We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

First the good: the location of this hotel is great, right on the edge of the historic district it is a quick walk to visit the sights of Salamanca without being too close to the hustle and bustle of the central district. The grounds of the hotel are excellent especially the shaded gardens and attached parking is a welcome convenience. The decoration of the hotel is in line with it's historic location but the results are rather austere, our room had the feeling of a monks cell (although a large and very clean cell!) and was therefore lacking in atmosphere and not a relaxing environment to spend time in. Contrary to some other reviewer's experiences we found the staff helpful and polite.
Unfortunately the Palacio de San Esteban seemed to lack some of the facilities we have come to expect from the AC chain. There was no comfortable area to relax over coffee, no free drinks in the minibar and the cost of parking and drinks in the restaurant was high. With these caveats in mind I would still recommend this hotel and enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: Our room was over the reception area and was noisy. The reception staff were willing to move us when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    157
    63
    13
    5
See reviews for
89
336
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

One always expects a welcoming and attentive staff from a five star hotel, this is not the case at Palacio de San Esteban. Not that we were mistreated, but there was a total lack of care and attention ... no one to help us with our bags, nor a smile, nor a good morning at breakfast. Great location, in a reserved area in walking distance to all of Salamanca's main points of interests. We reserved an executive suite which was not very large, but still comfortable. Small window with shutters that kept the room dark and some of the street noise at bay. Our view was of the hotel's outdoor lounge, which seemed nice enough but it sat adjacent to the parking lot ... not a great view when you are having drinks. Nice big bed, two good normal sized pillows for each guest. Aircon could be better, air stream is directed to your head while you sleep, so our only option was to turn it off if it became too bothersome. Large comfortable bathroom with bathtub and separate shower. Good wifi, easy and simple access. But overall, room lacked creature comforts. Breakfast was just ok, not an amazing selection ... by far the worst croissant that I can recall. Staff at breakfast couldn't care less with guests needs, completely inattentive and indifferent service ... really the worst. So let's get real here people, there is no way that this is a five star hotel ... maybe a 3.5 star on a REALLY good day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Normally driving through Spain we use Paradors, but their prices have escalated outrageously this year - perhaps in face of Spain's economic woes (but stepping up the prices is not the answer!). So having stayed a night in Salamanca some years ago and remembering how pleasant a place it is, we returned, this time for two nights and chose another hotel.
We came up a winner with the Hotel Palacio de San Esteban, an old building on the edge of the historic part of the city, but one which had been extensively and tastefully upgraded into a fine hotel.
We had some misgivings, having read Tripadvisor reports which were generally good, but the odd one had a dig at the hotel's staff for being 'surly' and 'paper-thin walls'. Genuine? We found the staff excellent, pleasant and highly efficient and the walls are certainly not paper-thin, at least on our first floor.
The room was huge, the fittings of the highest standard, lots of beams and wooding pillars. free wi-fit (plus), no tea-coffee maker (negative but normal in Spain). No pool, the only major complaint, but everything else was of such high standard that it still makes 5 stars from us.
The tapas were so good and substantial that five of them at 3.00 p.m. between two of us left us not needing dinner! The vegetables in a light batter and the chicken goujons are well worth the 3 euros each.
We did not have dinner in the hotel but the menu looked good, if limited and we had reports from other guests which were positive.
If in the region again, we would use the Esteban and we cannot give a higher recommendation than that.

Room Tip: The first floor was excellent - we have no experience of other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were instantly impressed with this hotel. We were warmly but professionaly greeted, offered help with the luggage, which we refused. Our room is large and well furnished with a walk in wardrobe and large ensuite bath and separate shower. There is a very comfortable public lounge, which we didn't make use of as it was very pleasant sitting alfresco. The tapa's and drinks' menu is extremely reasonable. I read some unfavourable reviews on tripadvisor and I'm glad I ignored them. I didn't experience noise or rudeness. I can only assume the management had taken note if negative feedback and sorted the problems others had. would stay here again? 100% yes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Perfect location - the historical centre is on your doorstep, yet the hotel is in a quiet street. A tastefully converted convent. Everything added to the original building is well thought-out and of highest quality. Well-appointed, spacious rooms. Sumptuous breakfast. A beautiful terrace/ garden. The staff are excellent, always happy to be of help. Perfect for couples, being romantic and atmospheric, and for business people, as it offers all neceassary comfort and facilities (including free wi-fi in the rooms). The gym is small, yet perfectly adequate for a short stay. Have spent there in total seven weeks over the past 12 months amd will be happy to return!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard (cloister) are quiet and offer a view to a paradise garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay here but ultimately left disappointed. On the positive side, the location is great – easy to find and park the car in the property and then walking distance to all the sights of Salamanca. Staff were quite helpful. The bathroom was nice. There is a gym which is small and very basic but at least functional.

However, the main frustration we had with this hotel was noise. All the rooms are well away from the street so this was not from street noise. It is due to the poor quality of the insulation. The walls of the hotel are paper thin and the building not sound proofed in the slightest. The tile floors throughout the corridors mean that every time somebody walks down the corridor you can hear every footstep in your room. At night this meant that it did not quieten down until after midnight. Worse was in the morning when people start to leave from 5am onwards and you can hear every footstep and every conversation as if it were in your own room. The beds are extremely uncomfortable as well – the mattress was obviously many years old and needed to be thrown out a long time ago. Lastly, no wi-fi in the room (although you could pick it up in the lobby).

I would not recommend this hotel if you actually want a decent sleep! They call themselves a luxury hotel but we did not find there was anything luxurious about it at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Our room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and was very quiet and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and spotless. Location is exceptional. My only criticism of this place is that the staff made little effort to make guests feel welcome. It doesn't take much to offer a smile or respond to a question when asked. We travel frequently and were quite taken aback by how aloof the staff seemed. In all of our travels around Spain, this is the first and only experience we encountered where people weren't friendly and helpful. A little effort goes a long way in the hospitality industry.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban

Property: Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 3, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Salamanca
Ac Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing