We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Salamanca
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,179 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, spacious rooms”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a purpose built rather ugly hotel rather than a traditional Parador but inside is lovely. Staff were friendly rather than effusive and our waitress was Dutch and somehow a little friendlier than the Spanish staff. A room with a view is a must as , especially at night, the views of the cathedral are magnificent. At some point the town fathers allowed the building of some very ugly flats between the hotel and the river. A walk back from the main square with its colonnades via the museum of the Spanish Civil War does not take that long and brings you back over the footbridge across the river. Food is good if expensive and a starter like Huevas Tapas is a meal in itself. The entrecôte was good but there's a lot of it and comes with hot green chillies for some reason.

Room Tip: The only room to have is one with a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    454
    117
    26
    17
See reviews for
260
623
25
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a lovely hotel but not in an historical building as one expects from a Parador. Our bedroom was spacious & clean and the staff were very friendly & helpful.The restaurant was very good, though pricey, and the portion sizes, especially the starters, were rather on the large side! I also think the restaurant would benefit from some quiet background music, especially when it is not busy.We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as it was rather expensive, and we were still full from the meal the night before! The views over Salamanca from the hotel are amazing, especially at night, though the situation of the hotel is a disadvantage for older people like us,as it was at least a 20 min walk into the town & it seemed longer coming back !! Salamanca is a beautiful and interesting city and we would love to return.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the gardens and car park but you can pay a supplement for a view of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is certainly a good hotel: in fact a very good one. It is comfortable and well managed and our room was spacious and well furnished. The bathroom was also very satisfactory as was the food in the restaurant. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

But it was not quite what we expected and this was the fault of the tour operator rather than the hotel. Unlike most Paradors it is not in a historic building, but in a large 1960s one. Its brutalist architecture might not be to everyone's taste. Also it is outside the city centre in a rather uninteresting suburb and the train and bus stations are some way off. But the views over the city are magnificent, although it's a bit of a slog walking there.

Salamanca itself is a beautiful city, full of interest and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh Marches
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Like many other reviewers, we loved the views from the bedrooms. We stayed as part of a group of 22 with Titan Travel - the first time they had used this hotel. Our room (121) was spacious and had that great view of the City. It is about a 20 minute walk from the Hotel to the end of the old Roman Bridge into Salamanca. Fine during daylight but recommend a taxi at night.

The building design isn't to everyones taste but we liked it and the staff were lovely. Breakfast is buffet style and very comprehensive with good timings. For early diners, note that Spanish dining times apply! - 8.30pm onwards. Food from the 33 euro 'Parador' evening menu was really only average and they should concentrate on less quantity and more quality.

Take a trip to Tordesillas, Ciudad Rodrigo and La Alberca. Overall, Salamanca is a wonderful City and the Parador a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view across to the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroftWelshMarches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Parador during the recent Euroclassic car run on 25th of September. Unlike most of the Paradors I have used it's not a converted old building but a purpose built hotel. It's got great views of the old town, ample car parking, big bedrooms and super bathrooms, and a nice bar and restaurant. It's not cheap but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A huge, ugly building blotting the skyline , but, don't let that put you off.
Inside it's a smart and very acceptable hotel with large rooms. Ask for a room with a view of the old city, as the views are fantastic. Reception was helpful and efficient, large free parking area, and the room was very clean. It's a short 10 minute walk over the Roman bridge up to the centre of an amazing old town centre.

Room Tip: You must have a room with a view of the old city (costs a little extra,but worth it ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is not a parador like many others. Yes, it is modern, but more 60's style, not the modern hotel as you find it in other 'chain hotels'. Service is in general outstanding, with some small exceptions. This is the same for all paradors. We liked the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the situation, the staff...everything. Warmly recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
855 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.9 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Salamanca

Property: Parador de Salamanca
Address: Calle Teso de La Feria 2, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#10 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Salamanca 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Salamanca Hotel Salamanca
Parador De Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing