We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel close to sights”
Review of San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Polo
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room and bathroom was clean and reasonably spacious, though strangely apart from a wardrobe there was nowhere to put our clothes (no drawers or shelves), we largely lived out of our suitcase. The self service breakfast was adequate.
The location was good, within easy walking distance of the centre and all the major sites. I would strongly recommend the Casa Lis, an Art Deco Museum in an Art Deco building - wonderful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AdrianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

San Polo Hotel was built on the site of the church - San Polo. Part of the ruins make up a patio area beautifully laid out and intriguingly looking like Roman remains. The position of the hotel is ideally central with just ten minutes walk to the magnificent Plaza Mayor, five minutes to the old and new cathedrals, plus many more attractions. Walk away from town a few minutes, you can cross the river and walk down to the old Roman bridge with striking views from the opposite bank. We caught the right moment with a setting sun illuminating the cathedral. The hotel was very well organised, clean and efficient. Breakfast was a bit crowded until someone pointed out an adjoining area, but the bacon and eggs etc. were plentiful and hot with many other alternatives. Breakfast is not a big thing at home, so this spoilt us for a few days. Noise has been mentioned elsewhere, and it is true that buses go quite close, but we found the heavy double-glazing easily dealt with this and at night, the traffic stopped anyway. We slept very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikea4167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

San Polo was a lovely hotel , fantastic views of the cathedral and the city . We were part of a tour and were treated well , the rooms clean and ample size ,over all hotel well cared for.
The location is ideal within walking distance of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in mid-October on a tour with Riviera Travel and the hotel room, breakfast and location were far better than we expected from the negative comments on Tripadvisor. It has to deserve four stars and offers excellent value for money. The only downside was the difficulty opening our bedroom door, a problem shared by others and one of the hazards of the ubiquitous plastic credit card style room keys.

Room Tip: Try for a view of the Cathedrals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jensun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location, excellent staff and service. Breakfast is optional but worth every penny. You can walk to all the great sights in Salamanca from this hotel. Make sure if you can to ask to stay on the 4th floor... the view is extraordinary! The dinner menu is not large but the food is great!

Room Tip: 4th floor a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 586Picasso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights as part of a organised tour (Riviera Travel)
Very good location 10 mts. Walk from the main square, good size comfortable room, could do with some drawer space.
Breakfast was a bit of a "bun fight" due to lack of seating in small bar dining area but all in all a satisfactory stay

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FrankJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel, where we stayed for 2 nights. Before travelling, I'd read some poor reviews but we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room and communal areas (ncluding a lovely courtyard) and the service was fine (if you don't expect fluent English).
The location is great...5 mins walk into the beautiful mediaeval centre and the Convent of San Esteban is just round the corner. View of the cathedral from our room (306) was spectacular, especially lit-up at night! Breakfasts were fine and although we didn't take dinner in the hotel, the tapas we had one evening were tasty (although there was a limited choice).

Would readily stay again when we re-visit gorgeous Salamanca!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the cathedral have great views. We didn't have an issue with road noise (altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Croston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Las Torres
Sercotel Las Torres
#35 of 70 in Salamanca
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
#19 of 70 in Salamanca
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abba Fonseca Hotel
Abba Fonseca Hotel
#12 of 70 in Salamanca
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#13 of 70 in Salamanca
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Polo

Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 2, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range: $39 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Polo Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing