We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Polo
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice place with great location”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night in August whilst on a family trip. The hotel was very clean and the rooms where nice. There is free wifi in the hotel but a lot of the time I had to leave the room and take 10 steps away before I could get it!

The hotel is a converted old building and they have done a great job maintaining some original features which are most evident at the entrance and the garden outside. I can't comment on the value as I wasn't the one who paid the bill. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faceman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    167
    93
    27
    16
See reviews for
72
181
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

On paper this place looks pretty good. But grt down to the details and it leaves much to be desired: soiled curtains, mediocre meal (with a kid's cup ice cream dessert) and bitter coffee at breakfast), and an internet connection that's weak and often off. Price and location are good, however.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the San Polo during a business trip.

The room I stayed was on the second floor. The room was clean and it has a comfortable bed.

The hotel staff were helpful but they do not speak much English.

This hotel is a good base to explore all the sights in Salamanca ( its not a big town)

Personally, I think this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikigirl12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel San Polo for 2 nights as part of a group tour. We found it to be very convenient for the main sights of Salamanca and the hotel setting was unusual built among the ruins of an old church with a lovely small garden. We had a good room on the 3rd floor with views of the cathedral and it was easy to walk to the lovely Plaza Mayor and the main sights of the city. Hotel was very clean, staff very pleasant and we were looked after very well. Good breakfast and we would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cathedrals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with Riviera Tours. Lovely setting, in the ruins of an old church, so very picturesque. Room was adequate with comfortable bed and nice bathroom, very clean but no extras. Lovely modern wall mounted TV, unfortunately no English channels, the staff didn't speak much English either, despite the fact they must have many English visitors throughout the season. A smattering of the basics I think, would not be too much to ask. That said everyone was very nice and polite, with no problems. The hotel breakfast buffet was the usual 'scrum', if however you ate in the restaurant at dinner it was nice if limited, You are however in the centre of the town with only a short walk to restaurants and the spectacular Plaza Mayor. All in all a nice litte hotel,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillegom, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

On our tour from Porto to Madrid, we made a stop over in Slamanca. Prior to our arrival, we selected a few 3-4 star hotels and arriving early in the afternoon, we had plenty of time to find one. Checking out the locations of the selected hotels, it turned out to be, that this hotel is very conveniently located at the rim of the city centre and almost at the doorstep of the Cathedral. We've been in Salamanca before, so no need for a sight-seeing. An effordable public parking is just accross the street. The hotel is attached to the ruins of an ancient church and includes a pretty patio with lounche facilities. The city centre and all tourist attractions are on walking distance. We had a spacious standard room and in spite of being located on a busy junction, it was very quiet. Breakfast was simple, but fair. The (male) receptionist was a bit gruffy, but answered all our questions. The head waiter acted like the place was jam packed, but we were only with 3 couples in the restaurant. Conclusion, this hotel is certainly good value for money.

Room Tip: Usually pretty busy, so not always possible to get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avellino, Italy
Level Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the cathedral and the old town of Salamanca, near to a public parking: an ideal location!
The rooms are modern, well equipped, with A/C and quiet even if some of them look over one main road. From many windows you can enjoy a straight vision over the cathedral.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photos_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Las Torres
Sercotel Las Torres
#42 of 72 in Salamanca
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.6 mi away
Silken Rona Dalba Hotel
Silken Rona Dalba Hotel
#40 of 72 in Salamanca
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#34 of 72 in Salamanca
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Polo

Property: San Polo
Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 2, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Polo Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing