We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospedaje Bar El Gato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Bar El Gato
Ranked #8 of 16 Segovia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

For a one-star, economical hotel, Hospedaje El Gato is a surprise. It is in a really terrific location, within easy walking distance of the city center, and it is incredibly, clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. Be warned that the space here--both in the lobby/stair area and in the rooms--is extremely tight, so much so that a very tall or claustrophobic person might be uncomfortable. Also, I would not recommend this hotel if you are driving, as the parking situation is difficult. That said, you can't ask for much better for the price! I particularly liked the view out of our street side window...it was fun to watch all of the storks and swallows swoop around in the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sangsterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I am having a hard time writing this review, because there were things that were wonderful about this place and things that were awful. First of all, the air conditioner worked very well, which is necessary in Segovia in the summer. The room was VERY clean, and tidy.

However, the bar next door was closed all day and night when we arrived, even though they advertised it as being open late; the rooms were small, and the bathroom was even smaller, with the toilet and shower located at a very odd angle; the parking was literally a fiasco and although they said they spoke English, the hosts spoke not a word of English.

Let me give you some advice: if you need parking, go to a different hotel. They very seriously DID NOT want us to park in their parking, even though we had reserved a spot. When we finally found the garage, which is about a block away, we couldn't get into it, and then when we finally did, the spot she assigned was so tiny that our car couldn't fit. In other words, a fiasco.

We were there on a Sunday night, which apparently was NOT the night to be there. Nothing is open and there is nothing to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u2fan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Segovia hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a lovely double room here, which had a balcony looking out onto the square (and the Storks nesting on top of the church opposite!) Room exceptionally clean, and AC and fridge were welcome in the heat.

Not too far from the main street, less than 10 mins but a bit of an uphill trek in the heat. Some noise from the bar, but not too bad.

Excellent price.

Slightly disappointed as we missed the last bus/train home to Madrid, and phoned to see if they had a room for another night, but my Spanish must have not been up to much as they put the phone down. They'd mentioned they'd been full the previous night, so couldn't bear to drag bags all the way back up in case they were full, so we stayed the second night in a really lovely hostal in the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place is incredibly difficult to find. Locals we asked said you can walk but it is very difficult to drive there. It took us 30 minutes and driving the wrong way up a street to get there.There is no lift and when you have to carry suitcases up to the third floor with a bad back and no help it is a challenge.The rooms are not soundproof, the Wi-fi only works intermittently, the TV is at ceiling level and impossible to watch. There is no room to put suitcases, the bathroom is tiny and the toilet difficult to access. The room we had had no table and chair. The reception desk is not manned - the owner is more interested in running the Bar. We booked parking but he told us to use the public parking and told us it was free on Saturdays. It wasn't - we got a 60Euro fine. He did not argue when we left after one night.It is easy walking access to the centre of town. The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJK54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a unique experience: a great little hotel situated over a totally buzzing Spanish bar. This has all the atmosphere - great tapas with your drinks, great bar food and, surprisingly, quiet rooms. I don't know how they do it but this ticked all our boxes after a long day on the road. The hotel is right beside the famous aqueduct and has parking right outside which is free overnight and only costs €4.0 for the whole morning. The only problem we had was in finding the place as the street names which are supposed to provide orientation are not overly clear.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure to park the evening you arrive you can pre-book with Bar El Gato or you can t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The guy who checked us in also ran the bar so he was very rushed doing so but, no big deal; he later gave me free ice. The double rooms are pretty small for 50E and have either two singles or one queen/double (smallish) and an extremely small shower in the equally small bathroom. So, we are clear that it's a small place but, it was very quiet with the sound-proof windows and hallway door and the beds were very comfortable. Considering you are right above a bar and we were there on a Fri and Sat night, I was pretty impressed and I'm a light sleeper.
The start of the aquaduct is right behind the hotel and continues on down to the main square (3 min walk) for the grand finale view. The bar does not open until around 8:30ish in the morning but is worth the wait for the great coffee. No breakfast but, plenty of spots to eat in the square. Parking is right across from the hotel and you have to pay for it but it's not much. Wierd hit or miss WIFI signal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTraveler187439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Plaza Acueducto
0.8 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
#13 of 25 in Segovia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corregidor
Hotel Corregidor
#17 of 25 in Segovia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real Segovia
Hotel Real Segovia
#3 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Bar El Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Bar El Gato

Property: Hospedaje Bar El Gato
Address: Plaza Salvador 10, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hospedaje Bar El Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing