We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marques de la Ensenada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marques de la Ensenada
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
SW London UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked for an overnight stop coming from Santander. Two hours drive from the port and located in an easily found location in the town, we were a bit puzzled about how to park the car and how to get through the sliding door to reception. However, after getting the door to respond, we were welcomed in the most friendly way, our car was valet parked and we were shown to our beautiful room. The whole hotel is heavy with paintings and soft furnishings which is a little formal for us but the overall impression is one of opulence. The first floor restaurant was not open on the night we stayed so we had a delicious light mean in the small cafe on the ground floor. My wife felt that the shower was one of the best she had ever used, and the accommodation was both quiet and comfortable. Next morning, after a bit of a "sleep in", we had the wonderful breakfast mentioned by others, and then went on our way. Overall, it was a splendid experience and were we planing to stay in Valladolid. it would have been a perfect base from which to explore the city and the region.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the river so it was very quiet. The rooms facing the main road might be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loweprojects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    65
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
154
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here overnight during a three week driving tour around Spain. The hotel is beautiful and is a restored 19th century flour mill built over the Canal de Castilla. The building has been lavishly decorated and features portraits of well known people from the 18th century. The rooms are almost like guest rooms in a stately manor. Every detail has been tastefully reproduced and the result is a delightful luxury hotel. Breakfast was served a la carte with a generous array of delicious courses.

We were feeling very positive about our stay and then it "all went pear shaped". I had booked a non-refundable rate (on the hotel's own website) some months prior to our trip. I had requested parking and 12 euros had been added to our bill but when we arrived we found a park near the hotel on the street. The very pleasant young man on the desk told us that our payment had not yet been charged and if we preferred not to use the hotel's parking he would remove the charge.

When we checked out the Reception Manager refused to remove the parking charge. We speak no Spanish and her English was limited. She told us it was impossible to remove the 12 euro charge because we had a non-refundable rate. I explained that we did not consider the parking part of this rate and in any case the hotel had already offered to remove the charge. We stood at the desk of a five star hotel and argued with her for at least half an hour over 12 euros. To us it was a breach of faith to withdraw an offer that had been made the previous day on behalf of the hotel. If we had known we would be charged we would have taken advantage of the valet parking.

In the end we gave up and left. That evening I received an email from the reception manager apologising and saying the hotel had refunded the parking charge. Although it gave us some satisfaction this apology could not repair the damage made by an inexperienced, inflexible hotel staff member who needs to learn how to treat guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although the hotel is very nice, with individual decorated rooms and easy located just outside the city center, it lacks to my opinion of several services to rate this a 5 stars hotel.

We have to take the luggage trolley our self to carry our luggage to the room :(

Overall good price for value and for sure a recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Sep 25 & 26. From the moment we were met by Mercedes and Ines at the front desk, we felt the warmest and friendliest welcome you can ever receive at a hotel. Then, the recently converted flour factory to this lovely facility, gave us surprise after surprise, the rooms were very comfortable and well-equipped, breakfast service was great, and everyone was very helpful and kind.
Without being in the middle of all the downtown noise, you are within walking distance of the main points of interest. our trip was 3 weeks long, stayed at 8 different hotels, my group unanimously described this as the best experience of all of them, and we did not have any bad ones!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJC0598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director of Sales at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all, thanking you for your wonderful review. It is allways a pleasure knowing that our guests are satisfied with treatment received in our hotel.

We invite you to visit us again during your next trip to Valladolid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September and could not have been happier. The hotel is extremely clean and has wonderful amenities. Shower had the power of Niagara falls, (while a shower at Avenida Palace in Barcelona ran like something from the 1800s). Staff was very kind and helpful. Amazing ala carte breakfast at very reasonable prices. The room itself was only 80euro a night. A steal. Free parking around the corner. Short walk to all the sites. Quiet as the wilderness due to thick windows. I would return in a heartbeat. Valladolid is a beautiful and friendly city as well. Perfect for evening strolls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very greatful for such a wonderful comment.

It is a pleasure knowing you enjoy the stay at your stay at our hotel and we hope you decide to join us again during your next visit to Valladolid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and found extraordinary food & great service.
The rooms are nice, lately renovated with a beautiful ambience.
The prices are very fair.
We will stay again if we are around!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just finished our road trip around northern Spain staying at 5 hotels. All the hotels were good in their own way but Hotel Marques de la Ensenada was special.

The location is good, on the river with the city just on the other side. Access by car is therefore very easy and the reception staff will then park your car. The river has its own beach and promenade and so it doesn't seem to take long to get into the centre.

The staff were very helpful, the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was remarkable, so different from the usual buffet: fresh food served at the table.

Valladolid was the surprise of our tour. Lovely place to be and we found an amazing Tapas bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhodH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear RhodH,

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in the city.

We hope we see you again during your next visit to Valladolid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Hotel Boutique Gareus
#1 of 40 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Valladolid Balago
NH Valladolid Balago
#4 of 40 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Ana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
#8 of 40 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Recoletos Hotel
Melia Recoletos Hotel
#2 of 40 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Enara Boutique Hotel
Enara Boutique Hotel
#9 of 40 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de la Ensenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de la Ensenada

Property: Hotel Marques de la Ensenada
Address: Avda. de Gijon 1, 47009 Valladolid, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de la Ensenada 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Marques de la Ensenada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing