We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large amount of food and good quality”
Review of Meson de Candido

Meson de Candido
Ranked #28 of 259 Restaurants in Segovia
Price range: $44 - $70
Cuisines: Spanish, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An old Spanish inn, which dates back to 1786. The building has been declared as one of city?S historic monuments. El Meson is located next to the Roman Aqueduct. Candido, from the fourth generation of the same family, preserves one of the most famous culinary heritages in Spain. In 2004, the Candido Mesonero Mayor de Castilla Foundation gave its first awards to the promotion of Castilla y Leon, the gastronomic innovation and the commitment and social work.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were at Meson de Candido on December, after having searched online the best place to eat suckling pig in Segovia, we decided on this restaurant.
Pleasantly surprised to see that it is a truly place where spending two hours were unforgettable.
To begin the treatment of staff was exquisite, to the very Candido (grandson, I think) passed by our table (and others) to greet us, having chopped the suckling pig with a plate in front of all the guests.
We ordered the typical menu, beans and suckling pig, which I recommend for people with real hungry. Don't take any appetizer before, because otherwise food won't be eaten, due to the large amount of food served.
All delicious and suckling amazing, something was unbeatable Ribera wine and dessert, luxury.
We are planning another trip to Meson de Candido, but it catches us a little far from San Francisco,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Angelina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Angelina,

Thanks so much for look for us online ;-), and for follow the recommendations of other customers. For us it is pretty important that you follow the best opinions, but it is even more important that finally you came to visit us and that you're experience was as grateful as you have described.

Don't forget to recommend us at California too (that we love, by the way).

We will be waiting for your next visit ;-) Cheers and greetings from Spain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 357 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went to Madrid for 7 days in December and went back to Segovia on Saturday for spend the day. In fact, we had eaten twice at this restaurant on a previous visit to Segovia, four years ago. And we will be there again next month for sure.
This is the typical restaurant that gets the attraction of those looking for a mix between history and good food. Their food is very well cooked and served in a rustic place with a very good atmosphere.
We heard tons of different languages inside, as several tourists go there to enjoy. In fact, all the waiters speak English at least.
We have ordered castellona soup and beans, which is their speciality. For mains, sparkling pig and lamb.
I had a portion of suckling pig, 28 days old, roasted till its skin is golden. We had a bottle of really good wine and fresh water. For dessert, a kind of local cake and cheese. And a free liquer we had to finish!
Finally, the cost was 92 €, which a really good balance between the price and the quality of the service and the food. This place is really great!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank tamarasuLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear TamarasuLi,

First of all, thanks so much for choose Mesón de Cándido for getting lunch during your visit to Segovia. It is a real pleasure for us to receive at our home people coming from all the countries around the world. Of course that we speak English, among other languages, as we need that you really feel that you are at home once you cross our doors.

It is a real pleasure for us that your experience was positive for you. And thank you so much for sharing your impressions using this plattform.

We will be waiting for your incoming visit ;-). Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My god, this restaurant must be a 5 stars one... Went with my couple and really enjoyed the meal. First of all, the building. Outside is pretty nice, looks like a really ancient building. And it is, from the 1800's. But when you are coming inside, is like wow, tipical spanish culture all around. No idea of what to eat here, so they recommend us a very tasty dishes: something with big beans, lamb and suckling pig. Really homemade. Their service is very good, always taking care of us. Price is very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LRdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear sir,

Thanks so much for choosing Mesón de Cándido, and for enjoy your experience in our restaurant. It is pretty important for us that you have shared your opinion through this plattform as this helps us to improve. We have been taking care of our customers from last century, and comments like this prove us that we are in the right way.

Waiting for your next visit! Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Over 100 years of history are enclosed within the walls of the Meson de Candido, and not only for its architecture but also for its cuisine and culinary tradition, the mighty Family ancestry Candido and because, actually, all the walls are full of history.

The most interesting of the national and international political pass throught this place, but also actors, football players, kings and queens, and ordinary people like us who occasionally enjoy this environment with a real history.

The friendly service is incomparable ... well, yes, it can only be compared with the quality of their food or the warm of the restaurant.

In the letter you can find modern dishes along with the traditional gastronomya. For second dish, you can choose between chicken, meat, turkey and fish, all very good! And desserts, very rich and tasty.

Don't miss a very good and real Spanish wine. They have tons of options, but I do recommend to ask the sommelier, so he can recommend you the best for your food order.

The photos, embellishments, details, diplomas, reports and trophies ... all that is canceled when you look at their views: the Aqueduct, majestic, undaunted, spectacular stone.

Call before you go or book through their web as his fame precedes him and everyone wants to try the food at the Meson de Candido, the traditional Castilian style.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank segoviarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear sir/madam,

Thanks so much for visiting us and for sharing your honest opinion throught this plattform. It is very important for us your point of view of our business, considering all the angles you mentioned at your comment.

We are taking your opinions very seriously, as this helps us to improve on a daily basics.

We will be waiting your next visit. Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

According to the guide book, suckling pig was originated from Segovia. Candido was highly recommended by the book. Just next to the famous Roman aquaduct. The atmosphere is good. However, the food is just average! The cod in garlic sauce is quite disappointing! Mushroom in Segovian style tastes weird. The steak is difficult to cut! The famous suckling pig is the best amongst all other food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank piaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear PiaHonkKong,

First of all, thanks so much for choosing us for getting lunch at Segovia. It is very important your opinion for us. We are taking note of you dissapointings trying to improve everything. By the way, thanks for sharing your honest opinion.

Hope that you will come back very shortly and that you will enjoy of all of our dishes next time.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson de Candido also viewed

Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 
Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 
Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 

Been to Meson de Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing