We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Rua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rua
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This small, quiet hotel is right in the City centre. We had a good sized room with 2 armchairs, a fridge and sunlight streaming in so after a hard morning sightseeing it was great to relax with a drink before venturing out to sample the wonderful Salamanca night life.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast OK, but nothing to shout about. However for the price it is a great little find. Only downside, the over the bath shower was really difficult to get to as it was wedged into a narrow space, could be tricky for the less sure footed.

Room Tip: Room 34 has a really difficult bath room layout. A shower tray would be better as you have to walk...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakerblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is underrated by our Trip Advisor friends. It is nearly perfectly located in Salamanca (historical area) and gives you the perfect place to explore what has to be one of the most wonderful cities in Spain.

We love to walk and explore the cities/towns we visit and this hotel provides the perfect launching pad. Historical Salamanca and the Plaza Mayor are just outside the doors of the hotel as are many, many beautiful cathedrals and churches. The "shopping" area is nearby and the energy and vive are everywhere. You must see the Plaza Mayor which is one of the great squares in Spain if not Europe. Many fine restaurants and bars within minutes as well.

Despite its location in the heart of the historical town, the rooms provide a quiet and comfortable respite from the action. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms and other facilities are great. They prepared a great breakfast and were very accomdating in every way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhardyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Rua for two nights. The absolute best thing about is the location - it is just steps from the Plaza Mayor. We could easily walk for food or to see any of the lovely historical buildings in this beautiful city.

However, in terms of the hotel's amenities, it fell short. The room was large for a Spanish hotel, but the bed (well two twin beds that they pushed together to make our matrimonial bed) were lumpy and uncomfortable. Both my husband and I tossed and turned at night and during siesta. Also, the bathroom had no real counter space, and the shower was situated so that you had to get in to turn on the water, getting wet while waiting for the water to heat. If you weren't very careful with the shower, the whole bathroom would get drenched (I guess that means good water pressure, though). And the walls everywhere were paper thin, so I could hear everyone's cell phones, maid service, bathroom habits, etc.

Towels, sheets and toiletries provided were cheap. And the soaps used to clean the room smelled industrial.

This place is located well, and the staff is nice enough, but while it might meet the qualifications to be a four star hotel, it hardly feels four stars.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mica178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the late morning and the room was not yet available but we could left our luggages and going to eat something before having our room.
One big advantage is the location of the hotel. Just some minutes walking from Plaza Mayor but not in a very noisy steet of Salamanca. Almost every attraction of Salamanca is very near to the hotel.
The hotel is quite small but the service is very attentive.
The breakfast was quite good with a lot of choice. We could try almost everything because we had breakfast two times.
The room was really comfortable and updated.
I can also add that the price, considering the services and the quality of the hotel, was quite cheap.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated, has amazing breakfasts (included in the price) and the rooms are very big and nice and clean and very clean bathrooms. Could not ask for anything else. It's a bit tricky to find, so make sure you print it out on a google map on how to get there. It's in the heart of the old town and walking distance from the main bus station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parvaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Earlier this year we spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. On arrival, the greeting by the guy on reception was fantastic, perhaps the best we have experienced. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated, it felt more like being at home than in a hotel. The breakast was delicious and highly recommended. Last of all the location, very close to the Plaza Mayor is perfect for seeing this beautiful city ( http://amwsemc.blogspot.nl/2012/05/salamanca-spain.html ).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amwathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Rua for one night during our trek through Spain last week, and overall had a good stay.

Positives:

Great location - right off the Plaza Mayor with everything you could possibly want within a 10 minute walk. All of the 5 star hotels in Salamanca are a little further out (not a lot), but if you want to be in the middle of the action, this is a great place.

Big room - The rooms were big and were air conditioned (it was 95 degrees out).

Staff - The staff couldn't have been nicer, and when we came back to the room at 3 am and couldn't figure out the air conditioning, very nicely came up and showed us (note: it was not difficult).

Negatives:

Our room looked out straight into a wall and the neighbors laundry. I studied in Salamanca during college, so I had in mind a wonderful view of the cute street out front. Not the case.

The bathroom was a little cramped. Not terrible, but not the best.

Overall, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the center of town. Just ask for a room with a view!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soho Boutique Salamanca
Soho Boutique Salamanca
#35 of 70 in Salamanca
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.3 mi away
Abba Fonseca Hotel
Abba Fonseca Hotel
#11 of 70 in Salamanca
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rua

Address: Calle Sanchez Barbero 11 | Plaza Isla de la Rúa, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: $68 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rua 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rua Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing