We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for exploring Salamanca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A very good hotel. Very good if arriving by car as it is located immediately off a main dual carriageway with an underground car park. The main square inSalamanca is an easy five minute stroll away. Car parking is a bit expensive15 euros per night. The square is obviously a must visit but there are numerous bars a short walk away from the hotel which are very good value for their tapas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 387 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not an easy hotel to fin as it is tucked away on a small corner off a main street in Salamanca. Has perhaps the most elaborately decored rooms of any small 4 star hotel we've seen--complete with cold marble floors Within easy walking distance of the large Plaza Mejor and of most other major interest attractions in Salamanca. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Same staff worked the breakfast room as the dining room the evening before. Dining room food was nothing to write home about--bland and, in the Spanish custom, served so late at night that you enjoy the taste well into the next morning!
We had a nice, somewhat larger, Ford SUV--parking was an uncredible challenge in the hotel's garage which seems designed for tiny vehicles. Yes, we managed to scrape one back corner manoeuvering to stuff the vehicle into a parking spot designed for a two wheele bicycle. But, that aside, it was a pleasant hotel--plentiful breakfast with a wierd toaster--but abundant choice. Would recommend just for the decor of the rooms and the location.

Room Tip: Try to Avoid Bringing an Auto!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm sorry to say that I can't recommend this hotel. I stayed there one night in mid April. It was a pleasant day and the sun shone all day into the room which faced west, making it uncomfortably warm when we arrived. We tried to put the air conditioning on to cool it down but all we got was heat. I went down the the front desk and asked how to get the air conditioning on. The desk clerk asked why I wanted air conditioning. When I explained how warm the room was she quite rudely laughed at me and said "You think this is warm? It's still winter - you'll have to open the window". That's what we did but the noise was just as bad as the heat. Apparently, Salamanca is a college town and the students stay out all night yelling at each other under hotel windows. I am not kidding. The laughing, yelling and carrying on was still going on at 6:00 a.m. It was impossible to get any sleep at all and the room didn't really cool down. I don't know if this goes on every night, we were there on a Friday but I'd never go back to Salamanca at all. The only positive thing I could say about the hotel is that the location is good if you want to be a short walk from the centre of town.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel in another town.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spend 5 days at this hotel during a Congress held at the University.
It was very convenient and it is very confortable, very good breakfast, clean and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The room was at a lower floor, and inside the building.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoneJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Hotel Artheus in Salamanca is one of the ugliest hotel in which I have ever stayed. Style is a matter of preference. Execution of a style depends on the materials, the use of color, harmony, balance and the skill of the creator. When that blend fails, the result is the kitsch you see everywhere in the Artheus. That alone keeps the hotel from a top rating. The staff keeps it from an adequate rating. The service is cold and not particularly helpful. Especially bad was the man at the front desk for most of our stay. My wife and I speak several languages. Spanish is not one of our stronger ones. The desk clerk apparently spoke only Spanish and a few of English. He became annoyed with us when he could not make himself understood.
Our troubles started at check-in. We had requested a room with a double bed and got one with two twins. On complaining, the clerk showed us a double room with a strong odor of mold. We kept our cold room with its granite (?!?) bedroom/bathroom floor.
As other guests commented, there is no local parking, so you will probably be stuck in the expensive hotel garage – unless you have a larger car – in which case, you are out of luck. You will likely need a ground-guide to maneuver around the pillars and into one of the mini parking spots.
Our room faced the small side street. Nevertheless, it was loud. The beds pretend to be more than they are. The walls have fake headboards, but under the bedspread is a military style metal bed frame with a hard, uncomfortable mattress, The bathtub with underwater nozzles (call it by whatever name you choose) is a nice, but misbegotten idea. It is too small to stretch out, even for short people. A normal-sized adult will find it difficult to submerge more than one body-part at a time and will probably choose to shower instead. Small children might enjoy it, though.
The desk chair could use cushions on the bottom of each leg. The guests in nearby rooms would probably appreciate not hearing every slight movement of the chair, although, we also heard the chairs of neighbors down the hall.
Breakfast was the highlight of our stay. There was a large selection of choices. The eggs were not great, but appreciated. A coffee/espresso machine would have been nice, as few foreign visitors ‘appreciate’ the qualities of Spanish coffee.
The center of the city is a few blocks away, so the location is relatively convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This Hotel we were only at for one night, but found the Hotel very pleasant and very ornate the Breakfasts were good and so was the evening meal, No complaints, beds nice and comfortable
and the rooms clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JakiWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our return trip to uk from South of Spain after a five month stay. Room was very clean and adequate for needs. Could not tell if the hotel was busy but did not experience any noise from other rooms. My wife really liked the spar bath, had a job to get her out. The hotel had a secure car park underneath for a payment of about 16 euros a night which was very handy as we had a car full of possessions. Reception staff spoke good English and helpful. Well situated for all places of interest to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uktaximan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
1,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
#14 of 70 in Salamanca
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abba Fonseca Hotel
Abba Fonseca Hotel
#11 of 70 in Salamanca
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#12 of 70 in Salamanca
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca

Address: Paseo Carmelitas 67, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: $63 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artheus Carmelitas Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing