We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Hotel Don Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Don Felipe
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Four of us stayed here for 2 nights holiday in April. The hotel was modern, clean and stylishly designed. Our rooms were lovely with wonderful views. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpful. We found Segovia a bit sad and run down although there was lots to see. We still can't get used to the restaurants opening so late in the evening. Perhaps if they opened earlier it would help the economy! We had poor weather on our visit and perhaps that influenced our feelings on the town. Top marks to the hotel though.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike504176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    255
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
460
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

What a terrific surprise. My wife and I spent one night at Hotel Don Felipe on a rainy mid-April afternoon.

Tip #1 - Don't trust your GPS in small, walled towns like Segovia! Our GPS tried to send us down pedestrian walkways and impossibly narrow alleys. As you ascend Calle Daoiz from the North, you'll reach a square where a number of cars are parked. You'll want to park there if possible and walk down to the hotel.

Tip #2 - when you reserve a room, reserve parking as well. It's well worth it, given how bad parking is in Segovia. We parked temporarily in the square, and hotel staff moved our car to their private garage under the hotel.

This is a brand new hotel. Our room was sparkling clean and well lit with stunning views of Segovia and the broad plains beyond. Public spaces were attractive and staff were responsive. Breakfast was included and consisted of a cold buffet, which was adequate.

Note that our room - a "Twin" room with maximum two people, had two twin beds pushed together. I was advised that only one room in the hotel offered a king-sized bed.

Segovia is small enough to explore on foot and we were able to get a good experience in our day there.

Room Tip: Reserve parking when you make your reservation. A "twin" room can be reserved for two peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradleyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

When looking for hotels in the centre of Segovia, you are not exactly spoiled for choice. After much deliberating, we opted for Don Felipe, choosing the Superior Room with a view of the Alcazar, as we were told these were the most quiet. Although the room is quite small for a Superior Room, it comes with a nice terrace and small, but well-appointed bathroom. The breakfast was not exactly overwhelming (and for some reason one cannot have a meal in Spain without having a TV blaring in the background), but certainly sufficient. So if you want a comfortable place to stay, within walking distance of Segovia's main attractions, this hotel is certainly well worth considering.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0Ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Based upon TripAdvisor reviews, we recently stayed at the Don Felipe. TripAdvisor did not disappoint, this was a great stay and the newest hotel in Segovia. We checked in early and not only scored parking in their secure garage but a room with a view of the fabulous alcazar from the decks. The hotel is detailed out to perfection and immaculate. It's in a perfect location, though a little scary to find (your drive on a walking street, because you're a hotel guest). The increment weather prevented us from using their beautiful garden, but it would have been ideal for a drink or picnic. Their breakfast was a good value. Highly recommend this new hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DelMartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, although only a 3 star it was an excellant find. The hotel is clean, modern and airy. We had a room which over-looked the Alcazar and the gardens which was very nice. The room was clean, bright and had a small complimentary mini-bar. The bathroom was of an adequate standard although the tolietries were a little drab.
The breakfast had a good choice although this was additional to the room rate.
Overall though this is a nice hotel in a good location in a very pretty and enchanting town!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshgirlNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

As another traveler has mentioned, parking (and unloading luggage) is a challenge in any old city. We were lucky to have space in the garage below the building.
The reception desk was completely helpful and friendly.
Our room was modern and comfortable with character and an incomparable view across the valley and over to the Alcazar - very romantic..
It was too chilly for us to make much use of the garden, but it looked out at the same view.
The breakfast was very pleasant and although the public interior spaces didn't encourage lounging, the rooms and garden were quite comfortable.
We wished we'd had more time to stay and we'd return here anytime.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, overlooking the garden and valley in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IthacaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

That's right. You can't really go wrong here. There are minor niggles - some of the wiring was a bit dodgy, not all the rooms had been cleaned (but still I got a very good one) and the garage is a very tight fit. However, the service is good and the location excellent. Nice big bathroom, comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Real_Sylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
0.2 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real Segovia
Hotel Real Segovia
#4 of 25 in Segovia
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#5 of 25 in Segovia
669 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Candido
Hotel Candido
#8 of 25 in Segovia
636 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parador de Segovia
Parador de Segovia
#3 of 25 in Segovia
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Felipe

Property: Hotel Don Felipe
Address: Calle Daoiz 7, 40003 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Don Felipe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in December, 2010, the Hotel Don Felipe possesses a strategic situation in full downtown of Segovia. Located in the former neighborhood of The Canonjías, zone of step forced to accede to the Alcázar, the hotel offers modern and comfortable facilities, as well as a delicate decoration, which they it turn into a real caprice for the senses. It will be the point of ideal item to enter the medieval magic of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Don Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing