We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rua
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Exeter, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The location couldn't be better, just a few metres from the main square and a very short walk
to the rest of the city. Room was fairly large with a recently upgraded bathroom but the double bed was rather old and the bedding was a bit thin and worn. The breakfast was good and the staff were all friendly. Free wifi everywhere was fairly fast. I would recommend this hotel because of it's position but I think they need to modernise the bedding.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bjones47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    128
    61
    16
    14
See reviews for
65
147
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice hotel, but not very modern - decor is a bit dated. We tried to take a bath in our room... had to ask the front desk for a plug, when we filled up the bath we realised that water was coming up from a drain on the other side of the bathroom-- not very well designed.
Hotel was a short stroll to the main attractions and was very nice. Staff at the front desk were not really able to suggest restaurants - they kept suggesting really touristy ones that we weren't interested in eating at. even when we asked for recommendations where the locals ate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bskhol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed in hotel Rua one night in July, 13. This hotel is located in historical part of Salamanca, close to all tourist attractions. Tons of vistas, nice shops and restaurants nearby! The hotel is in an old building that was renovated, rooms of average size with surprisingly modern furniture. Best breakfast buffet we encountered during our 3 weeks long travel in Spain and Portugal! Because of location in historical part of the city it is not easy to find it if travel by car. This hotel doesn't have a designated parking, they recommend to park in a parking 500 meters away. Be prepared if you have heavy bags.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bskhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located for the tourist sights of Salamanca. It was a long way from the railway station, where we had arrived at. We took a taxi, which can't actually reach the front door.

The room we had was an inner room which looking out of the window looked out out onto nothing. We were told if you want a room with a view you need to state that on the booking form under "Observations".

The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was satisfactory.

The hotel does not have a proper lounge area in the reception, only a small sitting area.

For all that we would have given 4 points to this hotel, but then we came to breakfast which was in my mind unsatisfactory and disappointing. In my assessment breakfast counts towards 25% of the points I would assign to a hotel. This one scored "Null Point".

They run out of bread and butter. There is only one overworked waitress serving. The jams to choose from were minimal in number. Spain, the land of oranges, and all they could serve was concentrate orange juice. No cold milk for the cereals. The scrambled eggs were not fully scrambled. The serving sideboards were too small, poorly laid out and covered with irrelevant items for breakfast [cakes and biscuits]. Do you know anyone who actually eats creme caramel with a biscuit in it for breakfast? The bread rolls were dry like plaster-of-paris, inedible. The bread slices for toasting were like dry and tasteless paper. No proper brown bread.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on booking form of you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sir_recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is centrally located within the historical part of Salamanca. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in close proximity. Most conveniently the hotel is within just 2 minutes walk to Plaza Mayor (main square) and Gran Via (main street). All points of interest are within walking distance and Salamanca's train station is about a 30 minute walk away or 10 minutes in a taxi. Staff at the hotel were very friendly upon arrival and throughout the duration of our stay. The rooms are modern, comfortable and spacious. Upon request at the reception there is free wi-fi available throughout the hotel including your room.This a small hotel and the entrance doors are locked from 11pm which kind of gave us an extra sense of security in what is already a safe city. The reception is open 24 hours a day and to get back in the hotel you just need to show your room key. For breakfast the hotel offers a continental buffet, there is an average choice but I recommend trying one of the many cafes in and around Plaza Mayor that offer breakfast from €5. Overall the hotel made our stay in Salamanca even more enjoyable with its location, value for money and its comfort.

Room Tip: Most rooms back onto a courtyard type area which has other buildings surrounding it. If you'd pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OffOnMyTravels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visiting Salamanca to review the various educational options for my son this was a convenient, friendly hotel that served the purpose well. Good restaurants in the neighborhood. Easy access to major points of interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chichenuxmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
518 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed for the first time, and certainly the last, at “Hotel Rua” in Salamanca. It’s a hotel, with a great location, 5 minutes walking from the different places worth to be visited in Salamanca: Cathedrals, university, San Esteban church..... The rooms are quite poorly fitted… and very noisy, one can easily participate to teh conversations of the people next door and upstairs . Breakfast is good and varied, the only very good point of the place. One more detail: it's very complicated to reach the hotel .... and worther with a GPS than following the panels!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
0.1 mi away
Soho Boutique Salamanca
Soho Boutique Salamanca
#32 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#11 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rua

Property: Hotel Rua
Address: Calle Sanchez Barbero 11 | Plaza Isla de la Rúa, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rua 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rua Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing