We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located right next to the Paza Mayor. My room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank HrabalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 688 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

I despair of some 'travellers' reviews... Seriously, bird noises? Hard to find? Can't eat in Spain before 9:00pm? What drugs are these people on?
This is a Well priced comfortable hotel right in the heart of the action. Exactly what you would expect from a 4* hotel in Europe. Most of the rooms have interior views, but that's okay. Good wifi. Didn't take the breakfast option as got amongst it. Amazing city!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

On the plus side: (1) very good location (very close to Plaza Mayor and pretty much everything else); (2) friendly staff; (3) good-size room (huge bathroom); (4) very clean; and (5) free Internet.

But the birds! After checking in we went out to explore, returning to the hotel around 6 p.m. to get some rest before dinner. Suddenly we noticed this bird sound coming from, it seemed, the roof. After about 20 minutes of birds squawking on and off, we phoned the front desk and found out the bird noise wasn't from real birds but some kind of machine the hotel had installed to scare aware real birds (which apparently would fly into building gaps and do some kind of trouble). But we were assured the bird noise would not continue when night fell. Well night fell but the on-and-off bird machine continued until past 9 p.m., when we went out for dinner (you can't go to dinner in Spain before 9:30). We were on the 5th (top) floor so we checked each floor going down to see if you could hear the fake birds on other floors -- and you could. So no point changing rooms. The front desk guy assured us on the way out that -- although the stop time varied for the bird machine (to keep the real birds on their, um, toes) -- it always stopped for good before midnight. We returned after midnight and no more bird noise. But oh my. You have a bird-noise machine to drive away the birds but are not afraid of driving away the guests?

Although there are many things I liked about this hotel, I have to say that the bird noise ruined the experience. When you're tired and you want to take a short nap before dinner, you don't want to hear squawking birds -- especially when the squawking is being done on purpose.

Sorry Catalonia Plaza, but it's 2012. You need to find a quieter way to deal with your bird problem.

Room Tip: If you can find one where you cannot hear the "bird machine," that would be the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a find this hotel was for us. We got it from Booking.com and, although a little difficult to find (we were driving) we were absolutely delighted when we arrived.
Quite flustered and tired when we walked up to the Reception but 'Judit' the lovely lady receptionist soon put us both at ease by her friendly and welcoming manner. A big Thank You to Judit from us both. My wife and I left our car outside the hotel whilst we went up to our room to check it out. We liked it. I went back to reception in order to take our car to the car park. Judit offered the services of the hotel porter to take the car to the car park. I drove but took the hotel porter who directed me to the car park which was just one hundred yards away. I was very impressed because the car park has full CCTV as well as 24 hour security. We left quite a lot of property in the car and when told I had to leave the car keys with the security man I was a little apprehensive. I needn't have been because the car park was very safe and the staff trustworthy.
The hotel is exactly where the sightseeing visitor needs it to be, right in the middle of the tourist map. The beautiful cathedral is a minute's walk away as is the university, old library, Roman Bridge and other super places to visit as well as the War Museum with its exhibits from the Franco era including a very interesting Freemason's Masonic 'courtroom'.
Salamanca is a wonderful city and it is literally 'buzzing' with so much to do, to visit and to simply look at. The book fair in the Plaza Mayor was extraordinary. The buildings are magnificient and just to stand opposite the clock and looking around was exhilarating. We loved everything Salamanca has to offer. Still tired from our drive we decided to have our evening meal at the hotel. Our waitress was lovely. Tall and friendly she served our meal very professionally and it was nice of her to talk to us. We walked around the tourist part of the city and it was magical with all the street lights on and so many people searching through the book stalls. We slept well on a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very nice and we were surprised to find the the restaurant almost full with guests who were all talking and it had a good feeling of being a happy hotel. Breakfast was very nice with a huge choice in the buffet. Top marks for everything this hotel has to offer. The price we paid was 68 Euro and it was well worth it. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel ideally situated. We believe that all rooms would be pleasing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

the hotel is located just behind the Plaza major. you can walk to all the attractions within min. great food all over the place. have a drink at night at the plaza major and enjoy the people walking by. the hotel has "share" in a private parking place just around the corner.

if you travel by car from madrid take route 505.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor. you can see the plaza makor from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mottekkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Walking distance from the Plaza Mayor and the historical buildings. Just an average hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GegeChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This was my first stay at a Catalonia Hotel and I was very impressed with the overall quality.
The location of this hotel was perfect. Just around the corner from the Plaza Mayor, yet it was very quiet for sleeping. There were lots of great cafes and restaurants near the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2Fly2Madrid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
2.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Brigida
Hotel Dona Brigida
#26 of 70 in Salamanca
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 23-25, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: $79 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Salamanca Plaza Hotel, which opened its doors in April 2002, is ideally situated near Plaza Mayor, which is accessed by a covered walkway. Housed in a building that has kept its original Rationalist facade, all the rooms and facilities of the hotel are decorated in a modern style which combines an exotic Oriental touch with a more classical feel, as epitomised by the Villamayor stone. The hotel has 67 rooms, all equipped with the latest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing