We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candido is a beautiful hotel away from the chaos of the hill”
Review of Hotel Candido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Candido
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Candido is a beautiful hotel away from the chaos of the hill”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I used Tripadvisor in putting together two great trips to Europe. The reviews were incredibly helpful, and I feel it’s only right to share our experience, so others can use it as well in planning their trip to Spain.

Candido is a beautiful hotel away from the chaos of the hill. The hotel feels French, I felt like I was back in Paris. It is a huge property. The room was really nice and spacious, and it was a relaxing quiet stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Some of the older guys in the bar/restaurant were just ok, but overall the staff was very nice.

One thing to be aware of, the wi-fi is really spotty. We had to call the front desk at least 5 times to reset the router, so we could get signal again. Many phones are using apps for texting & voice, so wi-fi is essential for keeping in touch with the outside world, and not paying international roaming fees.

Had a few good meals here. The food was excellent, as you would expect from a hotel that started in the restaurant business. Met the GM (son of the owner). He was a nice guy, and his wife & kids were there visiting him. I enjoyed our stay at Candido, and would definitely stay here again when traveling to Segovia. Thank you for taking good care of us :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesUnderMyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    261
    57
    19
    18
See reviews for
155
297
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you arrive by fast train from Madrid to start your visit to Segovia, you might think you have arrived in the middle of nowhere.Don't panic. A service bus will be waiting and will drop you off opposite Hotel Candido which is in the new part of the town.The hotel is modern with and old annexe which houses the second of its two excellent restaurants. The hotel is beautifully furnished with large public areas that are elegant and comfortable. The rooms are huge and ours had a view of Segovia and the surrounding plain.There is a lot of new building in the area but it is quiet (probably due to the recession)The mini-bar containing water,soft drinks and beer was free (I've never seen this before)The bathroom was marble with twin basins and enclosures behind glass doors for the shower,toilet and bidet.
The breakfast was beautiful with a huge choice of fruit,pastries,meats,cheeses etc all served in the impeccable clean dining room.We ate once in the restaurant and found the food of the highest quality.Service throughout the hotel was very professional.
The hotel is a ten minute bus ride from the old centre of Segovia. If you take a taxi back after a late meal in town it will cost less than 7euros. If you catch the slow train back to Madrid, as we did the station for this is a twenty minute down hill walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurofoodieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our planning was to be there for just 1 day, but after see the hotel, the rooms and the dinner we have, we decided to spend 1 more day in the city. This hotel is really very nice. Rooms are enormous. It is furnished at clasical enviroment, and everything is lovely around. Take a look at the different rooms they have downstairs. Everything is very new. People are very nice. Don't miss the restaurant! First night we got dinner here, and food was really fantastic. very well cooked as well as served. Very proffesional staff, and really high quality food. Desserts and wine were the perfect complement for a perfect dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniStar477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were there for the international Giant convention. Everything was decent at the hotel. It was quite interesting though. Every morning for breakfast the staff would always have the worst looks on their faces as if they just didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hotel Candido is a very nice property and we enjoyed our room and the facility. However, the wifi did not work during the two days we were there. They kept resetting the router but to no avail. I finally had to use the hotel's computer in order to check emails and they actually made me pay for it, even though they knew that the technical problems with theirs. No one at the front desk spoke English. Dinner at the restaurant was really dreadful - not what you would expect from a quality hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A wonderful hotel. Stayed here for 4 nights in August and it was an absolute treat.
Clean rooms with ridiculous amounts of space. Lovely high ceilings and nice mahogany furniture.
AC was great too…kept the room nice a cool. Bathroom was massive, with an enormous walk in shower (really powerful too!).

Matress was pretty hard (but I quite like hard matresses so I was a happy man). My girlfriend wasn't too keen on it.
The mini bar was refreshed everyday free of charge which was a welcome treat.
Free WI FI too which worked intermittently.
Swimming pool was lovely with enough sun loungers to go around. Didn’t use the gym but had a quick peek and it seemed well equipped with plenty of machines.

Breakfast was very Spanish…lots of cold meats/cheeses, fruits and breads. Large selection of pastries and cakes too…mmmmm. They did have bacon, sausages and scrambled egg…but these items didn’t look too appetising.
The hotel menu was a slighty over priced. Was a bit shocked handing over 6€ for a cheese and ham toasted sandwich, but I guess food in most hotels are notoriously pricey.

The staff were all friendly, and the bar was well equipped. Nice ice cold beer on draft too…mmmm.

Segovia itself is about a 30 minute stroll into the center…but this stroll gets pretty interesting 10 minutes into it, as you join the beginnings of the mighty Acqeducto and follow its path into town. Truly an impressive sight, and a genius piece of Roman structural engineering.
If you're lazy, a taxi into town shouldn't cost anymore than 5€.

Overall though, a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzeswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Candido and had the most lovely time. The rooms are huge, a walk in shower, 2 sinks and a bath. The bed is a bit hard. The breakfast was nice, lots of choice.We did not have a problem with wi-fi. The air-con was quiet and very welcome.Free mini bar was great, water,beer and soft drinks. We walked twice into Segovia, once at night which is very beautiful and once in the daytime. We got the bus back for 90 cents or if you prefer a taxi this cost us about 5 euros. There was plenty of room around the pool. Some comments are negative but we have nothing but praise, the staff are friendly and helpful despite our poor Spanish! We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room facing the car park and had a small patio on which to relax. There was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1beaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Segovia hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
#11 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.7 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
#13 of 25 in Segovia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Antonio el Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Candido

Property: Hotel Candido
Address: Avenida Gerardo Diego s/n, 40006 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
#6 Family Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Candido 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Candido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candido Hotel Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing