We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected.”

St. Stephen's Convent (Convento de San Esteban)
Ranked #5 of 97 things to do in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than I expected.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thought I would spend about 20 minutes visiting this Convent, but ended up spending and hour and could have used a little more time. This was a nice surprise. It was a typical church/small type cathedral, but it was larger inside than I anticipated. After seeing the Old and New Cathedral, I thought this would be smaller and that I would not need much time to experience St. Stephen's. While you can quickly walk through the convent in 15 - 20 minutes, to experience it, give yourself more time if you want to read and visit all of the chapels, side rooms and both floors. I did try to visit it mid afternoon and it was closed for 1 1/2 - 2 hours in the afternoon. Plan to visit in the morning or in late afternoon. (I believe it was closed from 2 - 4 p.m. in March 2013). I visited it late afternoon after 4:00 p.m. There is another convent right beside St. Stephen's, but I was unable to visit it because of time constraints. Make sure to visit the museum on the second floor of St. Stephen's.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adventureexperience1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    158
    16
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
653 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside & in”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The carvings on the outside of the convent are wonderful, but inside is a treat as well. Starting with the cloisters, the carved pillars and ceilings are lovely. They provide several mirrors on the floor throughout which makes viewing the ceilings safe and easy. The staircase is beautiful, look for the reclined lady carved in. The biggest wow is the church. Although the church is huge, you don't expect the altar to be quite so ornate - a delightful surprise.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful altar!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The 3eur entrance (2eur if you are a student!) is definitely worth it! There is a church inside that is beautiful. My favorite part is the mirrors that are placed on the ground, because you can better appreciate the amazing ceiling without craning your neck (more places with high ceilings should do this!). There are also some South American artifacts on the 2nd floor. The detailed carvings outside are spectacular, and definitely worth a visit even if you don't go inside (but you should).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank leetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Level Contributor
336 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Exceptional but not quite PC”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

San Esteban is a beautiful site, very well presented and a peaceful retreat, the museum has some lovely icons and a Rubens. It represents a collision of cultures were the most powerful (European) overcame and destroyed the less powerful indigenous . On the other hand Western society wouldn't have benefited in so many ways,and we are all part of that. The zealotry of the missionary impacted and echoes down the ages. This is an important and memorible place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful church and cloisters”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just a fantastic example of church architecture, with beautiful altars. Well worth the entrance fee.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank superhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Convent (Convento de San Esteban) also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Been to St. Stephen's Convent (Convento de San Esteban)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing