We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quality 5 Star Hotel with 5 Star Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marques de la Ensenada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marques de la Ensenada to your Saves list
Hotel Marques de la Ensenada
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de Gijon 1, 47009 Valladolid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Quality 5 Star Hotel with 5 Star Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here on the 24th September 2012 and stayed in Room 112. This Hotel is what I would describe as a Boutique style, with each bedroom being individual and unique.
On arrival we parked in the small bay outside the hotel which is conveniently situated. The Staff on reception were highly efficient and great ambassadors for this truly wonderful Hotel. The Car is parked for you after you have been taken to your room and is delivered back when required. All you need to do is give the staff on Reception 15 minutes notice of when you need your vehicle.
This Hotel is just a great example of what 5 star is all about. The bedroom was just fantastic, great decoration and a magnificiently comfortable bed. There is Wifi complimentary throughout the hotel which is very quick and great for business use.
We had breakfast the following morning in their dining room which was a very exclusive and pleasant experience. The service was impeccable and quality of food was to the highest standard. Marvellous. When stopping in Valladolid, this has got to be one of the best locations.
We cannot imagine anyone being dissapointed if they choose this Hotel.
An experience to savour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are very pleased that your stay was so good.
Hope to see you again with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having been fascinated by Laurie Lee's experiences of Valladolid in "As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning" "a shut box, full of pious dust", I wasn't prepared to find such an beautiful, vibrant, exuberant city. Our Hotel was simply gorgeous - set on the other side of the River Pisuerga, and overlooking the weir and willow banks. Our room was a symphony in monochrome, comfortable and most attractive. The restaurant menu looked inviting, but the Manager had warned us that there was a large wedding party and that service might be slower than usual, so we took his advice and dined out in a great place - Trigo. But if their breakfast is anything to go by, we really missed a treat. The Breakfast menu even offers "Sportsman's" or "Hangover" options (muesli or burgers!). Delicious and served in a beautiful grey-and-cream restful room. A real pleasure. We would love to re-visit and it would make a first-class long weekend trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your time in writing the opinion.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel. On your next visit I hope you can use our restaurant.
Hoping seeing them again again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the Marques de la Enseneda on a recent trip around Castille y Leon. We booked the amazing Experiencia Gastronomica deal on their website and having read the reviews on here, decided to stay one extra night as well. From the time of our arrival to the minute we left, the service was just exceptional. The rooms are stunning, the food is wonderful and it is just a 10-15 minute stroll into the centre of Valladolid; a fabulous city that I cannot recommend highly enough. We definitely plan on returning at the next possible opportunity. Just lovely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. I booked it as it was on route on a recent road trip for one overnight stay. The hotel is stunning and the decor gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. The location is easily accessible if you are coming by car, yet it is an easy walk into the centre of Valladolid. The hotel does provide private parking for a charge, I believe you just pull up outside and they park your car for you. We missed the hotel and ended up just parking at the rear of the hotel which was free. I mentioned to the reception and they revised my booking so that I was not charged for the parking that I had pre-booked. I noticed that one of their security cameras covers the road at the rear of the hotel anyway, so the on road parking felt secure. I would definitely recommend this hotel, it is simply beautiful. I hope to return one day and will be trying out the restaurant for dinner next time.

Room Tip: We did book a superior room, which was extremely spacious. The normal rooms looked lovely too though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rula01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

we stayed here en route from Porto to Bilbao and the hotel turned out to be superb. It is a converted flour mill on the river very close to the centre of town. The conversion, done 2 years ago is very tasteful. The rooms are really excellent and everything is done to a very high standard. Breakfast was included and was 'a la carte'. This took rather a long time but was worth the time it took. The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it has no on site parking. I was accompanied to a nearby underground parking area that was very secure but not very convenient. The price for the night including breakfast was incredibly reasonable for this level of quality. We strongly recommend a stay here. It has a spa but we didnt stay long enough to try it.

Room Tip: I dont think you would be disappointed in any room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Marques de la Ensendada exceeded expectations. If you've looked into the property you see that its a recent renovation aimed at a five star place in the world. The photos gave rise to some doubts in my mind, but it was clear enough that there was no real competition in the city. I shouldn't have doubted. The up-dated eighteenth century decoration works well. The building is an old mill, and the old mill race is still there in a little park.

If you are driving, this place is very convenient. Warning--if you are coming in from the autovia to the west, both the Michelin guide and my computer map have the hotel in the wrong place, on the north side of the Avenida Gijon. Its on the south side, right at the corner at the river. There's a pull off from the avenue. The staff will take your car to their garage and bring it back when you want it or check out. Nice and simple.

Well done up rooms. Good staff. And a really, really great breakfast. No buffet. Your order is taken. You come out with everything you wanted to eat and around cooked to order centerpiece.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillermoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a wonderful small hotel within walking distance of downtown Valladolid.. The rooms are beautifully furnished, well equipped and the beds very comfortable. Service is friendly and efficient. The hotel is modern and everything is new, though the decor is French chateau style. The gym is more than adequate. Breakfast choice is vast and served to your liking and pure five star.. The quality is second to none.. I will stay here again..
For those who drive I was happy to leave the car on the street as it is quiet and safe. Secure parking is available on request.

Room Tip: All rooms are new.. All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

First of all, telling you that we are very thankful for the nice review you have made about your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will be happy to host you during your next visit to Valladolid.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Hotel Boutique Gareus
#1 of 39 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Ana by Marriott
1.5 mi away
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
#13 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Recoletos Hotel
Melia Recoletos Hotel
#6 of 39 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Coloquio
Hotel El Coloquio
#5 of 39 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Washington Parquesol Suites And Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de la Ensenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de la Ensenada

Address: Avda. de Gijon 1, 47009 Valladolid, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de la Ensenada 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marques de la Ensenada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing