed our stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAAWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valladolid hotels

london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights as part of a tour. The room was clean and comfortable, if lacking in extras like coat hooks, drawer space and spare pillow. Bathroom clean with lots of hot water, but minimal toiletries . The breakfast was average to good.
Front desk staff were helpful, but after one trip to the bar, I never went again, due to high prices and the unhelpful and unfriendly attitude of the barman. There is a good tapas bar opposite, friendly and cheap.
The one group dinner we had was possibly the worst I have ever [not] eaten. Unidentifiable fried meat and dried up pasta. Dessert was left over apple tart from breakfast.
Good location, shame about the rest.

Room Tip: not facing the main street if you stay on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florence45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Beware of Danger!
A big metal piece fell off the ceiling in room 416 on Sep 15, 2012 occupied by one member of my family. No one was hurted but the risk was obvious. Had it fallen on anybody the consequences would have been quite serious. Neither the Management nor the Company did provide any satisfaction either verbal or else let alone gave any assurance on this type of accident not happening again in the premises. Can provide pictures and letters upon request.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alfriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a very standard hotel, I used it for just one night and the price quality was ok. Close to the city centre (5 minutes walking) quite old but clean and ok for the price (65 Euros a double including a decent but not outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikesub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Personally, my experience at this hotel was ok...although not all of my travelling companions would agree. The things I liked about the hotel: it was in a good location, the front desk staff and bartender was friendly, the room was spacious and the breakfast was good. WiFi was free at the hotel, although I did not use it, so I can't comment on the connection. Now to the not-so-good experience of one of my colleagues: I hate to say this, but she found bed bugs in her room. She reported it and the hotel immediately switched her to another room and said they would take care of the situation. There were about 10 of us traveling on business and the rest of us inspected our rooms and they were fine. I'm hoping the bed bugs were just a fluke thing found in that one room! This obviously tainted the experience a little, but otherwise I don't have anything negative to say about my stay...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Atrio 4
Hotel Boutique Atrio 4
#11 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Hotel Boutique Gareus
#1 of 39 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
ATH Enara Boutique Hotel
ATH Enara Boutique Hotel
#10 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Ciudad de Valladolid
NH Ciudad de Valladolid
#7 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit Imperial
Hotel Zenit Imperial
#15 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Recoletos Hotel
Melia Recoletos Hotel
#2 of 39 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olid Hotel

Property: Olid Hotel
Address: Plaza San Miguel 10, 47003 Valladolid, Spain (Formerly Melia Olid Hotel)
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Olid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the heart of Valladolid • Located in the tourist center, Monumental and Commercial Valladolid with excellent connections to anywhere in the city • A few minutes from the main tourist, monumental buildings and museums of Valladolid as well as the Congress Centre of the University • Splendid international breakfast buffet • Private parking (fee), taxi stand at the door and bus stops just minutes • Business hotel with 7 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for 300 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Valladolid
Sol Melia Olid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing