We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place in downtown Salamanca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Microtel Placentinos
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cute little place in downtown Salamanca”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Microtel Placentinos really is pretty micro, but quite nice and good value for the money. It's just a couple blocks from the plaza mayor (kinda hard to find) and the rest of the sights in town. The rooms have a combination lock instead of a key which was good, I suppose, we didn't have to carry a key with us. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but did the trick. If you're driving there's no parking, but we found parking on the street a couple blocks down that was free at least.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    65
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
105
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Microtel Placentinos is a perfect small hotel. The staf spoke extremely limited English and I speak extremely limited Spanish, but there were no problems (other than my blowing the fuse with my blowdryer and adapter and trying to explain it with my hands!) and the staff is extremely pleasant. It is in a great location convienently located near the University and the Plaza. I stayed in 3 other more expensive hotels while in Spain and the Placentinos was by far my favorite!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellaw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Placentinos in October. It's a great little hotel. If you're looking for a cute, small (only 7 rooms I think) and personal hotel this one is for you. The room itself was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and well appointed. The breakfast, which was included, was better than most, with cheese and meat, juice coffee, bread and pastries. All in all, a really good choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chudherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Cute boutique hotel, beautiful room and nice bathrooms. The hotel is on a side street and our room overlooked an interior courtyard, so there wasn't much noise from the street. However our room was on the same floor as the reception desk (literally ten paces away) so we did get noise from people coming in and out of the hotel, who had to pass our room to get to the breakfast area downstairs. This was more of an issue in the morning, but if you plan to be up by 8 or 9 it shouldn't be a problem. We asked for an extra bed to be put in our room, so they set up a cot which promptly collapsed when someone sat on it. We just folded the legs down so the mattress lay flat on the floor, and it was fine. The exposed stone walls and subdued lighting give the room a lot of atmosphere, but also make it kind of dark. This is a room to sleep in, not to hang out and read in. Our bathroom was very nice--had a tub that looked like it could have been a mini jacuzzi, and came with little tea candles. Breakfast is included, and we were impressed with the selection. Staff is friendly. I liked this place and would return here, but would probably book a room on a different floor and avoid the cot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coriander19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

A beautifully and tastefully renovated townhouse, everything is like new but in classic-rustic style, with touches of modern interior design (a glass elevator is clearly an addition). Staff is kind and polite. Rooms are beautiful and clean, with laminated parquet floors (so much cleaner and elegant than carpet !). This is a very small hotel with less than a dozen rooms, and most rooms are tiny. Really tiny. I saw several and they were all small; perhaps there are a couple of bigger rooms, but I did not see them. If this is a concern, avoid this hotel. Otherwise, the location is remarkable, in a quiet small street in the historic center and an easy walk to all the monuments. Caution: "quiet" in Salamanca does not mean you are not going to have groups of students passing by at night, singing and yelling. If you are on the first floor on the street side, shutting the windows makes the noise marginally more bearable. But better yet, ask for a room at the back (which is what I did the second day). The small breakfast area is unremarkable, but breakfast is decent (no fancy buffet here, just your basic continental breakfast). Everything immaculately clean. Service is limited - remember that this is a small hotel and in theory, I believe, a 2* (although decoration and style are very superior to anything you would normally associate with this category). It is a beautiful little hotel.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank AlPanPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed with my partner in this nice little hotel at the begining of june '09 for two nights. We got a warm welcom from a smily receptionist. After the first formalities were done we had a chance to explore the room, take a shower and relax on a comfortable bed. Room wasn't very big but very cosy and clean. Bathroom was to a very high standard with hydromassage shover!
We had breakfast inclusive and again no disappoitment on this side either. There was choice of bread,pastries, salamies,cheese,jams,cereals,jogurts,juices,snacks and coffee was very nice (we had our favorite one 'café con leche').
Salamanca is pretty little town with more than few universities and cathedrals. There seems to be a lot going on when we were there - but that's seems to be everywhere we went in Spain before and after being in Salamanca. I really liked the Art Deco museum building - we saw Mucha's exhibiton while there.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay here. And the hotel is a bargain for the service and location!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonIva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed here in the past weekend and we loved this little and lovely 2 stars hotel. My boyfriend who travels a lot said that it didn't look like a 2 stars hotel but as 4 stars.
Our room was not very big but it was beautifully decorated. I love the walls and the white curtains. Simple but gorgeous.
The bathroom is nice and it has jacuzzi.
Everything was very clean.

The breakfast was very complete and the receptionist was nothing but gentle and helpful.
The location is wonderful because it is in the historical center but in a very quite street.
The only thing bad we have to say about Placentinos is that we can easily hear the people of the other rooms. Except this and the hotel was perfect.
I recommend it without any reservations for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — We can hear people in other rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#13 of 70 in Salamanca
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abba Fonseca Hotel
Abba Fonseca Hotel
#12 of 70 in Salamanca
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#3 of 70 in Salamanca
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Placentinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Placentinos

Property: Microtel Placentinos
Address: Calle Placentinos 9, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Placentinos 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Microtel Placentinos is located in a privileged setting in the heart of Salamanca. It lies within walking distance to the Plaza Mayor, the University, the Old Cathedral and just a few meters away from the Palace of Congress. With only 2 single rooms and 7 double rooms. Services and amenities: - Bath/sauna-hydro-massage shower – WIFI - Satellite TV - Jacuzzi in terrace - Laundry service - Air-conditioning/heating - In room private bar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Placentinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Salamanca
Salamanca Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing