We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meeting the Maestro”

Restaurante Jose Maria
Ranked #7 of 237 Restaurants in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $64
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Meeting the Maestro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It's not often you chose a restaurant in the middle of main tourist area of any city and come out with a huge smile on your face but today that's exactly what happened today. We were recommended by the lady behind the counter at the Faber-Castell art store. We had asked her to recommend the best most authentic restaurant in the city. "Jose Maria" she said without hesitation. We were greeted by a very noisy bar, full of locals and tourists alike, everyone seemed to be enjoying the ambience and lunchtime simultaneously. We walked to the main salon and were disappointed not to be seated in the first salon but were assured by the maitre'd that the food would win us over. The second salon was not as noisy but decorated just as nice and the service - food - wine was second to none. The highlight was meeting Jose Maria himself who walked over to our table to make sure we were enjoying our Cochinillo. PERFECT.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,232
    1,166
    292
    99
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX Hill Country
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some tourists, some locals, glad to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived early, after passing another restaurant down the hill that had accusations of inappropriate (groping) of female customers. Without regard to those accusations, we enjoyed the wine/beer/tapas in advance of the 8 PM seating, at Jose Maria.

We were seated promptly at 8 PM while many locals chose to remain in the bar. Our whole experience was wonderful, even invited to share wine with some Brits at the next table. We had enjoyed the piglet at Botin's in Madrid, so passed here.

We'll go back, and recommend it to you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HillCountryTxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spring Menu 2013 Fantastic, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The restaurant is accessible through their bar (rather large for Spain), and has settings for approximately 10 tables.

We began with the sopa de castellana for starters.

We had the Merluza (Hake) and squid fried in ink dish, as well as the pigeon dish from the special Spring menu. These are marked as "innovative" but don't be put off! They were absolutely delicious!

For desert, we had the ravioli stuffed with chocolate combined with ice cream.

The waiters were attentive without being intrusive, and the atmosphere was cheery without being overly bright.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owl630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Segovia this is the place to eat the suckling pig. Full of Spanish, that tells you it's a good place to eat. Good service and good atmosphere. A bit expensive but if you're only there a few days treat yourself to this place. Excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Touristic attraction and authentic restaurant all in one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This local place advertises on city maps, so you might think you get ripped off and should stay away, but please do allow yourself to be dragged to Jose Maria's. Locals enjoy tapas y cervezas at the bar. The restaurant offers a good choice for carnivores, pescavores and herbivores. The menu is traditonal with a fresh twist, which makes it a great choice for anyone visiting. We found that also many locals got in the restaurant for a meal. Portions are quite big, so come with an empty stomach if you're willing to have a 3 course meal and finish all of it. Typically, most tables order the little piglets that come served as an entire animal, smashed and cut with a plate. It's not as horrible as it sounds (even though for me as a vegetarian it's quite hard to watch), because it's honestly showing where the food's coming from, and all of the meat is eaten. In Spain, especially outside the big cities, you can be sure the animal has had a short, but nice life in the meadows, as opposed to animals whose meat is used for dishes in Dutch restaurants. Staff is a bit on the slick side but very warm & welcoming, very open to the shock & awe the piglets are causing. So, in short, Jose Maria is exploiting the regional kitchen style for the masses, but this has not let quality or hospitality down at all. Definitely recommendable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKipperella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Jose Maria also viewed

Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 
Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 

Been to Restaurante Jose Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing