We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”
Review of Parador de Segovia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Segovia
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a modern parador just outside the medieval city of Segovia, with stupendous views from every room of the town and aqueduct. Spotlessly clean, breakfast excellent,lovely pool, children of all ages well tolerated. It was ideal for us( 3 kids aged 6to 10 years). The only downside was that staff had minimal english and as we had minimal Spanish, check in and out was not perfectly smooth.
You would need your own transport. Lovely and quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellenorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    389
    137
    30
    19
See reviews for
279
496
16
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent one night in this Hotel. The room is spacious and clean. the outdoor swimming pool has a very nice view of the city. They gave us free towels for the pool. There are sunbeds on a grass around the pool. Very relaxing afternoon.
The breakfast is qualite good, qulity and variety. There is also a very nice view from the restaurant romm (breakfast room).
the car parking is free.

There is a indoor swimming pool I guess it works in winter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amapola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
291 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Like most paradors you get spoiled wirh a stunning view. Large rooms and ok facilities, but could do with a make over. Good price on the web, not their own site.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WebbDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed one night at end of June and really enjoyed it. Helpful staff, adequate room which was clean and pleasant and really great breakfast. Short drive to main town which is beautiful and enjoyed suckling pig at a restaurant just by the aquaduct.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

With views of the city from every bedroom, the Parador de Segovia is pefectly situated for a short break. Around 10 minutes' drive from the city itself, the Parador offers that rare combination of tranquility and convenience.
The bedrooms are spotless, fairly large and simply furnished with a small balcony offering spectacular views over the cathedral and also the gardens of the Parador.
The public areas are open with huge windows offering similar views and at the restaurant you can dine outside if you wish.
The staff were helpful and made me feel very at home. It should be noted that on the whole only very basic English was spoken (but better than my Spanish) so if you are a traveller who prefers not to have recourse to the phrase book, you may find this frustrating.
Breakfast was fantastic (and served until 11am!) with a variety of high quality products on offer. I particularly liked the way the hot options were set out, like little tapas portions! I stayed half board and was slightly disappointed by the evening meal. The hotel prides itself on its food, particularly the delicacies of the area such as roast suckling pig, but I found everything rather salty (and I do like my food to be well seasoned) and lacking in variety for half board. However, the views, ambience and service almost made up for this.
The garden is a little smaller than it looks in the photos, but perfectly adequate with a nice big pool. Only grip here is that swarms of wasps seemed to be attracted to the pool itself. The pool attendant made strenuous efforts to keep the wasp population down and met with some success. No one was stung while I was there(!) so as long as you don't have a total phobia about wasps I guess it is OK.
I rented a car from Madrid to get to Segovia, but in retrospect for such a short break it might have been better to take the train. Parking in the city is limited to 2 hours. There is an underground car park on the edge of the city, but it was probably just as cost effective to take a taxi there and back from the hotel.
The city itself is easily explored on foot providing plenty of interest for a short visit. I went to Parador de Segovia hoping for a relaxing and peaceful break after a particularly stressful year. I was not disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonCes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Paradors are usually very comfortable and provide little luxuries as well as some disappointments, and Parador de Segovia is no exception. Views across to Segovia are just breath taking and the hotel complex is interesting. A bit of wear and tear is evident, but all is clean and functioning. What was disappointing was the limited hours of the swimming pool and that summer season does not start until 15 June when the outdoor pool opens - but you can still use sun loungers in the gardens marvelling over the view of Segovia. Generally very pleased with the hotel and restaurant.

However, it feels that this Parador is not prepared for welcoming tourists. Reception had a very bad day (month/year?) and was not very helpful in assisting about sightseeing. As the Parador is actually in La Lastrilla and parking in Segovia is a nightmare it would be advisable to use public transport - buses 2 and 4 go from the bottom of the hill 20 minutes walk away - but receptionist did not have any knowledge of these options. There is also a "metropolitan" bus service from La Lastrilla 10 minutes walk away but never managed to find out when and where it departed from. Taxi from the viaduct is approximately 5 Euros, which compares favourably to the parking fees. All this explained by the reception would have made the overall stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorshamTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Unlike most of the Paradores at which we stayed in Northern Spain, this did not start out its life as a convent, palace or other historic building. The building was newly constructed in what felt like 1970s modernity, now seemingly dated compared to other modern architecutre and disappointing compared to the historic sites. The rooms all had decent, but distant view, of the town of Segovia, but the rooms, restaurant, welcome and rooms were all quiete ordinary. Nothing wrong with them, just disappointing by comparison to the service, food and facilities at other hotels in the Parador system. Add to this the need to drive or take a taxi to nearly everything in which a visitor would be interested and we'd opt next ime for one of the historic hotels in town.

Room Tip: Accepted our 5 night parador pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jiminsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Segovia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
1.7 mi away
Hotel Candido
Hotel Candido
#7 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Antonio el Real
1.0 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Segovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Segovia

Property: Parador de Segovia
Address: Carretera Valladolid s/n, 40003 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
#8 Family Hotel in Segovia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Segovia 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, comfortable and extraordinary, the Parador de Segovia is located in one of Spain's most historic cities, which has been declared a World Heritage Site. The panoramic views from the hotel's guest rooms, dining room and outdoor swimming pool are a wonderful treat. At the Parador you will be able to take advantage of the gym, heated swimming pool and seasonal swimming pool, tennis court and sauna. In addition, there is a convention center with several function rooms equipped for meetings and conferences. The Parador is also an ideal location for those who want to discover the many natural areas found in this Castile-Leon province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Segovia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Segovia Hotel Segovia
Parador De Hotel Segovia
Segovia Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing