We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servicio, restaurante, todo muy bien”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Candido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Candido
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Servicio, restaurante, todo muy bien”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

You need a car to get into Old Town but this hotel was a really great surprise. Rooms are huge, no noise and from the hotel parking lot it appeared to be very full the weekend that we were there. We ate in the restaurant which was very good but a little to expensive (relación calidad/precio). The Spa services were correct, nothing WOW, very nice pool and friendly personnel and clean installations. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    257
    57
    19
    18
See reviews for
151
295
5
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were travelling to several cities in Spain for 10 days and found this hotel to have one of the biggest and best rooms. Spacious bathrooms, separate shower and bath tub. Free WIFI with reasonable speed even in the rooms. Had dinner and breakfast there, restaurant, like most of the hotel, was beautifully decorated (was told former Duke's residence). Breakfast spread was good, you can see good quality iberian ham being offered.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Eventhough the temperature was 30C the pool was closed and the only place to enjoy the sun was on the terrace.

The rooms are spacious and we had 2 comfortable chairs to sit. The bed was to my opinion extremely hard! Bathroom had a large walk-in shower and everything was clean.
Internet in the room is for free and fast.

What I found very strange and dissapointing, was that there was hardly and staff that could/ was willing to speak any English; ridiculous!! Except for the lady at the Spa, she really tried.
Breakfast is ok, enough choice and good nespresso coffee.

The location is very good; just a few minutes by car from the parkinglot at the city entre.

If you want a modern room; don't go here! Otherwise, this is a very good place to stay while exploring great Segovia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Concur with all the positives in previous reviews. We booked for one night and stayed for 3!
Only negative for us was the fact that the outdoor pool was closed despite the continuous sunshine.
Segovia offers the tourist lots of history/culture.
A visit to La Granja is a must and then a drive through La Granja and on up the mountains offers lots of walking and spectacular views from the top at 1900m.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing back have small terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel was extremely easy to find and there was ample parking, both free outside and under cover for a charge. Being a little way from the centre of town, the location might, for some people, have been a negative but with the extra space being out-of-town allows, there was room for a good-size outdoor pool which was heaven to come back to after a day's sightseeing in the fantastic city of Segovia. It was a very easy 1.9km drive to the acqueduct where there is a large underground carpark with reasonable charges.

The reception area of the hotel is impressive and we received a very warm and efficient welcome from the reception staff. English was readily spoken, although we do ourselves speak Spanish. The guest relations employee was a mine of information and each of the requests we made during our 3 day stay was met with a smile and fulfilled with the minimum of delay.

We were delighted with both the size, decor and comfort of our room - a huge double bed, flat screen TV, pillow menu and a bathroom, the size of which normally only comes with being part of a suite. There were double sinks, bath, walk-in shower with room for 4! and the toilet and bidet were discreetly tucked behind frosted doors. A very small disappointment in that there were no bathrobes or slippers provided. The free in-room WiFi was a real bonus. Unfortunately for English speaking guests, the TV channels area bit hit and miss. Neither BBC or Sky News were working during our stay. In fact, Fox channel was all that was available with its limited viewing appeal.

The restaurant staff were extremely pleasant and the restaurant ran like a very well oiled machine. The breakfast buffet choices were excellent and the tables were cleared like magic after each course. At other times of the day, there several places to enjoy something eat and the staff seemed very relaxed about what they would provide and where you could sit to eat - in the restaurant, in the bar, outside on the terrace. It seemed that the guest reigned supreme with no strict regulations as to what dishes each restaurant would provide. You could eat as little or as much as you liked, where you liked.

Apart from the missing bathrobes and the somewhat quirky deposit scheme for the pool towels, we have nothing negative to say about the Candido and can recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone wanting a welcoming and comfortable place to stay when visiting Segovia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

If you like to feel like a ruler of old Europe this is the place to go!

Big room, incredible bed and good food are to be expected here.

Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co fred
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The bedrooms are lovely, very large and well furnished, and all the public spaces extemely spacious and stylishish. Breakfast was very good, and they had gluten free bread, cakes, biscuits and waitress service very good.

The pool was nice, though they have a rather unnecessary token system with deposist for swimming towles. Tried to play paddle tennis and found the staff most unhelpul. Was sent on a wild goose chase to find `the man` with the racquets and the keys etc which took about 20 minuets of our booked court time. I kept coming back to reception but they refused to show me where this man was supposed to be. And on the subject of the receptioin, they staff there let the hotel down very badly and we too were told that the porter wasn`t on duty on the day we arrived and since we`d just arrived from overnight train we didn`t enjoy struggling with our suitcases.

That said, I would reccomend the hotel if you have a car and want a pool. The drive into town is about 10 -15 minutes and it`s easy to park in the town which is one of the most interesting and incredible in Spain.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredfredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Segovia hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
#11 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
#12 of 25 in Segovia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Antonio el Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Candido

Property: Hotel Candido
Address: Avenida Gerardo Diego s/n, 40006 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
#6 Family Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Candido 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Candido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candido Hotel Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing